DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

New York / Reports /

Treatment bypass reported — Frank E. Van Lare WWTF, Jul 4, 2026

Ended (as reported) · Frank E. Van Lare WWTF (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)

Source: Frank E. Van Lare WWTF (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2593509022607902, reported Jul 4, 2026, 4:21 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 4:26 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: Frank E. Van Lare WWTF (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, NY0028339). Outlet: not stated. Location: 43.18920, -77.55430; location source: given in the source record.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “Densmore Creek”. Not linked to a mapped water.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
Published
Source last updated
not given
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
“Partially Treated without Disinfection”
Volume
27,000 gallons (estimated)
Volume as reported
“27000 Gallons Actual”

Advice from Frank E. Van Lare WWTF (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Source and versions

Source
NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know
Source record number
2593509022607902
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifierny-dec-sprtk:2593509022607902
Source identifierny-dec-sprtk
Source record number2593509022607902
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeTreatment bypass
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifierny-monroe-county-van-lare
Sewer operatorFrank E. Van Lare WWTF
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)NY0028339
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet nameNot provided
Water named in the reportDensmore Creek
Linked watersNot provided
How this report was linked to the waternot linked to a mapped water
Latitude43.189
Longitude-77.554
Location sourcegiven in the source record
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedJul 4, 2026, 3:29 PM EDT (2026-07-04T15:29:00-04:00)
EndedJul 4, 2026, 3:40 PM EDT (2026-07-04T15:40:00-04:00)
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceJul 4, 2026, 4:21 PM EDT (2026-07-04T16:21:37-04:00)
PublishedJul 4, 2026, 4:21 PM EDT (2026-07-04T16:21:37-04:00)
Source last updatedNot provided
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 3:40 PM EST (2026-11-02T20:40:35Z)
MaterialPartially Treated without Disinfection
Volume, in gallons27,000
Volume as reported27000 Gallons Actual
How volume was determinedestimated
AuthorityFrank E. Van Lare WWTF (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://www.dec.ny.gov/fs/data/SPRTK_Data.xlsx

Original source data

{
  "row": {
    "notificationId": "2593509022607902",
    "sprtkAirDateTime": "07/04/2026 20:21:37",
    "notificationStatus": "New",
    "facilityName": "Frank E. Van Lare WWTF NY0028339",
    "facilityId": "NY0028339",
    "countyName": "Monroe",
    "streetNumber": "2550",
    "streetName": "Norton St",
    "city": "Rochester",
    "latitude": "-77.5543",
    "longitude": "43.1892",
    "sprtkStartDischargeDatetime": "07/04/2026 19:29:00",
    "sprtkEndDischargeDatetime": "07/04/2026 19:40:00",
    "dischargeDuration": "0.18 Hours - Ended",
    "surfaceWater": "Yes",
    "receivingWaterBody": "Densmore Creek",
    "quantity": "27000 Gallons Actual",
    "treatedState": "Partially Treated without Disinfection",
    "dischargeDescription": "Solids screened by chain linked fence.",
    "stepsToContain": "Heavy short duration rainfall exceeded the designed system capacity.",
    "geoaddress": "286 Densmore Rd, Rochester, NY 14609, USA",
    "impactedArea": "-",
    "dischargeReason": "System Capacity,Weather Conditions - Heavy intense rainfall caused system to exceed designed capacity. Total rainfall of 1.02 In at a peak rate of 3.25 In/Hr effected the area.",
    "systemComponent": "-",
    "region": "8",
    "sprtkDischargeWaterFlow": "Overland Flow",
    "sprtkExplanation": "Heavy intense rainfall caused system to exceed designed capacity. Total rainfall of 1.02 In at a peak rate of 3.25 In/Hr effected the area."
  },
  "_tab": "January 2026-August2026",
  "_row": 4148,
  "_time_basis": {
    "air": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
    "start": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
    "end": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York"
  },
  "_coords": "latitude and longitude columns swapped; a street-address geocode chosen by the notifier",
  "_event_type_basis": "partially treated discharge (treated state)",
  "_volume_note": "first (New) notice: NY-Alert requires a volume and an end time up front, so this figure is the notifier's estimate or placeholder, not a measured total",
  "_chain": {
    "id": "key:NY0028339|2550 norton st rochester|2026-07-04T19:29Z",
    "basis": "facility + address + start",
    "position": 1,
    "of": 1,
    "head": "ny-dec-sprtk:2593509022607902",
    "latest": "ny-dec-sprtk:2593509022607902",
    "notices": [
      {
        "id": "2593509022607902",
        "status": "New",
        "aired": "2026-07-04T16:21:37-04:00"
      }
    ]
  }
}

Source: Frank E. Van Lare WWTF (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2593509022607902, reported Jul 4, 2026, 4:21 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.