Treatment bypass reported — Frank E. Van Lare WWTF, Jul 4, 2026
Ended (as reported) · Frank E. Van Lare WWTF (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
Source: Frank E. Van Lare WWTF (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2593715181026440, reported Jul 4, 2026, 4:30 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 4:26 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Frank E. Van Lare WWTF (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, NY0028339). Outlet: not stated. Location: 43.16500, -77.53770; location source: given in the source record.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “Irondequoit Bay”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Irondequoit Bay, NY. Match basis: the water named in the report.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- Published
- Source last updated
- not given
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- “Partially Treated without Disinfection”
- Volume
- 7,000 gallons (estimated)
- Volume as reported
- “7000 Gallons Actual”
Advice from Frank E. Van Lare WWTF (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know
- Source record number
- 2593715181026440
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | ny-dec-sprtk:2593715181026440 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | ny-dec-sprtk |
| Source record number | 2593715181026440 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Treatment bypass |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | ny-monroe-county-van-lare |
| Sewer operator | Frank E. Van Lare WWTF |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | NY0028339 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Not provided |
| Water named in the report | Irondequoit Bay |
| Linked waters | irondequoit-bay-ny |
| How this report was linked to the water | the water named in the report |
| Latitude | 43.165 |
| Longitude | -77.538 |
| Location source | given in the source record |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Jul 4, 2026, 3:30 PM EDT (2026-07-04T15:30:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Jul 4, 2026, 3:34 PM EDT (2026-07-04T15:34:00-04:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Jul 4, 2026, 4:30 PM EDT (2026-07-04T16:30:43-04:00) |
| Published | Jul 4, 2026, 4:30 PM EDT (2026-07-04T16:30:43-04:00) |
| Source last updated | Not provided |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 3:40 PM EST (2026-11-02T20:40:35Z) |
| Material | Partially Treated without Disinfection |
| Volume, in gallons | 7,000 |
| Volume as reported | 7000 Gallons Actual |
| How volume was determined | estimated |
| Authority | Frank E. Van Lare WWTF (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://www.dec.ny.gov/fs/data/SPRTK_Data.xlsx |
Original source data
{
"row": {
"notificationId": "2593715181026440",
"sprtkAirDateTime": "07/04/2026 20:30:43",
"notificationStatus": "New",
"facilityName": "Frank E. Van Lare WWTF NY0028339",
"facilityId": "NY0028339",
"countyName": "Monroe",
"streetNumber": "225",
"streetName": "Tryon Pk",
"city": "Rochester",
"latitude": "-77.5377",
"longitude": "43.165",
"sprtkStartDischargeDatetime": "07/04/2026 19:30:00",
"sprtkEndDischargeDatetime": "07/04/2026 19:34:00",
"dischargeDuration": "0.06 Hours - Ended",
"surfaceWater": "Yes",
"receivingWaterBody": "Irondequoit Bay",
"quantity": "7000 Gallons Actual",
"treatedState": "Partially Treated without Disinfection",
"dischargeDescription": "Solids screened by chain linked fence.",
"stepsToContain": "Heavy short duration rainfall exceeded the designed system capacity.",
"geoaddress": "217 Tryon Park, Rochester, NY 14609, USA",
"impactedArea": "-",
"dischargeReason": "System Capacity,Weather Conditions - Heavy intense rainfall caused system to exceed designed capacity. Total rainfall of 1.02 In at a peak rate of 3.25 In/Hr effected the area.",
"systemComponent": "-",
"region": "8",
"sprtkDischargeWaterFlow": "Overland Flow",
"sprtkExplanation": "Heavy intense rainfall caused system to exceed designed capacity. Total rainfall of 1.02 In at a peak rate of 3.25 In/Hr effected the area."
},
"_tab": "January 2026-August2026",
"_row": 4149,
"_time_basis": {
"air": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
"start": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
"end": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York"
},
"_coords": "latitude and longitude columns swapped; a street-address geocode chosen by the notifier",
"_event_type_basis": "partially treated discharge (treated state)",
"_water": {
"via": "receiving water name within New York (checked against the geocode)"
},
"_volume_note": "first (New) notice: NY-Alert requires a volume and an end time up front, so this figure is the notifier's estimate or placeholder, not a measured total",
"_chain": {
"id": "key:NY0028339|225 tryon pk rochester|2026-07-04T19:30Z",
"basis": "facility + address + start",
"position": 1,
"of": 1,
"head": "ny-dec-sprtk:2593715181026440",
"latest": "ny-dec-sprtk:2593715181026440",
"notices": [
{
"id": "2593715181026440",
"status": "New",
"aired": "2026-07-04T16:30:43-04:00"
}
]
}
} Source: Frank E. Van Lare WWTF (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2593715181026440, reported Jul 4, 2026, 4:30 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.