DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

New York / Reports /

Treatment bypass reported — Auburn (C) STP, Jul 21, 2026

Ended (as reported) · Auburn (C) STP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)

Source: Auburn (C) STP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2623024037852611, reported Jul 22, 2026, 6:57 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 4:26 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: Auburn (C) STP (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, NY0021903). Outlet: not stated. Location: 42.92940, -76.55910; location source: given in the source record.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “Owasco river”. Not linked to a mapped water.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
Published
Source last updated
not given
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
“Partially Treated without Disinfection”
Volume
14,415 gallons (estimated)
Volume as reported
“14415 Gallons Estimated”

Advice from Auburn (C) STP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Source and versions

Source
NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know
Source record number
2623024037852611
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
Read the earlier version
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifierny-dec-sprtk:2623024037852611
Source identifierny-dec-sprtk
Source record number2623024037852611
Earlier versionny-dec-sprtk:2622920958603884
TypeTreatment bypass
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifierny-auburn
Sewer operatorAuburn (C) STP
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)NY0021903
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet nameNot provided
Water named in the reportOwasco river
Linked watersNot provided
How this report was linked to the waternot linked to a mapped water
Latitude42.929
Longitude-76.559
Location sourcegiven in the source record
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedJul 21, 2026, 10:04 PM EDT (2026-07-21T22:04:15-04:00)
EndedJul 21, 2026, 10:12 PM EDT (2026-07-21T22:12:11-04:00)
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceJul 22, 2026, 6:57 AM EDT (2026-07-22T06:57:31-04:00)
PublishedJul 22, 2026, 6:57 AM EDT (2026-07-22T06:57:31-04:00)
Source last updatedNot provided
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 3:40 PM EST (2026-11-02T20:40:35Z)
MaterialPartially Treated without Disinfection
Volume, in gallons14,415
Volume as reported14415 Gallons Estimated
How volume was determinedestimated
AuthorityAuburn (C) STP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://www.dec.ny.gov/fs/data/SPRTK_Data.xlsx

Original source data

{
  "row": {
    "notificationId": "2623024037852611",
    "sprtkAirDateTime": "07/22/2026 10:57:31",
    "notificationStatus": "Update",
    "facilityName": "Auburn (C) STP",
    "facilityId": "NY0021903",
    "countyName": "Cayuga",
    "streetNumber": "1",
    "streetName": "Miller",
    "city": "Auburn",
    "latitude": "-76.5591",
    "longitude": "42.9294",
    "sprtkStartDischargeDatetime": "07/22/2026 02:04:15",
    "sprtkEndDischargeDatetime": "07/22/2026 02:12:11",
    "dischargeDuration": "8 Minutes - Ended",
    "surfaceWater": "Yes",
    "receivingWaterBody": "Owasco river",
    "quantity": "14415 Gallons Estimated",
    "treatedState": "Partially Treated without Disinfection",
    "stepsToContain": "Permitted CSO",
    "geoaddress": "1 Miller St, Auburn, NY 13021, USA",
    "impactedArea": "-",
    "dischargeReason": "Weather Conditions - Heavy rain",
    "systemComponent": "-",
    "region": "7",
    "sprtkDischargeWaterFlow": "Manmade",
    "sprtkExplanation": "Heavy rain"
  },
  "_tab": "January 2026-August2026",
  "_row": 4457,
  "_time_basis": {
    "air": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
    "start": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
    "end": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York"
  },
  "_coords": "latitude and longitude columns swapped; a street-address geocode chosen by the notifier",
  "_event_type_basis": "partially treated discharge (treated state)",
  "_chain": {
    "id": "key:NY0021903|1 miller auburn|2026-07-22T02:04Z",
    "basis": "facility + address + start",
    "position": 2,
    "of": 2,
    "head": "ny-dec-sprtk:2622920958603884",
    "latest": "ny-dec-sprtk:2623024037852611",
    "notices": [
      {
        "id": "2622920958603884",
        "status": "New",
        "aired": "2026-07-21T22:37:19-04:00"
      },
      {
        "id": "2623024037852611",
        "status": "Update",
        "aired": "2026-07-22T06:57:31-04:00"
      }
    ]
  }
}

Source: Auburn (C) STP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2623024037852611, reported Jul 22, 2026, 6:57 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.