Treatment bypass reported — Auburn (C) STP, Jul 21, 2026
Ongoing (as reported) · Auburn (C) STP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
Source: Auburn (C) STP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2623161476770081, reported Jul 21, 2026, 10:32 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
Earlier version. A later record from the same source replaces this one. The newest version sets the map status. read the newer version
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Auburn (C) STP (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, NY0021903). Outlet: not stated. Location: 42.93480, -76.58900; location source: given in the source record.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “Owasco River”. Not linked to a mapped water.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- ongoing, as last reported
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- Published
- Source last updated
- not given
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
- Status in the record
- Ongoing (as reported)
- Material
- “Partially Treated without Disinfection”
- Volume
- 1,996 gallons (estimated)
- Volume as reported
- “1996 Gallons Estimated”
Advice from Auburn (C) STP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know
- Source record number
- 2623161476770081
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- version 2
Record details
| Record identifier | ny-dec-sprtk:2623161476770081 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | ny-dec-sprtk |
| Source record number | 2623161476770081 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Treatment bypass |
| Status in the report | Ongoing (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | ny-auburn |
| Sewer operator | Auburn (C) STP |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | NY0021903 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Not provided |
| Water named in the report | Owasco River |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | 42.935 |
| Longitude | -76.589 |
| Location source | given in the source record |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Jul 21, 2026, 10:03 PM EDT (2026-07-21T22:03:13-04:00) |
| Ended | Not provided |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Jul 21, 2026, 10:32 PM EDT (2026-07-21T22:32:52-04:00) |
| Published | Jul 21, 2026, 10:32 PM EDT (2026-07-21T22:32:52-04:00) |
| Source last updated | Not provided |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 3:40 PM EST (2026-11-02T20:40:35Z) |
| Material | Partially Treated without Disinfection |
| Volume, in gallons | 1,996 |
| Volume as reported | 1996 Gallons Estimated |
| How volume was determined | estimated |
| Authority | Auburn (C) STP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://www.dec.ny.gov/fs/data/SPRTK_Data.xlsx |
Original source data
{
"row": {
"notificationId": "2623161476770081",
"sprtkAirDateTime": "07/22/2026 02:32:52",
"notificationStatus": "New",
"facilityName": "Auburn (C) STP",
"facilityId": "NY0021903",
"countyName": "Cayuga",
"streetNumber": "12",
"streetName": "Wadsworth",
"city": "Auburn",
"latitude": "-76.589",
"longitude": "42.9348",
"sprtkStartDischargeDatetime": "07/22/2026 02:03:13",
"sprtkEndDischargeDatetime": "07/22/2026 02:09:58",
"dischargeDuration": "6 Minutes - Ongoing",
"surfaceWater": "Yes",
"receivingWaterBody": "Owasco River",
"quantity": "1996 Gallons Estimated",
"treatedState": "Partially Treated without Disinfection",
"stepsToContain": "Permitted CSO",
"geoaddress": "2-38 Wadsworth St, Auburn, NY 13021, USA",
"impactedArea": "-",
"dischargeReason": "Weather Conditions - Heavy Rain",
"systemComponent": "-",
"region": "7",
"sprtkDischargeWaterFlow": "Manmade",
"sprtkExplanation": "Heavy Rain"
},
"_tab": "January 2026-August2026",
"_row": 4441,
"_time_basis": {
"air": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
"start": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
"end": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York"
},
"_projected_end": "2026-07-21T22:09:58-04:00",
"_projected_end_note": "NY-Alert requires an expected end time on every notice; this one is a projection, not a reported end",
"_coords": "latitude and longitude columns swapped; a street-address geocode chosen by the notifier",
"_event_type_basis": "partially treated discharge (treated state)",
"_volume_note": "first (New) notice: NY-Alert requires a volume and an end time up front, so this figure is the notifier's estimate or placeholder, not a measured total",
"_chain": {
"id": "key:NY0021903|12 wadsworth auburn|2026-07-22T02:03Z",
"basis": "facility + address + start",
"position": 1,
"of": 2,
"head": "ny-dec-sprtk:2623161476770081",
"latest": "ny-dec-sprtk:2623024037852668"
}
} Source: Auburn (C) STP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2623161476770081, reported Jul 21, 2026, 10:32 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.