Reports /
Treatment bypass reported — Thompson (T) Kiamesha Lake STP, Jul 29, 2026
Ended (as reported) · Thompson (T) Kiamesha Lake STP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
Source: Thompson (T) Kiamesha Lake STP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2637901804385894, reported Jul 30, 2026, 9:59 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 4:26 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Thompson (T) Kiamesha Lake STP (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, NY0030724). Outlet: “Filter”. Location: 41.66240, -74.66360; location source: given in the source record.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “Kiamesha Creek”. Not linked to a mapped water.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- Published
- Source last updated
- not given
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- “Partially Treated without Disinfection”
- Volume
- 200,000 gallons (estimated)
- Volume as reported
- “200000 Gallons Estimated”
Advice from Thompson (T) Kiamesha Lake STP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know
- Source record number
- 2637901804385894
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | ny-dec-sprtk:2637901804385894 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | ny-dec-sprtk |
| Source record number | 2637901804385894 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Treatment bypass |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | ny-thompson-t-kiamesha-lake-stp |
| Sewer operator | Thompson (T) Kiamesha Lake STP |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | NY0030724 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Filter |
| Water named in the report | Kiamesha Creek |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | 41.662 |
| Longitude | -74.664 |
| Location source | given in the source record |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Jul 29, 2026, 11:00 PM EDT (2026-07-29T23:00:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Jul 30, 2026, 9:30 AM EDT (2026-07-30T09:30:00-04:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Jul 30, 2026, 9:59 AM EDT (2026-07-30T09:59:02-04:00) |
| Published | Jul 30, 2026, 9:59 AM EDT (2026-07-30T09:59:02-04:00) |
| Source last updated | Not provided |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 3:40 PM EST (2026-11-02T20:40:35Z) |
| Material | Partially Treated without Disinfection |
| Volume, in gallons | 200,000 |
| Volume as reported | 200000 Gallons Estimated |
| How volume was determined | estimated |
| Authority | Thompson (T) Kiamesha Lake STP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://www.dec.ny.gov/fs/data/SPRTK_Data.xlsx |
Original source data
{
"row": {
"notificationId": "2637901804385894",
"sprtkAirDateTime": "07/30/2026 13:59:02",
"notificationStatus": "New",
"facilityName": "Thompson (T) Kiamesha Lake STP NY0030724",
"facilityId": "NY0030724",
"countyName": "Sullivan",
"streetNumber": "128",
"streetName": "Rock Ridge Drive",
"city": "Monticello",
"addressDescription": "Wastewater Treatment Plant",
"latitude": "-74.6636",
"longitude": "41.6624",
"sprtkStartDischargeDatetime": "07/30/2026 03:00:00",
"sprtkEndDischargeDatetime": "07/30/2026 13:30:00",
"dischargeDuration": "10.5 Hours - Ended",
"surfaceWater": "Yes",
"receivingWaterBody": "Kiamesha Creek",
"componentDescription": "Filter",
"quantity": "200000 Gallons Estimated",
"treatedState": "Partially Treated without Disinfection",
"dischargeDescription": "Filter was bypassed and flow was sent through the lagoon due to heavy rain.",
"stepsToContain": "Aeration rates and mixing were adjusted to aid in settling.",
"geoaddress": "128 Rock Ridge Dr, Monticello, NY 12701, USA",
"impactedArea": "Unknown,Unknown -",
"dischargeReason": "System Capacity,Weather Conditions - Heavy rainfall caused hydraulic overloading a solids washout",
"systemComponent": "Other,Other - Filter",
"region": "3",
"sprtkDischargeWaterFlow": "Manmade",
"sprtkExplanation": "Heavy rainfall caused hydraulic overloading a solids washout"
},
"_tab": "January 2026-August2026",
"_row": 4667,
"_time_basis": {
"air": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
"start": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
"end": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York"
},
"_coords": "latitude and longitude columns swapped; a street-address geocode chosen by the notifier",
"_event_type_basis": "partially treated discharge (treated state)",
"_volume_note": "first (New) notice: NY-Alert requires a volume and an end time up front, so this figure is the notifier's estimate or placeholder, not a measured total",
"_chain": {
"id": "key:NY0030724|128 rock ridge drive monticello|2026-07-30T03:00Z",
"basis": "facility + address + start",
"position": 1,
"of": 1,
"head": "ny-dec-sprtk:2637901804385894",
"latest": "ny-dec-sprtk:2637901804385894",
"notices": [
{
"id": "2637901804385894",
"status": "New",
"aired": "2026-07-30T09:59:02-04:00"
}
]
}
} Source: Thompson (T) Kiamesha Lake STP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2637901804385894, reported Jul 30, 2026, 9:59 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.