DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

New York / Reports /

Combined sewer overflow (CSO) reported — Ogdensburg WWTP, Aug 3, 2026

Ended (as reported) · Ogdensburg WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)

Source: Ogdensburg WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2657658654031038, reported Aug 4, 2026, 11:12 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 4:26 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: Ogdensburg WWTP (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, NY0029831). Outlet: “In river bank East of Patterson St. boat launch.”. Location: 44.70501, -75.48833; location source: given in the source record.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “St. Lawrence”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to St. Lawrence River, NY. Match basis: the water named in the report.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

No downstream estimate is available for this report.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
Published
Source last updated
not given
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
“Partially Treated with Disinfection”
Volume
2.34 million gallons (estimated)
Volume as reported
“2,337,700 Gallons Actual”

Advice from Ogdensburg WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Status history from this report

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using this report and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-02 21:26 UTC.

Source and versions

Source
NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know
Source record number
2657658654031038
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifierny-dec-sprtk:2657658654031038
Source identifierny-dec-sprtk
Source record number2657658654031038
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeCombined sewer overflow (CSO)
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifierny-ogdensburg
Sewer operatorOgdensburg WWTP
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)NY0029831
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet nameIn river bank East of Patterson St. boat launch.
Water named in the reportSt. Lawrence
Linked watersst-lawrence-river-ny
How this report was linked to the waterthe water named in the report
Latitude44.705
Longitude-75.488
Location sourcegiven in the source record
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedAug 3, 2026, 9:30 AM EDT (2026-08-03T09:30:00-04:00)
EndedAug 4, 2026, 9:30 AM EDT (2026-08-04T09:30:00-04:00)
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceAug 4, 2026, 11:12 AM EDT (2026-08-04T11:12:54-04:00)
PublishedAug 4, 2026, 11:12 AM EDT (2026-08-04T11:12:54-04:00)
Source last updatedNot provided
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 3:40 PM EST (2026-11-02T20:40:35Z)
MaterialPartially Treated with Disinfection
Volume, in gallons2,337,700
Volume as reported2,337,700 Gallons Actual
How volume was determinedestimated
AuthorityOgdensburg WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://www.dec.ny.gov/fs/data/SPRTK_Data.xlsx

Original source data

{
  "row": {
    "notificationId": "2657658654031038",
    "sprtkAirDateTime": "08/04/2026 15:12:54",
    "notificationStatus": "New",
    "facilityName": "Ogdensburg WWTP",
    "facilityId": "NY0029831",
    "countyName": "St. Lawrence",
    "streetNumber": "0",
    "streetName": "Patterson Street",
    "city": "Ogdensburg",
    "addressDescription": "In river bank East of Patterson St. boat launch.",
    "latitude": "-75.48833394802396",
    "longitude": "44.705012392396085",
    "sprtkStartDischargeDatetime": "08/03/2026 13:30:00",
    "sprtkEndDischargeDatetime": "08/04/2026 13:30:00",
    "dischargeDuration": "Unknown Hours - Ended",
    "surfaceWater": "Yes",
    "receivingWaterBody": "St. Lawrence",
    "quantity": "2,337,700 Gallons Actual",
    "treatedState": "Partially Treated with Disinfection",
    "stepsToContain": "Permitted CSO Discharge",
    "geoaddress": "48-52 Railroad St, Ogdensburg, NY 13669, USA",
    "impactedArea": "-",
    "dischargeReason": "Weather Conditions - Wet weather event resulting in collection system flow exceeding the treatment facility's capacity. 0.15 inches of rainfall",
    "systemComponent": "CSO Outfall -",
    "sprtkDischargeWaterFlow": "Manmade",
    "sprtkExplanation": "Wet weather event resulting in collection system flow exceeding the treatment facility's capacity. 0.15 inches of rainfall"
  },
  "_tab": "January 2026-August2026",
  "_row": 4884,
  "_time_basis": {
    "air": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
    "start": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
    "end": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York"
  },
  "_coords": "latitude and longitude columns swapped; a street-address geocode chosen by the notifier",
  "_event_type_basis": "a CSO outfall named in the system component",
  "_water": {
    "via": "receiving water name within New York (checked against the geocode)",
    "name_notes": [
      "'st lawrence river': the water record has no bounding box, so the point could not be checked"
    ]
  },
  "_volume_note": "first (New) notice: NY-Alert requires a volume and an end time up front, so this figure is the notifier's estimate or placeholder, not a measured total",
  "_chain": {
    "id": "key:NY0029831|0 patterson street ogdensburg|2026-08-03T13:30Z",
    "basis": "facility + address + start",
    "position": 1,
    "of": 1,
    "head": "ny-dec-sprtk:2657658654031038",
    "latest": "ny-dec-sprtk:2657658654031038",
    "notices": [
      {
        "id": "2657658654031038",
        "status": "New",
        "aired": "2026-08-04T11:12:54-04:00"
      }
    ]
  }
}

Source: Ogdensburg WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2657658654031038, reported Aug 4, 2026, 11:12 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.