DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Reports /

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — Southtowns AWTF - ECSD #3, Jul 30, 2026

Ended (as reported) · Southtowns AWTF - ECSD #3 (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)

Source: Southtowns AWTF - ECSD #3 (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2666214228758601, reported Aug 5, 2026, 4:37 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 4:26 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: Southtowns AWTF - ECSD #3 (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, NY0095401). Outlet: not stated. Location: 42.76550, -78.74500; location source: given in the source record.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “Nearby catch basin and eventually an unnamed ditch”. Not linked to a mapped water.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
Published
Source last updated
not given
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
“Untreated”
Volume
300 gallons (measured or verified)
Volume as reported
“300 Gallons Actual”

Advice from Southtowns AWTF - ECSD #3 (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Source and versions

Source
NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know
Source record number
2666214228758601
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
Read the earlier version
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifierny-dec-sprtk:2666214228758601
Source identifierny-dec-sprtk
Source record number2666214228758601
Earlier versionny-dec-sprtk:2637592566747958
TypeSanitary sewer overflow (SSO)
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifierny-southtowns-awtf-ecsd-3
Sewer operatorSouthtowns AWTF - ECSD #3
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)NY0095401
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet nameNot provided
Water named in the reportNearby catch basin and eventually an unnamed ditch
Linked watersNot provided
How this report was linked to the waternot linked to a mapped water
Latitude42.766
Longitude-78.745
Location sourcegiven in the source record
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedJul 30, 2026, 8:30 AM EDT (2026-07-30T08:30:00-04:00)
EndedJul 30, 2026, 9:00 AM EDT (2026-07-30T09:00:00-04:00)
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceAug 5, 2026, 4:37 PM EDT (2026-08-05T16:37:54-04:00)
PublishedAug 5, 2026, 4:37 PM EDT (2026-08-05T16:37:54-04:00)
Source last updatedNot provided
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 3:40 PM EST (2026-11-02T20:40:35Z)
MaterialUntreated
Volume, in gallons300
Volume as reported300 Gallons Actual
How volume was determinedmeasured or verified
AuthoritySouthtowns AWTF - ECSD #3 (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://www.dec.ny.gov/fs/data/SPRTK_Data.xlsx

Original source data

{
  "row": {
    "notificationId": "2666214228758601",
    "sprtkAirDateTime": "08/05/2026 20:37:54",
    "notificationStatus": "Close",
    "facilityName": "Southtowns AWTF - ECSD #3 NY0095401",
    "facilityId": "NY0095401",
    "countyName": "Erie",
    "streetNumber": "30",
    "streetName": "School Street (MH - CE8D0)",
    "city": "Orchard Park",
    "latitude": "-78.745",
    "longitude": "42.7655",
    "sprtkStartDischargeDatetime": "07/30/2026 12:30:00",
    "sprtkEndDischargeDatetime": "07/30/2026 13:00:00",
    "dischargeDuration": "30 Minutes - Ended",
    "surfaceWater": "No",
    "receivingWaterBody": "Nearby catch basin and eventually an unnamed ditch",
    "quantity": "300 Gallons Actual",
    "treatedState": "Untreated",
    "stepsToContain": "Flushed blockage from sewer pipe",
    "geoaddress": "30 School St, Orchard Park, NY 14127, USA",
    "impactedArea": "Unknown -",
    "dischargeReason": "Blockage - Blockage in sewer pipe",
    "systemComponent": "Manhole -",
    "region": "9",
    "sprtkDischargeWaterFlow": "Manmade",
    "sprtkExplanation": "Blockage in sewer pipe"
  },
  "_tab": "January 2026-August2026",
  "_row": 4907,
  "_time_basis": {
    "air": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
    "start": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
    "end": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York"
  },
  "_coords": "latitude and longitude columns swapped; a street-address geocode chosen by the notifier",
  "_event_type_basis": "untreated discharge from a collection-system component",
  "_water": {
    "why_none": "the notifier says the discharge does not reach surface water"
  },
  "_chain": {
    "id": "key:NY0095401|30 school street mh ce8d0 orchard park|2026-07-30T12:30Z",
    "basis": "facility + address + start",
    "position": 2,
    "of": 2,
    "head": "ny-dec-sprtk:2637592566747958",
    "latest": "ny-dec-sprtk:2666214228758601",
    "notices": [
      {
        "id": "2637592566747958",
        "status": "New",
        "aired": "2026-07-30T09:28:49-04:00"
      },
      {
        "id": "2666214228758601",
        "status": "Close",
        "aired": "2026-08-05T16:37:54-04:00"
      }
    ]
  }
}

Source: Southtowns AWTF - ECSD #3 (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2666214228758601, reported Aug 5, 2026, 4:37 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.