Reports /
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — Yorktown Heights SD WWTP, Aug 9, 2026
Ended (as reported) · Yorktown Heights SD WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
Source: Yorktown Heights SD WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2666248588622327, reported Aug 9, 2026, 2:31 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 4:26 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Yorktown Heights SD WWTP (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, NY0026743). Outlet: “residential home”. Location: 43.05030, -76.14740; location source: given in the source record.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “Croton Watershed”. Not linked to a mapped water.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- Published
- Source last updated
- not given
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- “Untreated”
- Volume
- 200 gallons (estimated)
- Volume as reported
- “estimated 200 gallons from the time of confirmation Gallons Estimated”
Advice from Yorktown Heights SD WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know
- Source record number
- 2666248588622327
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | ny-dec-sprtk:2666248588622327 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | ny-dec-sprtk |
| Source record number | 2666248588622327 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | ny-yorktown-heights-sd-wwtp |
| Sewer operator | Yorktown Heights SD WWTP |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | NY0026743 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | residential home |
| Water named in the report | Croton Watershed |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | 43.05 |
| Longitude | -76.147 |
| Location source | given in the source record |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Aug 9, 2026, 1:55 PM EDT (2026-08-09T13:55:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Aug 9, 2026, 2:15 PM EDT (2026-08-09T14:15:00-04:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Aug 9, 2026, 2:31 PM EDT (2026-08-09T14:31:04-04:00) |
| Published | Aug 9, 2026, 2:31 PM EDT (2026-08-09T14:31:04-04:00) |
| Source last updated | Not provided |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 3:40 PM EST (2026-11-02T20:40:35Z) |
| Material | Untreated |
| Volume, in gallons | 200 |
| Volume as reported | estimated 200 gallons from the time of confirmation Gallons Estimated |
| How volume was determined | estimated |
| Authority | Yorktown Heights SD WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://www.dec.ny.gov/fs/data/SPRTK_Data.xlsx |
Original source data
{
"row": {
"notificationId": "2666248588622327",
"sprtkAirDateTime": "08/09/2026 18:31:04",
"notificationStatus": "New",
"facilityName": "Yorktown Heights SD WWTP NY0026743",
"facilityId": "NY0026743",
"countyName": "Westchester",
"streetNumber": "2909",
"streetName": "Farmwalk Road",
"city": "Yorktown",
"addressDescription": "residential home",
"latitude": "-76.1474",
"longitude": "43.0503",
"sprtkStartDischargeDatetime": "08/09/2026 17:55:00",
"sprtkEndDischargeDatetime": "08/09/2026 18:15:00",
"dischargeDuration": "Confirmed 20 minute discharge Minutes - Ended",
"surfaceWater": "Yes",
"receivingWaterBody": "Croton Watershed",
"quantity": "estimated 200 gallons from the time of confirmation Gallons Estimated",
"treatedState": "Untreated",
"stepsToContain": "(1)Called septic company to shut station off/pumps- confirm pipe break\n(2) Have the septic company begin pulling the wet well to avoid gravity main disruption. \n(3)Perform NY dig safe alerts to have utilities marked out. Call in staff to perform excavation and repair of the broken section of pipe",
"geoaddress": "2909, Farmwalk Road, Yorktown, NY 10598",
"impactedArea": "Unknown,Unknown -",
"dischargeReason": "Pipe Break,Pipe Break - Sewer force main break",
"systemComponent": "Pipe,Pump Station -",
"region": "3",
"sprtkDischargeWaterFlow": "Manmade",
"sprtkExplanation": "Sewer force main break"
},
"_tab": "January 2026-August2026",
"_row": 5018,
"_time_basis": {
"air": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
"start": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
"end": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York"
},
"_coords": "latitude and longitude columns swapped; a street-address geocode chosen by the notifier",
"_event_type_basis": "untreated discharge from a collection-system component",
"_volume_note": "first (New) notice: NY-Alert requires a volume and an end time up front, so this figure is the notifier's estimate or placeholder, not a measured total",
"_chain": {
"id": "key:NY0026743|2909 farmwalk road yorktown|2026-08-09T17:55Z",
"basis": "facility + address + start",
"position": 1,
"of": 1,
"head": "ny-dec-sprtk:2666248588622327",
"latest": "ny-dec-sprtk:2666248588622327",
"notices": [
{
"id": "2666248588622327",
"status": "New",
"aired": "2026-08-09T14:31:04-04:00"
}
]
}
} Source: Yorktown Heights SD WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2666248588622327, reported Aug 9, 2026, 2:31 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.