Combined sewer overflow (CSO) reported — Johnson City, Aug 12, 2026
Ongoing (as reported) · Johnson City (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
Source: Johnson City (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2681916629190816, reported Aug 12, 2026, 10:39 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
No current status shown on Susquehanna River: End not confirmed. Current rule period ends Nov 10, 2026, 7:15 PM EST. This is not a water-quality test.
Why this status: No current status: no report we track sets a status on this water outline now.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Latest conditions:At the Susquehanna River at Unadilla NY gauge, 600 metres from the nearest boat launch on Susquehanna River: flow 327 cubic feet per second (Nov 2, 2026, 4:00 PM EST). Conditions are measured at the gauge, not at this spot, and do not change the status.Conditions on Susquehanna River
Source: U.S. Geological Survey via Water Data for the Nation, gauge 01500500, reading Nov 2, 2026, 4:00 PM EST, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:22 UTC. Gauge chosen by DirtyWaterWatch. · Readings and history at USGS
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Johnson City (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, NY0024414). Outlet: “Former Goudey Station”. Location: 42.10058, -75.97639; location source: given in the source record.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “Susquehanna River”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Susquehanna River, NY. Match basis: the water named in the report.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
No downstream estimate is available for this report.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- ongoing, as last reported
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- Published
- Source last updated
- not given
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system.
- Status in the record
- Ongoing (as reported)
- Material
- “Partially Treated without Disinfection”
- Volume
- 150,000 gallons (estimated)
- Volume as reported
- “150000 Gallons Estimated”
Advice from Johnson City (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Status history from this report
- Discharge or advisory reported Susquehanna River: Discharge reported ongoing, Aug 12, 2026, 8:15 PM EDT to Aug 19, 2026, 8:15 PM EDT
- End not confirmed Susquehanna River: End not confirmed, Aug 19, 2026, 8:15 PM EDT to Sep 11, 2026, 8:15 PM EDT
- No current status shown Susquehanna River: End not confirmed, Sep 11, 2026, 8:15 PM EDT to Nov 10, 2026, 7:15 PM EST
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using this report and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-02 21:26 UTC.
Source and versions
- Source
- NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know
- Source record number
- 2681916629190816
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | ny-dec-sprtk:2681916629190816 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | ny-dec-sprtk |
| Source record number | 2681916629190816 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Combined sewer overflow (CSO) |
| Status in the report | Ongoing (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | ny-binghamton |
| Sewer operator | Johnson City |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | NY0024414 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Former Goudey Station |
| Water named in the report | Susquehanna River |
| Linked waters | susquehanna-river-ny |
| How this report was linked to the water | the water named in the report |
| Latitude | 42.101 |
| Longitude | -75.976 |
| Location source | given in the source record |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Aug 12, 2026, 8:15 PM EDT (2026-08-12T20:15:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Not provided |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Aug 12, 2026, 10:39 PM EDT (2026-08-12T22:39:54-04:00) |
| Published | Aug 12, 2026, 10:39 PM EDT (2026-08-12T22:39:54-04:00) |
| Source last updated | Not provided |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 3:40 PM EST (2026-11-02T20:40:35Z) |
| Material | Partially Treated without Disinfection |
| Volume, in gallons | 150,000 |
| Volume as reported | 150000 Gallons Estimated |
| How volume was determined | estimated |
| Authority | Johnson City (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://www.dec.ny.gov/fs/data/SPRTK_Data.xlsx |
Original source data
{
"row": {
"notificationId": "2681916629190816",
"sprtkAirDateTime": "08/13/2026 02:39:54",
"notificationStatus": "New",
"facilityName": "Johnson City",
"facilityId": "NY0024414",
"countyName": "Broome",
"streetNumber": "720",
"streetName": "Riverside Dr",
"city": "Johnson City",
"addressDescription": "Former Goudey Station",
"latitude": "-75.976388",
"longitude": "42.100583",
"sprtkStartDischargeDatetime": "08/13/2026 00:15:00",
"sprtkEndDischargeDatetime": "08/13/2026 06:00:00",
"dischargeDuration": "Intermittent Discharge Started at 20:10 lasting the next several hours due to isolated storms Hours - Ongoing",
"surfaceWater": "Yes",
"receivingWaterBody": "Susquehanna River",
"quantity": "150000 Gallons Estimated",
"treatedState": "Partially Treated without Disinfection",
"stepsToContain": "N/A - Permitted Sewer Overflow, RAINFALL HAS ENDED AND COMBINED SEWER OVERFLOW WILL COINSIDE WITH THE SEWER LEVEL DROPPING, COMBINED SEWER OVERFLOW DISCHARGE WILL DISIPATE",
"geoaddress": "720 Riverside Dr.",
"impactedArea": "Fishing Area -",
"dischargeReason": "Weather Conditions - Intermittent CSO Overflow Throughout the Night Due to Heavy Rain",
"systemComponent": "CSO Outfall -",
"region": "7",
"sprtkDischargeWaterFlow": "Manmade",
"sprtkExplanation": "Intermittent CSO Overflow Throughout the Night Due to Heavy Rain"
},
"_tab": "January 2026-August2026",
"_row": 5054,
"_time_basis": {
"air": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
"start": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
"end": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York"
},
"_projected_end": "2026-08-13T02:00:00-04:00",
"_projected_end_note": "NY-Alert requires an expected end time on every notice; this one is a projection, not a reported end",
"_coords": "latitude and longitude columns swapped; a street-address geocode chosen by the notifier",
"_event_type_basis": "a CSO outfall named in the system component",
"_water": {
"via": "receiving water name within New York (checked against the geocode)"
},
"_volume_note": "first (New) notice: NY-Alert requires a volume and an end time up front, so this figure is the notifier's estimate or placeholder, not a measured total",
"_chain": {
"id": "key:NY0024414|720 riverside dr johnson city|2026-08-13T00:15Z",
"basis": "facility + address + start",
"position": 1,
"of": 1,
"head": "ny-dec-sprtk:2681916629190816",
"latest": "ny-dec-sprtk:2681916629190816",
"notices": [
{
"id": "2681916629190816",
"status": "New",
"aired": "2026-08-12T22:39:54-04:00"
}
]
}
} Source: Johnson City (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2681916629190816, reported Aug 12, 2026, 10:39 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.