Combined sewer overflow (CSO) reported — Ogdensburg WWTP, Aug 13, 2026
Ended (as reported) · Ogdensburg WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
Source: Ogdensburg WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2684046932996267, reported Aug 14, 2026, 10:20 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 4:26 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Ogdensburg WWTP (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, NY0029831). Outlet: “In river bank at north end of Caroline St.”. Location: 44.70160, -75.49429; location source: given in the source record.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “St. Lawrence”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to St. Lawrence River, NY. Match basis: the water named in the report.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
No downstream estimate is available for this report.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- Published
- Source last updated
- not given
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- “Untreated”
- Volume
- 628,870 gallons (estimated)
- Volume as reported
- “628,870 Gallons Estimated”
Advice from Ogdensburg WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
“Estimated based on other metered outfalls”
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Status history from this report
- Discharge or advisory reported St. Lawrence River: Discharge reported ongoing, Aug 13, 2026, 9:30 AM EDT to Aug 14, 2026, 9:30 AM EDT
- Caution St. Lawrence River: Within the caution period after the reported end, Aug 14, 2026, 9:30 AM EDT to Aug 17, 2026, 9:30 AM EDT
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using this report and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-02 21:26 UTC.
Source and versions
- Source
- NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know
- Source record number
- 2684046932996267
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | ny-dec-sprtk:2684046932996267 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | ny-dec-sprtk |
| Source record number | 2684046932996267 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Combined sewer overflow (CSO) |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | ny-ogdensburg |
| Sewer operator | Ogdensburg WWTP |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | NY0029831 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | In river bank at north end of Caroline St. |
| Water named in the report | St. Lawrence |
| Linked waters | st-lawrence-river-ny |
| How this report was linked to the water | the water named in the report |
| Latitude | 44.702 |
| Longitude | -75.494 |
| Location source | given in the source record |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Aug 13, 2026, 9:30 AM EDT (2026-08-13T09:30:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Aug 14, 2026, 9:30 AM EDT (2026-08-14T09:30:00-04:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Aug 14, 2026, 10:20 AM EDT (2026-08-14T10:20:39-04:00) |
| Published | Aug 14, 2026, 10:20 AM EDT (2026-08-14T10:20:39-04:00) |
| Source last updated | Not provided |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 3:40 PM EST (2026-11-02T20:40:35Z) |
| Material | Untreated |
| Volume, in gallons | 628,870 |
| Volume as reported | 628,870 Gallons Estimated |
| How volume was determined | estimated |
| Authority | Ogdensburg WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know) |
| Advice | Estimated based on other metered outfalls |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://www.dec.ny.gov/fs/data/SPRTK_Data.xlsx |
Original source data
{
"row": {
"notificationId": "2684046932996267",
"sprtkAirDateTime": "08/14/2026 14:20:39",
"notificationStatus": "New",
"facilityName": "Ogdensburg WWTP",
"facilityId": "NY0029831",
"countyName": "St. Lawrence",
"streetNumber": "2",
"streetName": "Caroline Street",
"city": "Ogdensburg",
"addressDescription": "In river bank at north end of Caroline St.",
"latitude": "-75.49428976434861",
"longitude": "44.70159980236383",
"sprtkStartDischargeDatetime": "08/13/2026 13:30:00",
"sprtkEndDischargeDatetime": "08/14/2026 13:30:00",
"dischargeDuration": "Unknown Hours - Ended",
"surfaceWater": "Yes",
"receivingWaterBody": "St. Lawrence",
"quantity": "628,870 Gallons Estimated",
"treatedState": "Untreated",
"stepsToContain": "Permitted CSO Discharge",
"additionalInstructions": "Estimated based on other metered outfalls",
"geoaddress": "2 Caroline St, Ogdensburg, NY 13669, USA",
"impactedArea": "-",
"dischargeReason": "Weather Conditions - Wet weather event resulting in collection system flow exceeding the treatment facility's capacity.",
"systemComponent": "CSO Outfall -",
"sprtkDischargeWaterFlow": "Manmade",
"sprtkExplanation": "Wet weather event resulting in collection system flow exceeding the treatment facility's capacity.",
"sprtkAdditionalInstructions": "Estimated based on other metered outfalls"
},
"_tab": "January 2026-August2026",
"_row": 5068,
"_time_basis": {
"air": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
"start": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
"end": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York"
},
"_coords": "latitude and longitude columns swapped; a street-address geocode chosen by the notifier",
"_event_type_basis": "a CSO outfall named in the system component",
"_water": {
"via": "receiving water name within New York (checked against the geocode)",
"name_notes": [
"'st lawrence river': the water record has no bounding box, so the point could not be checked"
]
},
"_volume_note": "first (New) notice: NY-Alert requires a volume and an end time up front, so this figure is the notifier's estimate or placeholder, not a measured total",
"_chain": {
"id": "key:NY0029831|2 caroline street ogdensburg|2026-08-13T13:30Z",
"basis": "facility + address + start",
"position": 1,
"of": 1,
"head": "ny-dec-sprtk:2684046932996267",
"latest": "ny-dec-sprtk:2684046932996267",
"notices": [
{
"id": "2684046932996267",
"status": "New",
"aired": "2026-08-14T10:20:39-04:00"
}
]
}
} Source: Ogdensburg WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2684046932996267, reported Aug 14, 2026, 10:20 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.