DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

New York / Reports /

Combined sewer overflow (CSO) reported — Watertown (C) WPCP, Aug 17, 2026

Ended (as reported) · Watertown (C) WPCP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)

Source: Watertown (C) WPCP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2684390530490152, reported Aug 19, 2026, 12:44 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 4:26 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Latest conditions, not at the time of this report:At the Black River at Watertown NY gauge, 9.5 kilometres from the nearest boat launch on Black River: flow 1,140 cubic feet per second (Nov 2, 2026, 3:30 PM EST). Conditions are measured at the gauge, not at this spot, and do not change the status.Conditions on Black River

Source: U.S. Geological Survey via Water Data for the Nation, gauge 04260500, reading Nov 2, 2026, 3:30 PM EST, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:22 UTC. Gauge chosen by DirtyWaterWatch. · Readings and history at USGS

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: Watertown (C) WPCP (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, NY0025984). Outlet: “Inf A CSO”. Location: 43.98890, -75.92610; location source: given in the source record.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “Black River”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Black River, NY. Match basis: the water named in the report.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

No downstream estimate is available for this report.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
Published
Source last updated
not given
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
“Untreated”
Volume
536,331 gallons (estimated)
Volume as reported
“536331 Gallons Estimated”

Advice from Watertown (C) WPCP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Status history from this report

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using this report and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-02 21:26 UTC.

Source and versions

Source
NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know
Source record number
2684390530490152
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
Read the earlier version
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifierny-dec-sprtk:2684390530490152
Source identifierny-dec-sprtk
Source record number2684390530490152
Earlier versionny-dec-sprtk:2684459249943176
TypeCombined sewer overflow (CSO)
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifierny-watertown
Sewer operatorWatertown (C) WPCP
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)NY0025984
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet nameInf A CSO
Water named in the reportBlack River
Linked watersblack-river-black-river-ny
How this report was linked to the waterthe water named in the report
Latitude43.989
Longitude-75.926
Location sourcegiven in the source record
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedAug 17, 2026, 12:25 PM EDT (2026-08-17T12:25:00-04:00)
EndedAug 18, 2026, 1:15 AM EDT (2026-08-18T01:15:00-04:00)
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceAug 19, 2026, 12:44 PM EDT (2026-08-19T12:44:18-04:00)
PublishedAug 19, 2026, 12:44 PM EDT (2026-08-19T12:44:18-04:00)
Source last updatedNot provided
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 3:40 PM EST (2026-11-02T20:40:35Z)
MaterialUntreated
Volume, in gallons536,331
Volume as reported536331 Gallons Estimated
How volume was determinedestimated
AuthorityWatertown (C) WPCP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://www.dec.ny.gov/fs/data/SPRTK_Data.xlsx

Original source data

{
  "row": {
    "notificationId": "2684390530490152",
    "sprtkAirDateTime": "08/19/2026 16:44:18",
    "notificationStatus": "Update",
    "facilityName": "Watertown (C)  WPCP",
    "facilityId": "NY0025984",
    "countyName": "Jefferson",
    "streetNumber": "700",
    "streetName": "W.T Field Drive",
    "city": "Watertown",
    "addressDescription": "Inf A CSO",
    "latitude": "-75.9261",
    "longitude": "43.9889",
    "sprtkStartDischargeDatetime": "08/17/2026 16:25:00",
    "sprtkEndDischargeDatetime": "08/18/2026 05:15:00",
    "dischargeDuration": "770 Minutes - Ended",
    "surfaceWater": "Yes",
    "receivingWaterBody": "Black River",
    "componentDescription": "Inf A CSO",
    "quantity": "536331 Gallons Estimated",
    "treatedState": "Untreated",
    "dischargeDescription": "Combination of rainwater and sewage.",
    "stepsToContain": "Followed all wet weather operating procedures.",
    "geoaddress": "VL-5 W Main St, Watertown, NY 13601, USA",
    "impactedArea": "Unknown -",
    "dischargeReason": "Weather Conditions - System Capacity, weather conditions, rainfall",
    "systemComponent": "CSO Outfall - Inf A CSO",
    "region": "6",
    "sprtkDischargeWaterFlow": "Manmade",
    "sprtkExplanation": "System Capacity, weather conditions, rainfall"
  },
  "_tab": "January 2026-August2026",
  "_row": 5139,
  "_time_basis": {
    "air": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
    "start": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
    "end": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York"
  },
  "_coords": "latitude and longitude columns swapped; a street-address geocode chosen by the notifier",
  "_event_type_basis": "a CSO outfall named in the system component",
  "_water": {
    "via": "receiving water name within New York (checked against the geocode)"
  },
  "_chain": {
    "id": "key:NY0025984|700 w t field drive watertown|2026-08-17T16:25Z",
    "basis": "facility + address + start",
    "position": 2,
    "of": 2,
    "head": "ny-dec-sprtk:2684459249943176",
    "latest": "ny-dec-sprtk:2684390530490152",
    "notices": [
      {
        "id": "2684459249943176",
        "status": "New",
        "aired": "2026-08-17T12:51:33-04:00"
      },
      {
        "id": "2684390530490152",
        "status": "Update",
        "aired": "2026-08-19T12:44:18-04:00"
      }
    ]
  }
}

Source: Watertown (C) WPCP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2684390530490152, reported Aug 19, 2026, 12:44 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.