Combined sewer overflow (CSO) reported — Niagara Falls (C) WWTP, Aug 22, 2026
Ongoing (as reported) · Niagara Falls (C) WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
Source: Niagara Falls (C) WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2700196010101523, reported Aug 23, 2026, 5:57 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
Earlier version. A later record from the same source replaces this one. The newest version sets the map status. read the newer version
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Niagara Falls (C) WWTP (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, NY0026336). Outlet: “Pump station”. Location: 43.09920, -79.05850; location source: given in the source record.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “lower niagara river”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Niagara River, NY. Match basis: the water named in the report.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
No downstream estimate is available for this report.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- ongoing, as last reported
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- Published
- Source last updated
- not given
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system.
- Status in the record
- Ongoing (as reported)
- Material
- “Untreated”
- Volume
- 13.98 million gallons (estimated)
- Volume as reported
- “13,978,206 Gallons Estimated”
Advice from Niagara Falls (C) WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
“This alert will be updated every 24 hrs”
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know
- Source record number
- 2700196010101523
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- Read the earlier version
- Later versions
- version 2
Record details
| Record identifier | ny-dec-sprtk:2700196010101523 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | ny-dec-sprtk |
| Source record number | 2700196010101523 |
| Earlier version | ny-dec-sprtk:2691743514447514 |
| Type | Combined sewer overflow (CSO) |
| Status in the report | Ongoing (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | ny-niagara-falls-water-board |
| Sewer operator | Niagara Falls (C) WWTP |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | NY0026336 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Pump station |
| Water named in the report | lower niagara river |
| Linked waters | niagara-river-ny |
| How this report was linked to the water | the water named in the report |
| Latitude | 43.099 |
| Longitude | -79.059 |
| Location source | given in the source record |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Aug 22, 2026, 6:15 PM EDT (2026-08-22T18:15:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Not provided |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Aug 23, 2026, 5:57 PM EDT (2026-08-23T17:57:35-04:00) |
| Published | Aug 23, 2026, 5:57 PM EDT (2026-08-23T17:57:35-04:00) |
| Source last updated | Not provided |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 3:40 PM EST (2026-11-02T20:40:35Z) |
| Material | Untreated |
| Volume, in gallons | 13,978,206 |
| Volume as reported | 13,978,206 Gallons Estimated |
| How volume was determined | estimated |
| Authority | Niagara Falls (C) WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know) |
| Advice | This alert will be updated every 24 hrs |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://www.dec.ny.gov/fs/data/SPRTK_Data.xlsx |
Original source data
{
"row": {
"notificationId": "2700196010101523",
"sprtkAirDateTime": "08/23/2026 21:57:35",
"notificationStatus": "Update",
"facilityName": "Niagara Falls (C) WWTP",
"facilityId": "NY0026336",
"countyName": "Niagara",
"streetNumber": "1099",
"streetName": "whirlpool st",
"city": "niagara falls",
"addressDescription": "Pump station",
"latitude": "-79.0585",
"longitude": "43.0992",
"sprtkStartDischargeDatetime": "08/22/2026 22:15:00",
"sprtkEndDischargeDatetime": "08/24/2026 22:15:00",
"dischargeDuration": "ongoing Hours - Ongoing",
"surfaceWater": "Yes",
"receivingWaterBody": "lower niagara river",
"quantity": "13,978,206 Gallons Estimated",
"treatedState": "Untreated",
"dischargeDescription": "Rain/Ground water with sedimentation and raw sewage",
"stepsToContain": "Wet weather plan in place and it is in effect.",
"additionalInstructions": "This alert will be updated every 24 hrs",
"geoaddress": "611 Ashland Ave, Niagara Falls, NY 14301, USA",
"impactedArea": "Boat Launch,Boat Launch,Boat Launch,Boat Launch,Boat Launch,Boat Launch,Boat Launch,Boat Launch,Boat Launch,Fishing Area,Fishing Area,Fishing Area,Fishing Area,Fishing Area,Fishing Area,Fishing Area,Fishing Area,Fishing Area,Other,Other,Other,Other,Other,Other,Other,Other,Other,Park,Park,Park,Park,Park,Park,Park,Park,Park,Unknown,Unknown,Unknown,Unknown,Unknown,Unknown,Unknown,Unknown,Unknown -",
"dischargeReason": "System Capacity,System Capacity,System Capacity,System Capacity,System Capacity,System Capacity,System Capacity,System Capacity,System Capacity,System Capacity,System Capacity,System Capacity,System Capacity,System Capacity,System Capacity,Unknown,Unknown,Unknown,Unknown,Unknown,Unknown,Unknown,Unknown,Unknown,Unknown,Unknown,Unknown,Unknown,Unknown,Unknown,Weather Conditions,Weather Conditions,Weather Conditions,Weather Conditions,Weather Conditions,Weather Conditions,Weather Conditions,Weather Conditions,Weather Conditions,Weather Conditions,Weather Conditions,Weather Conditions,Weather Conditions,Weather Conditions,Weather Conditions - Rain/Ground water - System at capacity",
"systemComponent": "CSO Outfall,CSO Outfall,CSO Outfall,CSO Outfall,CSO Outfall,CSO Outfall,CSO Outfall,CSO Outfall,CSO Outfall,CSO Outfall,CSO Outfall,CSO Outfall,CSO Outfall,CSO Outfall,CSO Outfall,Other,Other,Other,Other,Other,Other,Other,Other,Other,Other,Other,Other,Other,Other,Other,Pump Station,Pump Station,Pump Station,Pump Station,Pump Station,Pump Station,Pump Station,Pump Station,Pump Station,Pump Station,Pump Station,Pump Station,Pump Station,Pump Station,Pump Station -",
"region": "9",
"sprtkDischargeWaterFlow": "Manmade",
"sprtkExplanation": "Rain/Ground water - System at capacity",
"sprtkAdditionalInstructions": "This alert will be updated every 24 hrs"
},
"_tab": "January 2026-August2026",
"_row": 5215,
"_time_basis": {
"air": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
"start": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
"end": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York"
},
"_projected_end": "2026-08-24T18:15:00-04:00",
"_projected_end_note": "NY-Alert requires an expected end time on every notice; this one is a projection, not a reported end",
"_coords": "latitude and longitude columns swapped; a street-address geocode chosen by the notifier",
"_event_type_basis": "a CSO outfall named in the system component",
"_water": {
"via": "receiving water name within New York (checked against the geocode)"
},
"_chain": {
"id": "key:NY0026336|1099 whirlpool st niagara falls|2026-08-22T22:15Z",
"basis": "facility + address + start",
"position": 2,
"of": 3,
"head": "ny-dec-sprtk:2691743514447514",
"latest": "ny-dec-sprtk:2691743514494732"
}
} Source: Niagara Falls (C) WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2700196010101523, reported Aug 23, 2026, 5:57 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.