Treatment bypass reported — Washingtonville (V) WWTP, Feb 17, 2026
Ongoing (as reported) · Washingtonville (V) WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
Source: Washingtonville (V) WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2713733746974312, reported Aug 31, 2026, 9:48 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 4:26 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Washingtonville (V) WWTP (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, NY0023671). Outlet: “cloth filter”. Location: 41.42639, -74.14368; location source: given in the source record.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “moodna”. Not linked to a mapped water.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- ongoing, as last reported
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- Published
- Source last updated
- not given
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
- Status in the record
- Ongoing (as reported)
- Material
- “Partially Treated without Disinfection”
- Volume
- 425,000 gallons (measured or verified)
- Volume as reported
- “425,000 Gallons Actual”
Advice from Washingtonville (V) WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know
- Source record number
- 2713733746974312
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- Read the earlier version
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | ny-dec-sprtk:2713733746974312 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | ny-dec-sprtk |
| Source record number | 2713733746974312 |
| Earlier version | ny-dec-sprtk:2622920958603885 |
| Type | Treatment bypass |
| Status in the report | Ongoing (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | ny-washingtonville-wwtp |
| Sewer operator | Washingtonville (V) WWTP |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | NY0023671 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | cloth filter |
| Water named in the report | moodna |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | 41.426 |
| Longitude | -74.144 |
| Location source | given in the source record |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Feb 17, 2026, 7:39 AM EST (2026-02-17T07:39:18-05:00) |
| Ended | Not provided |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Aug 31, 2026, 9:48 PM EDT (2026-08-31T21:48:54-04:00) |
| Published | Aug 31, 2026, 9:48 PM EDT (2026-08-31T21:48:54-04:00) |
| Source last updated | Not provided |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 3:40 PM EST (2026-11-02T20:40:35Z) |
| Material | Partially Treated without Disinfection |
| Volume, in gallons | 425,000 |
| Volume as reported | 425,000 Gallons Actual |
| How volume was determined | measured or verified |
| Authority | Washingtonville (V) WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://www.dec.ny.gov/fs/data/SPRTK_Data.xlsx |
Original source data
{
"row": {
"notificationId": "2713733746974312",
"sprtkAirDateTime": "09/01/2026 01:48:54",
"notificationStatus": "Update",
"facilityName": "Washingtonville (V) WWTP",
"facilityId": "NY0023671",
"countyName": "Orange",
"streetNumber": "3",
"streetName": "Walt Cole",
"city": "Washingtonville",
"addressDescription": "sewer plant",
"latitude": "-74.14368320256473",
"longitude": "41.42639472901622",
"sprtkStartDischargeDatetime": "02/17/2026 12:39:18",
"sprtkEndDischargeDatetime": "02/18/2026 04:39:27",
"dischargeDuration": "all day Hours - Ongoing",
"surfaceWater": "Yes",
"receivingWaterBody": "moodna",
"componentDescription": "cloth filter",
"quantity": "425,000 Gallons Actual",
"treatedState": "Partially Treated without Disinfection",
"stepsToContain": "gathering quotes for overhaul of filter.",
"geoaddress": "3 Walt Cole blvd",
"impactedArea": "Unknown -",
"dischargeReason": "Unknown - filter broken and in bypass",
"systemComponent": "Other - cloth filter",
"region": "3",
"sprtkDischargeWaterFlow": "Manmade",
"sprtkExplanation": "filter broken and in bypass"
},
"_tab": "January 2026-August2026",
"_row": 5390,
"_time_basis": {
"air": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
"start": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
"end": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York"
},
"_projected_end": "2026-02-17T23:39:27-05:00",
"_projected_end_note": "NY-Alert requires an expected end time on every notice; this one is a projection, not a reported end",
"_coords": "latitude and longitude columns swapped; a street-address geocode chosen by the notifier",
"_event_type_basis": "partially treated discharge (treated state)",
"_chain": {
"id": "key:NY0023671|3 walt cole washingtonville|2026-02-17T12:39Z",
"basis": "facility + address + start",
"position": 39,
"of": 39,
"head": "ny-dec-sprtk:2350482592983733",
"latest": "ny-dec-sprtk:2713733746974312",
"notices": [
{
"id": "2350482592983733",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-02-17T22:46:33-05:00"
},
{
"id": "2362886458509491",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-02-23T15:29:31-05:00"
},
{
"id": "2354159085185180",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-02-24T06:34:44-05:00"
},
{
"id": "2374912366883465",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-02-26T15:54:30-05:00"
},
{
"id": "2374259531878457",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-02-27T12:04:42-05:00"
},
{
"id": "2387110074047399",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-03-05T08:30:08-05:00"
},
{
"id": "2387110074067774",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-03-06T08:30:25-05:00"
},
{
"id": "2415869175022751",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-03-13T08:40:27-04:00"
},
{
"id": "2426211456269854",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-03-17T11:00:36-04:00"
},
{
"id": "2437172212844442",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-03-18T09:36:54-04:00"
},
{
"id": "2426211456304880",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-03-19T07:58:42-04:00"
},
{
"id": "2437172212893492",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-03-20T10:15:37-04:00"
},
{
"id": "2426211456389918",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-03-24T10:06:35-04:00"
},
{
"id": "2436588097460437",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-03-27T08:57:43-04:00"
},
{
"id": "2457513178134628",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-04-13T12:43:51-04:00"
},
{
"id": "2457238300266938",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-04-14T16:07:09-04:00"
},
{
"id": "2457513178174714",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-04-15T08:15:40-04:00"
},
{
"id": "2457238300446255",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-04-21T12:47:11-04:00"
},
{
"id": "2457547538084510",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-04-23T16:13:18-04:00"
},
{
"id": "2457307020027381",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-04-24T08:34:32-04:00"
},
{
"id": "2477888502893871",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-05-04T21:53:45-04:00"
},
{
"id": "2478060301647047",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-05-07T08:09:43-04:00"
},
{
"id": "2501493643037058",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-05-08T07:00:54-04:00"
},
{
"id": "2501493643121878",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-05-11T21:31:41-04:00"
},
{
"id": "2507403518056205",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-05-14T10:27:41-04:00"
},
{
"id": "2507437877820049",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-05-15T12:26:17-04:00"
},
{
"id": "2524617746952384",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-05-19T12:26:57-04:00"
},
{
"id": "2521697169217746",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-05-20T12:59:24-04:00"
},
{
"id": "2527641403961777",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-05-22T10:16:35-04:00"
},
{
"id": "2550353191014300",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-05-29T09:21:15-04:00"
},
{
"id": "2554373280480514",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-06-02T07:27:49-04:00"
},
{
"id": "2557912333424938",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-06-03T06:28:43-04:00"
},
{
"id": "2560729832031023",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-06-08T10:06:28-04:00"
},
{
"id": "2560729832078861",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-06-10T07:48:42-04:00"
},
{
"id": "2560798551694274",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-06-15T10:10:50-04:00"
},
{
"id": "2580074364690959",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-06-19T08:10:47-04:00"
},
{
"id": "2593509022464834",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-06-29T10:08:48-04:00"
},
{
"id": "2622920958603885",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-07-21T22:37:22-04:00"
},
{
"id": "2713733746974312",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-08-31T21:48:54-04:00"
}
],
"head_missing": "the chain's first notice in the workbook is not a New notice (earlier notices missing)"
}
} Source: Washingtonville (V) WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2713733746974312, reported Aug 31, 2026, 9:48 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.