Report not fully read reported, May 11, 2026
Ended (as reported) · Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Tidewater Regional Office
Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Tidewater Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 323480, reported May 11, 2026, 7:17 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: not named. Outlet: not stated. Location: 37.11070, -76.31941; location source: geocoded from an address or place name.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “Front Cove; Back River”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Back River, VA. Match basis: the water named in the report.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
No downstream estimate is available for this report.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- not reported
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Report not fully read
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- “sewage”
- Volume
- volume not reported (not stated whether estimated or measured)
- Volume as reported
- none
Advice from Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Tidewater Regional Office
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related
- Source record number
- 323480
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
- Note
- Some details could not be read automatically. Check the original notice.
Record details
| Record identifier | va-deq-prep:323480 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | va-deq-prep |
| Source record number | 323480 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Report not fully read |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | Not provided |
| Sewer operator | Not provided |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | Not provided |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Not provided |
| Water named in the report | Front Cove; Back River |
| Linked waters | back-river-va |
| How this report was linked to the water | the water named in the report |
| Latitude | 37.111 |
| Longitude | -76.319 |
| Location source | geocoded from an address or place name |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | May 11, 2026, 5:00 AM EDT (2026-05-11T05:00:45-04:00) |
| Ended | Not provided |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | May 11, 2026, 7:17 AM EDT (2026-05-11T07:17:45-04:00) |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Oct 22, 2026, 11:15 AM EDT (2026-10-22T11:15:30-04:00) |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 9:40 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:40:36Z) |
| Material | sewage |
| Volume, in gallons | Not provided |
| Volume as reported | Not provided |
| How volume was determined | not stated whether estimated or measured |
| Authority | Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Tidewater Regional Office |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://portal.deq.virginia.gov/v2/prep/prepReport/323480 |
Original source data
{
"report": {
"id": "323480",
"via": "api",
"incident": "2026-05-11T05:00:45",
"incident_end": null,
"received": "2026-05-11T07:17:45",
"closed": "2026-07-09T08:18:17",
"modified": "2026-10-22T11:15:30",
"date_unknown": false,
"site_name": "ADV - 419 Messick Rd - Poquoson",
"address": "419 Messick Rd Poquoson VA 23662",
"city": "Poquoson",
"zip": "23662",
"county_city": "Poquoson City",
"region": "Tidewater",
"status_text": "Closed",
"categories": [
"Pollutant Discharge from Vessel",
"Risk Tier 2"
],
"waterbody": "Front Cove",
"other_waterbody": "Back River",
"original_waterbody": null,
"water_threatened": "Y",
"low": null,
"high": null,
"unit": null,
"ssors": null,
"nrc": [],
"vdem": null,
"epa": null,
"facility_name": null,
"facility_permitted": "Y",
"responsible_company": "City of Poquoson",
"still_occurring": "Y"
},
"text": {
"incident_comment": "Made contact with Director of Parks and Recreation, the department that manages facility. City is aware of the issue and is working with last registered owner to resolve situation. Director advised they would send Fire Department to check for any leaking fluids and handle appropriately.\n\nCity completed process to transfer title for removal. DEQ was informed the vessel has been removed. UPDATE: Vessel removed from water.",
"location_comment": "Messick Point Poquoson VA City owned docks",
"closure_comment": "City of Poquoson has removed the vessel from the water. No further pollution concerns at this time."
},
"sewage": [],
"status_log": [
{
"at": "2026-05-11T00:00:00",
"type": "Correspondence Sent"
},
{
"at": "2026-05-11T00:00:00",
"type": "Phone Call"
},
{
"at": "2026-05-11T00:00:00",
"type": "Phone Call"
},
{
"at": "2026-05-11T07:17:46",
"type": "Call Received"
},
{
"at": "2026-05-11T10:58:08",
"type": "Under Investigation"
},
{
"at": "2026-05-11T10:58:09",
"type": "Assigned"
},
{
"at": "2026-07-09T08:18:17",
"type": "Closed Call/IR"
}
],
"created_in_prep": "2026-05-11T07:17:46",
"event_type_basis": "DEQ category Pollutant Discharge from Vessel, Risk Tier 2 is not a sewer-overflow category",
"permit": {
"typed_permit": null,
"deq_vpdes_links": null,
"ms4": null,
"ms4_links": null,
"basis": "none"
},
"discharger_match": {
"by_permit": null,
"by_name": null
},
"volume_basis": null,
"_ended_at_basis": null,
"_time_basis": "PReP API times are local wall-clock times with no zone, read as America/New_York. The export table stores local time + 5 h all year (decoded by subtracting 5 h); the EDMA point layer stores local time labelled as UTC (decoded by reading the UTC clock as local).",
"water_placement": {
"text": "Front Cove; Back River",
"towns": [
"Poquoson",
"Poquoson City"
],
"notes": null,
"echo_outfall": null
},
"point": {
"lat": 37.110697,
"lon": -76.319413,
"layer": "DEQ EDMA layer 175 (PReP Reports, Daily)",
"reference_point": "PG",
"note": "DEQ's geocode of the report's site address (REFERENCE_POINT 'PG'), not an outfall point",
"edma_incident": "2026-05-11T05:00:45-04:00",
"edma_received": "2026-05-11T07:17:45-04:00"
},
"attribution": "DEQ is the data source. DEQ does not certify that this data represents a complete record. This data is provided to the citizens of the Commonwealth free of charge and for informational purposes only.",
"api_url": "https://portal.deq.virginia.gov/prep/api/prepReports/323480?expand=prepStatusCode,prepUnitTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepComponentTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageCauses.prepCauseCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageImpacts.prepImpactTypeCode,prepReportReleaseSubtypes.prepReleaseSubtypeCode,prepReportPermitViews,prepOriginalReport,prepReportEvents.prepEventTypeCode,prepFipsCode.fipsRegion"
} Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Tidewater Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 323480, reported May 11, 2026, 7:17 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.