DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Virginia / Reports /

Report not fully read reported — Fairfax County DPWES Wastewater (Noman M. Cole Jr. Water Recycling Facility and collection system), Jun 1, 2026

Ended (as reported) · Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Northern Regional Office

Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Northern Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 323792, reported Jun 1, 2026, 3:26 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: Fairfax County DPWES Wastewater (Noman M. Cole Jr. Water Recycling Facility and collection system) (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, VAR051411). Outlet: not stated. Location: 38.70204, -77.20696; location source: geocoded from an address or place name.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names no water. Not linked to a mapped water.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
Published
not given
Source last updated
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Report not fully read
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
“sewage (reported as treated or partly treated)”
Volume
20 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
Volume as reported
“20 gallons”

Advice from Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Northern Regional Office

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Source and versions

Source
Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related
Source record number
323792
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None
Note
Some details could not be read automatically. Check the original notice.

Record details

Record details
Record identifierva-deq-prep:323792
Source identifierva-deq-prep
Source record number323792
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeReport not fully read
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifierva-fairfax-dpwes
Sewer operatorFairfax County DPWES Wastewater (Noman M. Cole Jr. Water Recycling Facility and collection system)
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)VAR051411
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet nameNot provided
Water named in the reportNot provided
Linked watersNot provided
How this report was linked to the waternot linked to a mapped water
Latitude38.702
Longitude-77.207
Location sourcegeocoded from an address or place name
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedJun 1, 2026, 12:30 PM EDT (2026-06-01T12:30:50-04:00)
EndedJun 1, 2026, 12:33 PM EDT (2026-06-01T12:33:50-04:00)
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceJun 1, 2026, 3:26 PM EDT (2026-06-01T15:26:34-04:00)
PublishedNot provided
Source last updatedOct 1, 2026, 10:48 AM EDT (2026-10-01T10:48:18-04:00)
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 9:40 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:40:36Z)
Materialsewage (reported as treated or partly treated)
Volume, in gallons20
Volume as reported20 gallons
How volume was determinednot stated whether estimated or measured
AuthorityVirginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Northern Regional Office
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://portal.deq.virginia.gov/v2/prep/prepReport/323792

Original source data

{
  "report": {
    "id": "323792",
    "via": "api",
    "incident": "2026-06-01T12:30:50",
    "incident_end": null,
    "received": "2026-06-01T15:26:34",
    "closed": "2026-06-15T16:42:17",
    "modified": "2026-10-01T10:48:18",
    "date_unknown": false,
    "site_name": "APW Spill - Noman Cole PCP",
    "address": "9399 Richmond Hwy",
    "city": "Lorton",
    "zip": null,
    "county_city": "Fairfax County",
    "region": "Northern",
    "status_text": "Closed",
    "categories": [
      "Unauthorized Discharge of Pollutant(s)"
    ],
    "waterbody": null,
    "other_waterbody": null,
    "original_waterbody": null,
    "water_threatened": "N",
    "low": null,
    "high": null,
    "unit": null,
    "ssors": null,
    "nrc": [],
    "vdem": null,
    "epa": null,
    "facility_name": "Noman M. Cole, Jr. Water Recycling Facility",
    "facility_permitted": "Y",
    "responsible_company": null,
    "still_occurring": "N"
  },
  "text": {
    "incident_comment": "Spill of approximately 20 gallons of APW into stormdrain.  The gate was closed and spill contained before it could reach state waters.",
    "location_comment": "S2 building, septage way at Noman M. Cole, Jr. Water Recycling Facility",
    "closure_comment": "Corrective actions taken and incident ceased."
  },
  "sewage": [
    {
      "duration_h": 0.05,
      "component": "Pipe Failure",
      "component_id": 3,
      "volume_gal": 20,
      "volume_unknown": "N",
      "wet_weather": "N",
      "treated": "Y",
      "precipitation_in": null,
      "causes": [
        "Broken Pipe"
      ],
      "impacts": [
        "Sewage on Land Surface with Potential Human Exposure"
      ],
      "corrective_action": "Gate was closed and spill was returned to the plant process.",
      "steps_taken": null,
      "component_comment": null,
      "other_cause": null
    }
  ],
  "status_log": [
    {
      "at": "2026-06-01T15:26:35",
      "type": "Call Received"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-06-01T15:40:50",
      "type": "Assigned"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-06-01T15:40:50",
      "type": "Under Investigation"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-06-05T00:00:00",
      "type": "5-Day Letter"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-06-15T16:42:17",
      "type": "Closed Call/IR"
    }
  ],
  "created_in_prep": "2026-06-01T15:26:35",
  "event_type_basis": "DEQ category Unauthorized Discharge of Pollutant(s) is not a sewer-overflow category",
  "permit": {
    "typed_permit": "VAR051411",
    "deq_vpdes_links": null,
    "ms4": null,
    "ms4_links": null,
    "basis": "permit number on the original report"
  },
  "discharger_match": {
    "by_permit": null,
    "by_name": [
      "va-fairfax-dpwes"
    ],
    "result": "by operator name in the report"
  },
  "volume_basis": "sewage report discharge volume (gallons)",
  "_ended_at_basis": "incident time + duration 0.05 h (sewage report)",
  "_time_basis": "PReP API times are local wall-clock times with no zone, read as America/New_York. The export table stores local time + 5 h all year (decoded by subtracting 5 h); the EDMA point layer stores local time labelled as UTC (decoded by reading the UTC clock as local).",
  "water_placement": {
    "text": null,
    "towns": [
      "Lorton",
      "Fairfax County"
    ],
    "notes": null,
    "echo_outfall": null
  },
  "point": {
    "lat": 38.702038,
    "lon": -77.206961,
    "layer": "DEQ EDMA layer 175 (PReP Reports, Daily)",
    "reference_point": "PG",
    "note": "DEQ's geocode of the report's site address (REFERENCE_POINT 'PG'), not an outfall point",
    "edma_incident": "2026-06-01T12:30:50-04:00",
    "edma_received": "2026-06-01T15:26:34-04:00"
  },
  "attribution": "DEQ is the data source. DEQ does not certify that this data represents a complete record. This data is provided to the citizens of the Commonwealth free of charge and for informational purposes only.",
  "api_url": "https://portal.deq.virginia.gov/prep/api/prepReports/323792?expand=prepStatusCode,prepUnitTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepComponentTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageCauses.prepCauseCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageImpacts.prepImpactTypeCode,prepReportReleaseSubtypes.prepReleaseSubtypeCode,prepReportPermitViews,prepOriginalReport,prepReportEvents.prepEventTypeCode,prepFipsCode.fipsRegion"
}

Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Northern Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 323792, reported Jun 1, 2026, 3:26 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.