DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Virginia / Reports /

Treatment bypass reported, Jun 1, 2026

Ended (as reported) · Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Blue Ridge Regional Office

Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Blue Ridge Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 323794, reported Jun 2, 2026, 7:16 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: not named (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, VA0086665). Outlet: not stated. Location: 36.78879, -80.00432; location source: geocoded from an address or place name.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “Town Creek; Outfall 001”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Smith River, VA. Match basis: the report's location, matched to the nearest tracked water.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

No downstream estimate is available for this report.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
not reported
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
Published
not given
Source last updated
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
“sewage (reported as treated or partly treated)”
Volume
28,004 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
Volume as reported
“28,004 gallons”

Advice from Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Blue Ridge Regional Office

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Status history from this report

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using this report and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-03 02:43 UTC.

Source and versions

Source
Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related
Source record number
323794
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifierva-deq-prep:323794
Source identifierva-deq-prep
Source record number323794
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeTreatment bypass
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifierNot provided
Sewer operatorNot provided
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)VA0086665
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet nameNot provided
Water named in the reportTown Creek; Outfall 001
Linked waterssmith-river-va
How this report was linked to the waterthe report's location, matched to the nearest tracked water
Latitude36.789
Longitude-80.004
Location sourcegeocoded from an address or place name
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedJun 1, 2026, 7:45 AM EDT (2026-06-01T07:45:00-04:00)
EndedNot provided
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceJun 2, 2026, 7:16 AM EDT (2026-06-02T07:16:00-04:00)
PublishedNot provided
Source last updatedJun 2, 2026, 8:19 AM EDT (2026-06-02T08:19:01-04:00)
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 9:40 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:40:36Z)
Materialsewage (reported as treated or partly treated)
Volume, in gallons28,004
Volume as reported28,004 gallons
How volume was determinednot stated whether estimated or measured
AuthorityVirginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Blue Ridge Regional Office
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://portal.deq.virginia.gov/v2/prep/prepReport/323794

Original source data

{
  "report": {
    "id": "323794",
    "via": "api",
    "incident": "2026-06-01T07:45:00",
    "incident_end": null,
    "received": "2026-06-02T07:16:00",
    "closed": "2026-06-02T08:19:01",
    "modified": "2026-06-02T08:19:01",
    "date_unknown": false,
    "site_name": "Raw water discharge - Bassett Mirror WWTP - Bassett",
    "address": "1290 Philpott Dr",
    "city": "Bassett",
    "zip": "24055",
    "county_city": "Henry County",
    "region": "Blue Ridge",
    "status_text": "Closed",
    "categories": [
      "Risk Tier Referred",
      "Unauthorized Discharge of Pollutant(s)"
    ],
    "waterbody": "Town Creek",
    "other_waterbody": "Outfall 001",
    "original_waterbody": "Smith River",
    "water_threatened": "Y",
    "low": 28004,
    "high": 28004,
    "unit": "Gallons",
    "ssors": null,
    "nrc": [],
    "vdem": null,
    "epa": null,
    "facility_name": "Bassett Mirror Company Inc - Philpott Plant",
    "facility_permitted": "Y",
    "responsible_company": null,
    "still_occurring": "N"
  },
  "text": {
    "incident_comment": "- raw water hose burst, 28,004 gal to Smith River",
    "location_comment": "1290 Philpott Dr",
    "closure_comment": "Permitted facility, 5 day letter to be sent with DMR"
  },
  "sewage": [
    {
      "duration_h": null,
      "component": "Other",
      "component_id": 7,
      "volume_gal": 28004,
      "volume_unknown": "N",
      "wet_weather": "N",
      "treated": "Y",
      "precipitation_in": null,
      "causes": [
        "Broken Pipe"
      ],
      "impacts": [
        "Discharge to State Waters"
      ],
      "corrective_action": null,
      "steps_taken": null,
      "component_comment": null,
      "other_cause": null
    }
  ],
  "status_log": [
    {
      "at": "2026-06-02T00:00:00",
      "type": "5-Day Letter"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-06-02T08:13:14",
      "type": "Call Received"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-06-02T08:13:50",
      "type": "Under Investigation"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-06-02T08:13:50",
      "type": "Assigned"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-06-02T08:19:01",
      "type": "Closed Call/IR"
    }
  ],
  "created_in_prep": "2026-06-02T08:13:14",
  "event_type_basis": "treatment-plant discharge not filed as a sanitary sewer overflow (category: Risk Tier Referred, Unauthorized Discharge of Pollutant(s))",
  "permit": {
    "typed_permit": "VA0086665",
    "deq_vpdes_links": [
      "VA0086665"
    ],
    "ms4": null,
    "ms4_links": null,
    "basis": "DEQ's VPDES link on the report"
  },
  "discharger_match": {
    "by_permit": null,
    "by_name": null
  },
  "volume_basis": "sewage report discharge volume (gallons)",
  "_ended_at_basis": null,
  "_time_basis": "PReP API times are local wall-clock times with no zone, read as America/New_York. The export table stores local time + 5 h all year (decoded by subtracting 5 h); the EDMA point layer stores local time labelled as UTC (decoded by reading the UTC clock as local).",
  "water_placement": {
    "text": "Town Creek; Outfall 001",
    "towns": [
      "Bassett",
      "Henry County"
    ],
    "notes": null,
    "echo_outfall": null
  },
  "point": {
    "lat": 36.788792,
    "lon": -80.004315,
    "layer": "DEQ EDMA layer 175 (PReP Reports, Daily)",
    "reference_point": "PG",
    "note": "DEQ's geocode of the report's site address (REFERENCE_POINT 'PG'), not an outfall point",
    "edma_incident": "2026-06-01T07:45:00-04:00",
    "edma_received": "2026-06-02T07:16:00-04:00"
  },
  "attribution": "DEQ is the data source. DEQ does not certify that this data represents a complete record. This data is provided to the citizens of the Commonwealth free of charge and for informational purposes only.",
  "api_url": "https://portal.deq.virginia.gov/prep/api/prepReports/323794?expand=prepStatusCode,prepUnitTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepComponentTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageCauses.prepCauseCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageImpacts.prepImpactTypeCode,prepReportReleaseSubtypes.prepReleaseSubtypeCode,prepReportPermitViews,prepOriginalReport,prepReportEvents.prepEventTypeCode,prepFipsCode.fipsRegion"
}

Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Blue Ridge Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 323794, reported Jun 2, 2026, 7:16 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.