Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported, May 29, 2026
Ended (as reported) · Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office
Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 323832, reported May 29, 2026, 9:35 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: not named (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, VA0064424). Outlet: not stated. Location: 36.62087, -81.14261; location source: geocoded from an address or place name.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names no water. Not linked to a mapped water.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- “untreated sewage”
- Volume
- 500 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
- Volume as reported
- “500 gallons”
Advice from Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related
- Source record number
- 323832
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | va-deq-prep:323832 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | va-deq-prep |
| Source record number | 323832 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | Not provided |
| Sewer operator | Not provided |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | VA0064424 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Not provided |
| Water named in the report | Not provided |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | 36.621 |
| Longitude | -81.143 |
| Location source | geocoded from an address or place name |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | May 29, 2026, 12:20 AM EDT (2026-05-29T00:20:00-04:00) |
| Ended | May 29, 2026, 6:30 AM EDT (2026-05-29T06:30:12-04:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | May 29, 2026, 9:35 AM EDT (2026-05-29T09:35:00-04:00) |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Jun 3, 2026, 1:45 PM EDT (2026-06-03T13:45:21-04:00) |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 9:40 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:40:36Z) |
| Material | untreated sewage |
| Volume, in gallons | 500 |
| Volume as reported | 500 gallons |
| How volume was determined | not stated whether estimated or measured |
| Authority | Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://portal.deq.virginia.gov/v2/prep/prepReport/323832 |
Original source data
{
"report": {
"id": "323832",
"via": "api",
"incident": "2026-05-29T00:20:00",
"incident_end": null,
"received": "2026-05-29T09:35:00",
"closed": "2026-06-03T13:45:22",
"modified": "2026-06-03T13:45:21",
"date_unknown": false,
"site_name": "SSO - Town of Independence - Independence WWTP - East Main Street Manhole",
"address": "East Main Street",
"city": "Independence",
"zip": null,
"county_city": "Grayson County",
"region": "Southwest",
"status_text": "Closed",
"categories": [
"Sanitary Sewer Overflow"
],
"waterbody": null,
"other_waterbody": null,
"original_waterbody": null,
"water_threatened": "N",
"low": null,
"high": null,
"unit": null,
"ssors": null,
"nrc": [],
"vdem": null,
"epa": null,
"facility_name": "Independence STP",
"facility_permitted": "Y",
"responsible_company": "Town of Independence",
"still_occurring": "N"
},
"text": {
"incident_comment": "On May 29, 2026, [name removed], with the Town of Independence, provided email notification reporting a manhole overflow that occurred on East Main Street at the Food City Gas and Go on May 29, 2026. The overflow was due to a clogged sewer main. The overflow was first discovered at 12:20am and was stopped at 6:30am the same day. The overflow did not reach any streams. The estimated amount of the overflow was 500 gallons. A BOD sample was collected, and the pH of the sample was 5.4. The incident was closed on June 3, 2026.",
"location_comment": "East Main Street, Independence, VA",
"closure_comment": "The overflow stopped on May 29, 2026, and the 5-day written report was provided via email on May 29, 2026, should further action be needed it will be taken by DEQ SWRO Water Compliance section staff"
},
"sewage": [
{
"duration_h": 6.17,
"component": "Manhole",
"component_id": 1,
"volume_gal": 500,
"volume_unknown": "N",
"wet_weather": "N",
"treated": "N",
"precipitation_in": null,
"causes": [
"Blockage"
],
"impacts": [
"Sewage on Land Surface with Potential Human Exposure"
],
"corrective_action": "Overflow due to clogged line. Blockage was removed.",
"steps_taken": null,
"component_comment": null,
"other_cause": null
}
],
"status_log": [
{
"at": "2026-05-29T00:00:00",
"type": "5-Day Letter"
},
{
"at": "2026-06-03T12:51:55",
"type": "Call Received"
},
{
"at": "2026-06-03T12:53:26",
"type": "Under Investigation"
},
{
"at": "2026-06-03T12:53:26",
"type": "Assigned"
},
{
"at": "2026-06-03T13:45:22",
"type": "Closed Call/IR"
}
],
"created_in_prep": "2026-06-03T12:51:55",
"event_type_basis": "DEQ category Sanitary Sewer Overflow",
"permit": {
"typed_permit": "VA0064424",
"deq_vpdes_links": [
"VA0064424"
],
"ms4": null,
"ms4_links": null,
"basis": "DEQ's VPDES link on the report"
},
"discharger_match": {
"by_permit": null,
"by_name": null
},
"volume_basis": "sewage report discharge volume (gallons)",
"_ended_at_basis": "incident time + duration 6.17 h (sewage report)",
"_time_basis": "PReP API times are local wall-clock times with no zone, read as America/New_York. The export table stores local time + 5 h all year (decoded by subtracting 5 h); the EDMA point layer stores local time labelled as UTC (decoded by reading the UTC clock as local).",
"water_placement": {
"text": null,
"towns": [
"Independence",
"Grayson County"
],
"notes": null,
"echo_outfall": null
},
"point": {
"lat": 36.620868,
"lon": -81.142609,
"layer": "DEQ EDMA layer 175 (PReP Reports, Daily)",
"reference_point": "PG",
"note": "DEQ's geocode of the report's site address (REFERENCE_POINT 'PG'), not an outfall point",
"edma_incident": "2026-05-29T00:20:00-04:00",
"edma_received": "2026-05-29T09:35:00-04:00"
},
"attribution": "DEQ is the data source. DEQ does not certify that this data represents a complete record. This data is provided to the citizens of the Commonwealth free of charge and for informational purposes only.",
"api_url": "https://portal.deq.virginia.gov/prep/api/prepReports/323832?expand=prepStatusCode,prepUnitTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepComponentTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageCauses.prepCauseCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageImpacts.prepImpactTypeCode,prepReportReleaseSubtypes.prepReleaseSubtypeCode,prepReportPermitViews,prepOriginalReport,prepReportEvents.prepEventTypeCode,prepFipsCode.fipsRegion"
} Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 323832, reported May 29, 2026, 9:35 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.