DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Virginia / Reports /

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported, May 15, 2026

Ended (as reported) · Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Valley Regional Office

Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Valley Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 323925, reported May 15, 2026, 1:30 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: not named (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, VA0083291). Outlet: not stated. Location: 37.95693, -78.65780; location source: geocoded from an address or place name.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names no water. Not linked to a mapped water.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
not reported
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the day only
Reported to the source
Published
not given
Source last updated
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
“sewage”
Volume
400 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
Volume as reported
“400 gallons”

Advice from Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Valley Regional Office

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Source and versions

Source
Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related
Source record number
323925
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifierva-deq-prep:323925
Source identifierva-deq-prep
Source record number323925
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeSanitary sewer overflow (SSO)
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifierNot provided
Sewer operatorNot provided
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)VA0083291
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet nameNot provided
Water named in the reportNot provided
Linked watersNot provided
How this report was linked to the waternot linked to a mapped water
Latitude37.957
Longitude-78.658
Location sourcegeocoded from an address or place name
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedMay 15, 2026 (2026-05-15T00:00:00-04:00)
EndedNot provided
Detail provided by the sourceto the day only
Reported to the sourceMay 15, 2026 (2026-05-15T13:30:00-04:00)
PublishedNot provided
Source last updatedJun 18, 2026 (2026-06-18T13:10:52-04:00)
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 9:40 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:40:36Z)
Materialsewage
Volume, in gallons400
Volume as reported400 gallons
How volume was determinednot stated whether estimated or measured
AuthorityVirginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Valley Regional Office
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://portal.deq.virginia.gov/v2/prep/prepReport/323925

Original source data

{
  "report": {
    "id": "323925",
    "via": "api",
    "incident": "2026-05-15T00:00:00",
    "incident_end": null,
    "received": "2026-05-15T13:30:00",
    "closed": "2026-06-10T09:53:35",
    "modified": "2026-06-18T13:10:52",
    "date_unknown": false,
    "site_name": "UD-North Garden LLC-Crossroads Village Center STP-Plank Road",
    "address": "4916 Plank Rd",
    "city": "North Garden",
    "zip": null,
    "county_city": "Albemarle County",
    "region": "Valley",
    "status_text": "Closed",
    "categories": [
      "Sanitary Sewer Overflow"
    ],
    "waterbody": null,
    "other_waterbody": null,
    "original_waterbody": null,
    "water_threatened": "Y",
    "low": 150,
    "high": 400,
    "unit": "Gallons",
    "ssors": null,
    "nrc": [],
    "vdem": null,
    "epa": null,
    "facility_name": "Crossroads Village Center STP",
    "facility_permitted": "Y",
    "responsible_company": "North Garden, LLC",
    "still_occurring": "N"
  },
  "text": {
    "incident_comment": "Unusual discharge at plant of partially treated, high solids wastewater to receiving stream. Approx 150-400 gallons discharged. \nUpon arrival for biweekly ORC checks, Retaw operator discovered grayish looking effluent in the contact tank flowing out to the outfall. Owner was notified and the owner indicated that the facility was shut down the past 3 days due to a failure of hte lift station which was repaired on 5/15/26. Discharge was immediately stopped upon discovery and did not continue as owner was instructed by the ORC to pump and haul.",
    "location_comment": "4916 Plank Rd",
    "closure_comment": null
  },
  "sewage": [
    {
      "duration_h": 2,
      "component": null,
      "component_id": null,
      "volume_gal": 400,
      "volume_unknown": null,
      "wet_weather": "N",
      "treated": null,
      "precipitation_in": null,
      "causes": [
        "Other"
      ],
      "impacts": [
        "Discharge to State Waters"
      ],
      "corrective_action": "Discharge stopped. Pump and haul completed.",
      "steps_taken": null,
      "component_comment": null,
      "other_cause": null
    }
  ],
  "status_log": [
    {
      "at": "2026-05-15T00:00:00",
      "type": "5-Day Letter"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-06-10T09:48:20",
      "type": "Call Received"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-06-10T09:48:29",
      "type": "Assigned"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-06-10T09:48:29",
      "type": "Under Investigation"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-06-10T09:53:35",
      "type": "Closed Call/IR"
    }
  ],
  "created_in_prep": "2026-06-10T09:48:20",
  "event_type_basis": "DEQ category Sanitary Sewer Overflow",
  "permit": {
    "typed_permit": "VA0083291",
    "deq_vpdes_links": [
      "VA0083291"
    ],
    "ms4": null,
    "ms4_links": null,
    "basis": "DEQ's VPDES link on the report"
  },
  "discharger_match": {
    "by_permit": null,
    "by_name": null
  },
  "volume_basis": "sewage report discharge volume (gallons)",
  "_ended_at_basis": null,
  "_time_basis": "PReP API times are local wall-clock times with no zone, read as America/New_York. The export table stores local time + 5 h all year (decoded by subtracting 5 h); the EDMA point layer stores local time labelled as UTC (decoded by reading the UTC clock as local).",
  "water_placement": {
    "text": null,
    "towns": [
      "North Garden",
      "Albemarle County"
    ],
    "notes": null,
    "echo_outfall": null
  },
  "point": {
    "lat": 37.956934,
    "lon": -78.657799,
    "layer": "DEQ EDMA layer 175 (PReP Reports, Daily)",
    "reference_point": "PG",
    "note": "DEQ's geocode of the report's site address (REFERENCE_POINT 'PG'), not an outfall point",
    "edma_incident": "2026-05-15T00:00:00-04:00",
    "edma_received": "2026-05-15T13:30:00-04:00"
  },
  "attribution": "DEQ is the data source. DEQ does not certify that this data represents a complete record. This data is provided to the citizens of the Commonwealth free of charge and for informational purposes only.",
  "api_url": "https://portal.deq.virginia.gov/prep/api/prepReports/323925?expand=prepStatusCode,prepUnitTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepComponentTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageCauses.prepCauseCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageImpacts.prepImpactTypeCode,prepReportReleaseSubtypes.prepReleaseSubtypeCode,prepReportPermitViews,prepOriginalReport,prepReportEvents.prepEventTypeCode,prepFipsCode.fipsRegion"
}

Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Valley Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 323925, reported May 15, 2026, 1:30 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.