Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported, Jun 3, 2026
Ended (as reported) · Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Valley Regional Office
Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Valley Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 323933, reported Jun 3, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: not named. Outlet: not stated. Location: 38.44016, -78.89801; location source: geocoded from an address or place name.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names no water. Not linked to a mapped water.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- not reported
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- “sewage”
- Volume
- volume not reported (not stated whether estimated or measured)
- Volume as reported
- none
Advice from Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Valley Regional Office
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related
- Source record number
- 323933
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | va-deq-prep:323933 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | va-deq-prep |
| Source record number | 323933 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | Not provided |
| Sewer operator | Not provided |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | Not provided |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Not provided |
| Water named in the report | Not provided |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | 38.44 |
| Longitude | -78.898 |
| Location source | geocoded from an address or place name |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Jun 3, 2026, 10:30 AM EDT (2026-06-03T10:30:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Not provided |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Jun 3, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT (2026-06-03T00:00:00-04:00) |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Jun 18, 2026, 1:11 PM EDT (2026-06-18T13:11:23-04:00) |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 9:40 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:40:36Z) |
| Material | sewage |
| Volume, in gallons | Not provided |
| Volume as reported | Not provided |
| How volume was determined | not stated whether estimated or measured |
| Authority | Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Valley Regional Office |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://portal.deq.virginia.gov/v2/prep/prepReport/323933 |
Original source data
{
"report": {
"id": "323933",
"via": "api",
"incident": "2026-06-03T10:30:00",
"incident_end": null,
"received": "2026-06-03T00:00:00",
"closed": "2026-06-10T14:34:14",
"modified": "2026-06-18T13:11:23",
"date_unknown": false,
"site_name": "SSO-Unpermitted-City of Harrisonburg-Hillandale Avenue",
"address": "512 Hillandale Ave",
"city": "Harrisonburg",
"zip": null,
"county_city": "Harrisonburg City",
"region": "Valley",
"status_text": "Closed",
"categories": [
"Sanitary Sewer Overflow"
],
"waterbody": null,
"other_waterbody": null,
"original_waterbody": null,
"water_threatened": "N",
"low": null,
"high": null,
"unit": null,
"ssors": null,
"nrc": [],
"vdem": null,
"epa": null,
"facility_name": null,
"facility_permitted": "N",
"responsible_company": "City of Harrisonburg",
"still_occurring": "N"
},
"text": {
"incident_comment": "SSO at MH 21/3 due to a root blockage. The quantity of the overflow was small but unknown and the clear liquid wetted only the ground surface around the manhole and was absorbed into the ground without reached state waters",
"location_comment": "512 Hillandale Ave\nMH 21/3",
"closure_comment": "No discharge to state waters.\nMinor amount of clear liquid absorbed into ground."
},
"sewage": [
{
"duration_h": null,
"component": "Manhole",
"component_id": 1,
"volume_gal": null,
"volume_unknown": "Y",
"wet_weather": "Y",
"treated": null,
"precipitation_in": null,
"causes": [
"Blockage"
],
"impacts": [],
"corrective_action": "Liquid absorbed into ground, as a result, no clean-up efforts were required. \nStaff jet flushed the line to remove the restriction and restore normal flow.",
"steps_taken": null,
"component_comment": null,
"other_cause": null
}
],
"status_log": [
{
"at": "2026-06-03T00:00:00",
"type": "5-Day Letter"
},
{
"at": "2026-06-10T14:30:35",
"type": "Call Received"
},
{
"at": "2026-06-10T14:31:21",
"type": "Assigned"
},
{
"at": "2026-06-10T14:31:21",
"type": "Under Investigation"
},
{
"at": "2026-06-10T14:34:14",
"type": "Closed Call/IR"
}
],
"created_in_prep": "2026-06-10T14:30:35",
"event_type_basis": "DEQ category Sanitary Sewer Overflow",
"permit": {
"typed_permit": null,
"deq_vpdes_links": null,
"ms4": null,
"ms4_links": null,
"basis": "none"
},
"discharger_match": {
"by_permit": null,
"by_name": null
},
"volume_basis": null,
"_ended_at_basis": null,
"_time_basis": "PReP API times are local wall-clock times with no zone, read as America/New_York. The export table stores local time + 5 h all year (decoded by subtracting 5 h); the EDMA point layer stores local time labelled as UTC (decoded by reading the UTC clock as local).",
"water_placement": {
"text": null,
"towns": [
"Harrisonburg",
"Harrisonburg City"
],
"notes": null,
"echo_outfall": null
},
"point": {
"lat": 38.440162,
"lon": -78.898007,
"layer": "DEQ EDMA layer 175 (PReP Reports, Daily)",
"reference_point": "PG",
"note": "DEQ's geocode of the report's site address (REFERENCE_POINT 'PG'), not an outfall point",
"edma_incident": "2026-06-03T10:30:00-04:00",
"edma_received": "2026-06-03T00:00:00-04:00"
},
"attribution": "DEQ is the data source. DEQ does not certify that this data represents a complete record. This data is provided to the citizens of the Commonwealth free of charge and for informational purposes only.",
"api_url": "https://portal.deq.virginia.gov/prep/api/prepReports/323933?expand=prepStatusCode,prepUnitTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepComponentTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageCauses.prepCauseCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageImpacts.prepImpactTypeCode,prepReportReleaseSubtypes.prepReleaseSubtypeCode,prepReportPermitViews,prepOriginalReport,prepReportEvents.prepEventTypeCode,prepFipsCode.fipsRegion"
} Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Valley Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 323933, reported Jun 3, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.