Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported, Jun 9, 2026
Ended (as reported) · Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office
Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 323936, reported Jun 10, 2026, 11:12 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: not named (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, VA0029564). Outlet: not stated. Location: 36.71150, -82.79621; location source: geocoded from an address or place name.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “North Fork Clinch River”. Not linked to a mapped water. name match too far (6.9 km)
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- “untreated sewage”
- Volume
- 100,000 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
- Volume as reported
- “100,000 gallons”
Advice from Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related
- Source record number
- 323936
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | va-deq-prep:323936 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | va-deq-prep |
| Source record number | 323936 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | Not provided |
| Sewer operator | Not provided |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | VA0029564 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Not provided |
| Water named in the report | North Fork Clinch River |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | 36.711 |
| Longitude | -82.796 |
| Location source | geocoded from an address or place name |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Jun 9, 2026, 5:00 PM EDT (2026-06-09T17:00:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Jun 10, 2026, 7:00 AM EDT (2026-06-10T07:00:00-04:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Jun 10, 2026, 11:12 AM EDT (2026-06-10T11:12:00-04:00) |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Jun 11, 2026, 3:08 PM EDT (2026-06-11T15:08:26-04:00) |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 9:40 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:40:36Z) |
| Material | untreated sewage |
| Volume, in gallons | 100,000 |
| Volume as reported | 100,000 gallons |
| How volume was determined | not stated whether estimated or measured |
| Authority | Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://portal.deq.virginia.gov/v2/prep/prepReport/323936 |
Original source data
{
"report": {
"id": "323936",
"via": "api",
"incident": "2026-06-09T17:00:00",
"incident_end": null,
"received": "2026-06-10T11:12:00",
"closed": "2026-06-11T15:08:26",
"modified": "2026-06-11T15:08:26",
"date_unknown": false,
"site_name": "SSO - Scott County PSA - Duffield Industrial Park WWTP - Duffield Main Lift Station",
"address": "293 Duff Patt Highway",
"city": "Duffield",
"zip": "24244",
"county_city": "Scott County",
"region": "Southwest",
"status_text": "Closed",
"categories": [
"Sanitary Sewer Overflow"
],
"waterbody": "North Fork Clinch River",
"other_waterbody": null,
"original_waterbody": "North Fork Clinch River",
"water_threatened": "Y",
"low": 1,
"high": 100000,
"unit": "Gallons",
"ssors": null,
"nrc": [],
"vdem": null,
"epa": null,
"facility_name": "Duffield Industrial Park WWTP",
"facility_permitted": "Y",
"responsible_company": "Scott County PSA",
"still_occurring": "N"
},
"text": {
"incident_comment": "On June 10, 2026, the Scott County PSA provided email notification stating there was an overflow on June 9, 2026, at the main lift station for the Duffueld STP. The overflow started on or around 5:00pm on June 9th and stopped at 7:00am June 10th. The pumps were turned off for electrical box inspection and then the pumps failed to start back which caused the overflow. An estimated 100,000 gallons entered the North Fork of Clinch River. Once the issue was noticed, the pumps were turned back on stopping the overflow. SCADA failed to alert the plant and operators of the pump issue and actions are being taken to correct the SCADA system. The incident was closed on June 11, 2026.",
"location_comment": "293 Duff Patt Highway, Duffield, VA 24244",
"closure_comment": "The overflow stopped on June 10, 2026, and the 5-day written report was provided via email on June 10, 2026, should further action be needed it will be taken by DEQ SWRO Water Compliance section staff"
},
"sewage": [
{
"duration_h": 14,
"component": "Pump Station",
"component_id": 11,
"volume_gal": 100000,
"volume_unknown": "N",
"wet_weather": "N",
"treated": "N",
"precipitation_in": null,
"causes": [
"Pump Station"
],
"impacts": [
"Discharge to State Waters"
],
"corrective_action": "Overflow was due to pumps being turned off for electrical box inspection and pumps failed to start back. Actions taken to stop the overflow were to turn the pumps back on.",
"steps_taken": null,
"component_comment": null,
"other_cause": null
}
],
"status_log": [
{
"at": "2026-06-10T00:00:00",
"type": "5-Day Letter"
},
{
"at": "2026-06-10T16:22:14",
"type": "Call Received"
},
{
"at": "2026-06-10T16:22:57",
"type": "Under Investigation"
},
{
"at": "2026-06-10T16:22:57",
"type": "Assigned"
},
{
"at": "2026-06-11T15:08:26",
"type": "Closed Call/IR"
}
],
"created_in_prep": "2026-06-10T16:22:14",
"event_type_basis": "DEQ category Sanitary Sewer Overflow",
"permit": {
"typed_permit": "VA0029564",
"deq_vpdes_links": [
"VA0029564"
],
"ms4": null,
"ms4_links": null,
"basis": "DEQ's VPDES link on the report"
},
"discharger_match": {
"by_permit": null,
"by_name": null
},
"volume_basis": "sewage report discharge volume (gallons)",
"_ended_at_basis": "incident time + duration 14 h (sewage report)",
"_time_basis": "PReP API times are local wall-clock times with no zone, read as America/New_York. The export table stores local time + 5 h all year (decoded by subtracting 5 h); the EDMA point layer stores local time labelled as UTC (decoded by reading the UTC clock as local).",
"water_placement": {
"text": "North Fork Clinch River",
"towns": [
"Duffield",
"Scott County"
],
"notes": [
"'clinch river' preceded by 'north fork': a different water, not used"
],
"echo_outfall": null
},
"point": {
"lat": 36.711497,
"lon": -82.796206,
"layer": "DEQ EDMA layer 175 (PReP Reports, Daily)",
"reference_point": "PG",
"note": "DEQ's geocode of the report's site address (REFERENCE_POINT 'PG'), not an outfall point",
"edma_incident": "2026-06-09T17:00:00-04:00",
"edma_received": "2026-06-10T11:12:00-04:00"
},
"attribution": "DEQ is the data source. DEQ does not certify that this data represents a complete record. This data is provided to the citizens of the Commonwealth free of charge and for informational purposes only.",
"api_url": "https://portal.deq.virginia.gov/prep/api/prepReports/323936?expand=prepStatusCode,prepUnitTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepComponentTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageCauses.prepCauseCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageImpacts.prepImpactTypeCode,prepReportReleaseSubtypes.prepReleaseSubtypeCode,prepReportPermitViews,prepOriginalReport,prepReportEvents.prepEventTypeCode,prepFipsCode.fipsRegion"
} Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 323936, reported Jun 10, 2026, 11:12 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.