Treatment bypass reported, Jun 23, 2026
Ended (as reported) · Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Northern Regional Office
Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Northern Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 324096, reported Jun 24, 2026, 10:07 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: not named (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, VA0020974). Outlet: not stated. Location: 39.13782, -77.66341; location source: geocoded from an address or place name.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “Catoctin Creek; Outfall 001: Catoctin Creek, South Fork, UT”. Not linked to a mapped water. name match too far (9.3 km)
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- not reported
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- “untreated sewage”
- Volume
- volume not reported (not stated whether estimated or measured)
- Volume as reported
- none
Advice from Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Northern Regional Office
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related
- Source record number
- 324096
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | va-deq-prep:324096 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | va-deq-prep |
| Source record number | 324096 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Treatment bypass |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | Not provided |
| Sewer operator | Not provided |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | VA0020974 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Not provided |
| Water named in the report | Catoctin Creek; Outfall 001: Catoctin Creek, South Fork, UT |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | 39.138 |
| Longitude | -77.663 |
| Location source | geocoded from an address or place name |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Jun 23, 2026, 3:15 PM EDT (2026-06-23T15:15:26-04:00) |
| Ended | Not provided |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Jun 24, 2026, 10:07 AM EDT (2026-06-24T10:07:15-04:00) |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Sep 28, 2026, 10:56 AM EDT (2026-09-28T10:56:36-04:00) |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 9:40 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:40:36Z) |
| Material | untreated sewage |
| Volume, in gallons | Not provided |
| Volume as reported | Not provided |
| How volume was determined | not stated whether estimated or measured |
| Authority | Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Northern Regional Office |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://portal.deq.virginia.gov/v2/prep/prepReport/324096 |
Original source data
{
"report": {
"id": "324096",
"via": "api",
"incident": "2026-06-23T15:15:26",
"incident_end": null,
"received": "2026-06-24T10:07:15",
"closed": "2026-09-28T10:56:36",
"modified": "2026-09-28T10:56:36",
"date_unknown": false,
"site_name": "Solids Loss - Town of Hamilton STP - N Rodgers St",
"address": "104 N Rodgers st",
"city": "Hamilton",
"zip": "20159",
"county_city": "Loudoun County",
"region": "Northern",
"status_text": "Closed",
"categories": [
"Risk Tier Referred",
"Unauthorized Discharge of Pollutant(s)"
],
"waterbody": "Catoctin Creek",
"other_waterbody": "Outfall 001: Catoctin Creek, South Fork, UT",
"original_waterbody": null,
"water_threatened": "Y",
"low": 1,
"high": -1,
"unit": "Unknown",
"ssors": null,
"nrc": [],
"vdem": null,
"epa": null,
"facility_name": "Town of Hamilton STP",
"facility_permitted": "Y",
"responsible_company": "Inboden Environmental Services",
"still_occurring": "N"
},
"text": {
"incident_comment": "DEQ staff observed solids leaving the facility on a CEI inspection conducted on 6/24/2026. See Inspection Report for further details.",
"location_comment": "Town of Hamilton STP UV channel, outfall",
"closure_comment": "DEQ staff sent a CEI inspection report on 8-25-2026. The facility responded to the request for corrective action on 9-22-2026. See these documents for further details."
},
"sewage": [
{
"duration_h": null,
"component": "Other",
"component_id": 7,
"volume_gal": null,
"volume_unknown": "Y",
"wet_weather": "N",
"treated": "N",
"precipitation_in": null,
"causes": [],
"impacts": [],
"corrective_action": "Refer to corrective action taken from the CEI inspection report submitted by the facility on 9-22-2026 for further details.",
"steps_taken": null,
"component_comment": "Wastewater Treatment Plant",
"other_cause": null
}
],
"status_log": [
{
"at": "2026-06-24T10:07:16",
"type": "Call Received"
},
{
"at": "2026-06-24T10:15:31",
"type": "Program Participant Assigned"
},
{
"at": "2026-06-24T10:15:43",
"type": "Program Participant Assigned"
},
{
"at": "2026-06-24T10:17:29",
"type": "Assigned"
},
{
"at": "2026-06-24T10:17:29",
"type": "Under Investigation"
},
{
"at": "2026-09-28T10:56:36",
"type": "Closed Call/IR"
}
],
"created_in_prep": "2026-06-24T10:07:16",
"event_type_basis": "treatment-plant discharge not filed as a sanitary sewer overflow (category: Risk Tier Referred, Unauthorized Discharge of Pollutant(s))",
"permit": {
"typed_permit": "VA0020974",
"deq_vpdes_links": [
"VA0020974"
],
"ms4": null,
"ms4_links": null,
"basis": "DEQ's VPDES link on the report"
},
"discharger_match": {
"by_permit": null,
"by_name": null
},
"volume_basis": null,
"_ended_at_basis": null,
"_time_basis": "PReP API times are local wall-clock times with no zone, read as America/New_York. The export table stores local time + 5 h all year (decoded by subtracting 5 h); the EDMA point layer stores local time labelled as UTC (decoded by reading the UTC clock as local).",
"water_placement": {
"text": "Catoctin Creek; Outfall 001: Catoctin Creek, South Fork, UT",
"towns": [
"Hamilton",
"Loudoun County"
],
"notes": [
"'catoctin creek': the point is not near any of the 1 Virginia waters with this name: not used",
"'catoctin creek': the point is not near any of the 1 Virginia waters with this name: not used"
],
"echo_outfall": null
},
"point": {
"lat": 39.137815,
"lon": -77.663414,
"layer": "DEQ EDMA layer 175 (PReP Reports, Daily)",
"reference_point": "PG",
"note": "DEQ's geocode of the report's site address (REFERENCE_POINT 'PG'), not an outfall point",
"edma_incident": "2026-06-23T15:15:26-04:00",
"edma_received": "2026-06-24T10:07:15-04:00"
},
"attribution": "DEQ is the data source. DEQ does not certify that this data represents a complete record. This data is provided to the citizens of the Commonwealth free of charge and for informational purposes only.",
"api_url": "https://portal.deq.virginia.gov/prep/api/prepReports/324096?expand=prepStatusCode,prepUnitTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepComponentTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageCauses.prepCauseCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageImpacts.prepImpactTypeCode,prepReportReleaseSubtypes.prepReleaseSubtypeCode,prepReportPermitViews,prepOriginalReport,prepReportEvents.prepEventTypeCode,prepFipsCode.fipsRegion"
} Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Northern Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 324096, reported Jun 24, 2026, 10:07 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.