Report not fully read reported — Hampton Roads Sanitation District (HRSD), Jul 20, 2026
Ended (as reported) · Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Tidewater Regional Office
Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Tidewater Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 324466, reported Jul 20, 2026, 2:20 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Hampton Roads Sanitation District (HRSD) (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, VA0081272). Outlet: not stated. Location: 37.08415, -76.53180; location source: geocoded from an address or place name.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names no water. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to James River, VA. Match basis: the report's location, matched to the nearest tracked water.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
No downstream estimate is available for this report.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- not reported
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Report not fully read
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- “sewage (reported as treated or partly treated)”
- Volume
- 198,000 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
- Volume as reported
- “198,000 gallons”
Advice from Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Tidewater Regional Office
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related
- Source record number
- 324466
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
- Note
- Some details could not be read automatically. Check the original notice.
Record details
| Record identifier | va-deq-prep:324466 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | va-deq-prep |
| Source record number | 324466 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Report not fully read |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | va-hrsd |
| Sewer operator | Hampton Roads Sanitation District (HRSD) |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | VA0081272 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Not provided |
| Water named in the report | Not provided |
| Linked waters | james-river-va |
| How this report was linked to the water | the report's location, matched to the nearest tracked water |
| Latitude | 37.084 |
| Longitude | -76.532 |
| Location source | geocoded from an address or place name |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Jul 20, 2026, 5:37 AM EDT (2026-07-20T05:37:33-04:00) |
| Ended | Not provided |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Jul 20, 2026, 2:20 PM EDT (2026-07-20T14:20:56-04:00) |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Jul 27, 2026, 10:06 AM EDT (2026-07-27T10:06:27-04:00) |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 9:40 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:40:36Z) |
| Material | sewage (reported as treated or partly treated) |
| Volume, in gallons | 198,000 |
| Volume as reported | 198,000 gallons |
| How volume was determined | not stated whether estimated or measured |
| Authority | Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Tidewater Regional Office |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://portal.deq.virginia.gov/v2/prep/prepReport/324466 |
Original source data
{
"report": {
"id": "324466",
"via": "api",
"incident": "2026-07-20T05:37:33",
"incident_end": null,
"received": "2026-07-20T14:20:56",
"closed": "2026-07-27T10:06:27",
"modified": "2026-07-27T10:06:27",
"date_unknown": false,
"site_name": "SCE Release - 111 City Farm Rd - Newport News",
"address": "111 City Farm Rd",
"city": "Newport News",
"zip": "23602",
"county_city": "Newport News City",
"region": "Tidewater",
"status_text": "Closed",
"categories": [
"Pollutant Discharge to Land",
"Risk Tier 2"
],
"waterbody": null,
"other_waterbody": null,
"original_waterbody": null,
"water_threatened": "N",
"low": null,
"high": null,
"unit": null,
"ssors": null,
"nrc": [],
"vdem": null,
"epa": null,
"facility_name": "HRSD - James River STP",
"facility_permitted": "Y",
"responsible_company": null,
"still_occurring": "N"
},
"text": {
"incident_comment": "DEQ received a report stating, Approximately 198,000 gal of secondary clarifier effluent (SCE) soaked into the ground when a storm-related power outage on Sunday caused a gate to automatically close. This gate had been manually locked in the open position, but contractors unlocked it on Friday and failed to restore the locked-open position after testing, which created the condition for the SCE backup and overflow.\n\n5 Day Letter received.",
"location_comment": "HRSD - James River STP",
"closure_comment": "Report tracked under VPDES Compliance/Permitting. No further action at this time."
},
"sewage": [
{
"duration_h": null,
"component": "Other",
"component_id": 7,
"volume_gal": 198000,
"volume_unknown": "N",
"wet_weather": "N",
"treated": "Y",
"precipitation_in": null,
"causes": [
"Other"
],
"impacts": [
"Sewage on Land Surface with Potential Human Exposure"
],
"corrective_action": "Approximately 198,000 gal of secondary clarifier effluent (SCE) soaked into the ground when a storm-related power outage on Sunday caused a gate to automatically close. This gate had been manually locked in the open position, but contractors unlocked it on Friday and failed to restore the locked-open position after testing, which created the condition for the SCE backup and overflow.",
"steps_taken": null,
"component_comment": "Wastewater treatment unit",
"other_cause": null
}
],
"status_log": [
{
"at": "2026-07-20T14:20:56",
"type": "Call Received"
},
{
"at": "2026-07-27T10:04:09",
"type": "Under Investigation"
},
{
"at": "2026-07-27T10:04:09",
"type": "Assigned"
},
{
"at": "2026-07-27T10:06:27",
"type": "Closed Call/IR"
}
],
"created_in_prep": "2026-07-20T14:20:56",
"event_type_basis": "DEQ category Pollutant Discharge to Land, Risk Tier 2 is not a sewer-overflow category",
"permit": {
"typed_permit": "VA0081272",
"deq_vpdes_links": [
"VA0081272"
],
"ms4": null,
"ms4_links": null,
"basis": "DEQ's VPDES link on the report"
},
"discharger_match": {
"by_permit": "va-hrsd",
"by_name": [
"va-hrsd"
],
"result": "by permit"
},
"volume_basis": "sewage report discharge volume (gallons)",
"_ended_at_basis": null,
"_time_basis": "PReP API times are local wall-clock times with no zone, read as America/New_York. The export table stores local time + 5 h all year (decoded by subtracting 5 h); the EDMA point layer stores local time labelled as UTC (decoded by reading the UTC clock as local).",
"water_placement": {
"text": null,
"towns": [
"Newport News",
"Newport News City"
],
"notes": null,
"echo_outfall": null
},
"point": {
"lat": 37.084147,
"lon": -76.531796,
"layer": "DEQ EDMA layer 175 (PReP Reports, Daily)",
"reference_point": "PG",
"note": "DEQ's geocode of the report's site address (REFERENCE_POINT 'PG'), not an outfall point",
"edma_incident": "2026-07-20T05:37:33-04:00",
"edma_received": "2026-07-20T14:20:56-04:00"
},
"attribution": "DEQ is the data source. DEQ does not certify that this data represents a complete record. This data is provided to the citizens of the Commonwealth free of charge and for informational purposes only.",
"api_url": "https://portal.deq.virginia.gov/prep/api/prepReports/324466?expand=prepStatusCode,prepUnitTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepComponentTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageCauses.prepCauseCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageImpacts.prepImpactTypeCode,prepReportReleaseSubtypes.prepReleaseSubtypeCode,prepReportPermitViews,prepOriginalReport,prepReportEvents.prepEventTypeCode,prepFipsCode.fipsRegion"
} Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Tidewater Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 324466, reported Jul 20, 2026, 2:20 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.