DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Virginia / Reports /

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported, Jul 21, 2026

Ended (as reported) · Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Northern Regional Office

Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Northern Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 324508, reported Jul 21, 2026, 2:15 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: not named (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, VA0025101). Outlet: not stated. Location: 38.67960, -77.29585; location source: geocoded from an address or place name.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “Hooes Run; UT of Hooes Run”. Not linked to a mapped water.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
not reported
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
Published
not given
Source last updated
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
“sewage”
Volume
1 gallon (estimated)
Volume as reported
“1 Gallons to water (DEQ estimate)”

Advice from Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Northern Regional Office

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Source and versions

Source
Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related
Source record number
324508
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifierva-deq-prep:324508
Source identifierva-deq-prep
Source record number324508
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeSanitary sewer overflow (SSO)
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifierNot provided
Sewer operatorNot provided
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)VA0025101
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet nameNot provided
Water named in the reportHooes Run; UT of Hooes Run
Linked watersNot provided
How this report was linked to the waternot linked to a mapped water
Latitude38.68
Longitude-77.296
Location sourcegeocoded from an address or place name
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedJul 21, 2026, 10:00 AM EDT (2026-07-21T10:00:06-04:00)
EndedNot provided
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceJul 21, 2026, 2:15 PM EDT (2026-07-21T14:15:36-04:00)
PublishedNot provided
Source last updatedOct 13, 2026, 5:21 PM EDT (2026-10-13T17:21:18-04:00)
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 9:40 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:40:36Z)
Materialsewage
Volume, in gallons1
Volume as reported1 Gallons to water (DEQ estimate)
How volume was determinedestimated
AuthorityVirginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Northern Regional Office
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://portal.deq.virginia.gov/v2/prep/prepReport/324508

Original source data

{
  "report": {
    "id": "324508",
    "via": "api",
    "incident": "2026-07-21T10:00:06",
    "incident_end": null,
    "received": "2026-07-21T14:15:36",
    "closed": "2026-07-23T15:04:11",
    "modified": "2026-10-13T17:21:18",
    "date_unknown": false,
    "site_name": "HL Mooney AWRF",
    "address": "12619 Oakwood Dr.",
    "city": "Woodbridge",
    "zip": "22192",
    "county_city": "Prince William County",
    "region": "Northern",
    "status_text": "Closed",
    "categories": [
      "Sanitary Sewer Overflow",
      "Risk Tier 1"
    ],
    "waterbody": "Hooes Run",
    "other_waterbody": "UT of Hooes Run",
    "original_waterbody": null,
    "water_threatened": "Y",
    "low": -1,
    "high": 1,
    "unit": "Gallons",
    "ssors": null,
    "nrc": [],
    "vdem": null,
    "epa": null,
    "facility_name": null,
    "facility_permitted": "Y",
    "responsible_company": "Prince William Water",
    "still_occurring": "N"
  },
  "text": {
    "incident_comment": "SSO has been investigated by the facility and a 5-day letter sent to DEQ. No further action required.",
    "location_comment": "267-SGM-00384, Main located in easement.",
    "closure_comment": "Facility investigate the IR, issues has been fixed and no further action required. A 5-day letter has been sent to comply to the regulation."
  },
  "sewage": [],
  "status_log": [
    {
      "at": "2026-07-21T14:15:37",
      "type": "Call Received"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-07-21T14:22:55",
      "type": "Assigned"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-07-21T14:22:55",
      "type": "Under Investigation"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-07-23T15:04:11",
      "type": "Closed Call/IR"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-07-23T15:05:00",
      "type": "Program Participant Assigned"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-07-23T15:05:18",
      "type": "Program Participant Assigned"
    }
  ],
  "created_in_prep": "2026-07-21T14:15:37",
  "event_type_basis": "DEQ category Sanitary Sewer Overflow",
  "permit": {
    "typed_permit": "VA0025101",
    "deq_vpdes_links": [
      "VA0025101"
    ],
    "ms4": null,
    "ms4_links": null,
    "basis": "DEQ's VPDES link on the report"
  },
  "discharger_match": {
    "by_permit": null,
    "by_name": null
  },
  "volume_basis": "DEQ estimate of the quantity reaching water",
  "_ended_at_basis": null,
  "_time_basis": "PReP API times are local wall-clock times with no zone, read as America/New_York. The export table stores local time + 5 h all year (decoded by subtracting 5 h); the EDMA point layer stores local time labelled as UTC (decoded by reading the UTC clock as local).",
  "water_placement": {
    "text": "Hooes Run; UT of Hooes Run",
    "towns": [
      "Woodbridge",
      "Prince William County"
    ],
    "notes": null,
    "echo_outfall": null
  },
  "point": {
    "lat": 38.679604,
    "lon": -77.295851,
    "layer": "DEQ EDMA layer 175 (PReP Reports, Daily)",
    "reference_point": "FC",
    "note": "DEQ's geocode of the report's site address (REFERENCE_POINT 'PG'), not an outfall point",
    "edma_incident": "2026-07-21T10:00:06-04:00",
    "edma_received": "2026-07-21T14:15:36-04:00"
  },
  "attribution": "DEQ is the data source. DEQ does not certify that this data represents a complete record. This data is provided to the citizens of the Commonwealth free of charge and for informational purposes only.",
  "api_url": "https://portal.deq.virginia.gov/prep/api/prepReports/324508?expand=prepStatusCode,prepUnitTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepComponentTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageCauses.prepCauseCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageImpacts.prepImpactTypeCode,prepReportReleaseSubtypes.prepReleaseSubtypeCode,prepReportPermitViews,prepOriginalReport,prepReportEvents.prepEventTypeCode,prepFipsCode.fipsRegion"
}

Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Northern Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 324508, reported Jul 21, 2026, 2:15 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.