DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Virginia / Reports /

Report not fully read reported, Aug 4, 2026

Ongoing (as reported) · Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Blue Ridge Regional Office

Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Blue Ridge Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 324717, reported Aug 4, 2026, 9:03 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: not named. Outlet: not stated. Location: 36.78358, -79.37020; location source: geocoded from an address or place name.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “Banister River”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Banister River, VA. Match basis: the water named in the report.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

No downstream estimate is available for this report.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
ongoing, as last reported
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
Published
not given
Source last updated
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Report not fully read
Status in the record
Ongoing (as reported)
Material
“sewage”
Volume
volume not reported (not stated whether estimated or measured)
Volume as reported
none

Advice from Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Blue Ridge Regional Office

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Status history from this report

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using this report and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-03 02:43 UTC.

Source and versions

Source
Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related
Source record number
324717
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None
Note
Some details could not be read automatically. Check the original notice.

Record details

Record details
Record identifierva-deq-prep:324717
Source identifierva-deq-prep
Source record number324717
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeReport not fully read
Status in the reportOngoing (as reported)
Sewer operator identifierNot provided
Sewer operatorNot provided
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)Not provided
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet nameNot provided
Water named in the reportBanister River
Linked watersbanister-river-va
How this report was linked to the waterthe water named in the report
Latitude36.784
Longitude-79.37
Location sourcegeocoded from an address or place name
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedAug 4, 2026, 9:00 AM EDT (2026-08-04T09:00:57-04:00)
EndedNot provided
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceAug 4, 2026, 9:03 AM EDT (2026-08-04T09:03:49-04:00)
PublishedNot provided
Source last updatedNov 2, 2026, 2:38 PM EST (2026-11-02T14:38:34-05:00)
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 9:40 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:40:36Z)
Materialsewage
Volume, in gallonsNot provided
Volume as reportedNot provided
How volume was determinednot stated whether estimated or measured
AuthorityVirginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Blue Ridge Regional Office
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://portal.deq.virginia.gov/v2/prep/prepReport/324717

Original source data

{
  "report": {
    "id": "324717",
    "via": "api",
    "incident": "2026-08-04T09:00:57",
    "incident_end": null,
    "received": "2026-08-04T09:03:49",
    "closed": null,
    "modified": "2026-11-02T14:38:34",
    "date_unknown": false,
    "site_name": "Manure release - Vanderhyde Dairy - Chatham",
    "address": "945 Dairy View Rd",
    "city": "Chatham",
    "zip": "24531",
    "county_city": "Pittsylvania County",
    "region": "Blue Ridge",
    "status_text": "Under Investigation",
    "categories": [
      "Fish Kill",
      "Unauthorized Discharge of Pollutant(s)"
    ],
    "waterbody": "Banister River",
    "other_waterbody": null,
    "original_waterbody": null,
    "water_threatened": "Y",
    "low": 1,
    "high": -1,
    "unit": "Unknown",
    "ssors": null,
    "nrc": [],
    "vdem": null,
    "epa": null,
    "facility_name": null,
    "facility_permitted": "N",
    "responsible_company": null,
    "still_occurring": "Y"
  },
  "text": {
    "incident_comment": "- at the bridge on Dairy View Road\n- BRRO WQM investigated while sampling in area\n- river heavily impacted, dead fish observed form bridge\n- PREP responded, traced discharge to farm ditch\n- PREP returning Wednesday, 8/5, to observe satellite lagoon",
    "location_comment": "At the bridge on Dairy View Road in Chatham",
    "closure_comment": null
  },
  "sewage": [],
  "status_log": [
    {
      "at": "2026-08-04T00:00:00",
      "type": "Site Visit"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-08-04T00:00:00",
      "type": "Phone Call"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-08-04T00:00:00",
      "type": "Site Visit"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-08-04T09:03:50",
      "type": "Call Received"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-08-04T09:29:45",
      "type": "Under Investigation"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-08-04T09:29:45",
      "type": "Assigned"
    }
  ],
  "created_in_prep": "2026-08-04T09:03:50",
  "event_type_basis": "DEQ category Fish Kill, Unauthorized Discharge of Pollutant(s) is not a sewer-overflow category",
  "permit": {
    "typed_permit": null,
    "deq_vpdes_links": null,
    "ms4": null,
    "ms4_links": null,
    "basis": "none"
  },
  "discharger_match": {
    "by_permit": null,
    "by_name": null
  },
  "volume_basis": null,
  "_ended_at_basis": null,
  "_time_basis": "PReP API times are local wall-clock times with no zone, read as America/New_York. The export table stores local time + 5 h all year (decoded by subtracting 5 h); the EDMA point layer stores local time labelled as UTC (decoded by reading the UTC clock as local).",
  "water_placement": {
    "text": "Banister River",
    "towns": [
      "Chatham",
      "Pittsylvania County"
    ],
    "notes": null,
    "echo_outfall": null
  },
  "point": {
    "lat": 36.783582,
    "lon": -79.370203,
    "layer": "DEQ EDMA layer 175 (PReP Reports, Daily)",
    "reference_point": "PG",
    "note": "DEQ's geocode of the report's site address (REFERENCE_POINT 'PG'), not an outfall point",
    "edma_incident": "2026-08-04T09:00:57-04:00",
    "edma_received": "2026-08-04T09:03:49-04:00"
  },
  "attribution": "DEQ is the data source. DEQ does not certify that this data represents a complete record. This data is provided to the citizens of the Commonwealth free of charge and for informational purposes only.",
  "api_url": "https://portal.deq.virginia.gov/prep/api/prepReports/324717?expand=prepStatusCode,prepUnitTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepComponentTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageCauses.prepCauseCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageImpacts.prepImpactTypeCode,prepReportReleaseSubtypes.prepReleaseSubtypeCode,prepReportPermitViews,prepOriginalReport,prepReportEvents.prepEventTypeCode,prepFipsCode.fipsRegion"
}

Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Blue Ridge Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 324717, reported Aug 4, 2026, 9:03 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.