DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Virginia / Reports /

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported, Aug 15, 2026

Ended (as reported) · Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Tidewater Regional Office

Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Tidewater Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 324927, reported Aug 17, 2026, 3:47 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

No current status shown on Elizabeth River: End not confirmed. Current rule period ends Nov 15, 2026, 2:47 PM EST. This is not a water-quality test.

Why this status: No current status: no report we track sets a status on this water outline now.

How long each status lasts, and why

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: not named (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, VA0004421). Outlet: not stated. Location: 36.93494, -76.32995; location source: geocoded from an address or place name.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “Elizabeth River”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Elizabeth River, VA. Match basis: the water named in the report.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

No downstream estimate is available for this report.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
not reported
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
Published
not given
Source last updated
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
“untreated sewage”
Volume
25 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
Volume as reported
“25 gallons”

Advice from Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Tidewater Regional Office

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Status history from this report

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using this report and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-03 02:43 UTC.

Source and versions

Source
Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related
Source record number
324927
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifierva-deq-prep:324927
Source identifierva-deq-prep
Source record number324927
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeSanitary sewer overflow (SSO)
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifierNot provided
Sewer operatorNot provided
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)VA0004421
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet nameNot provided
Water named in the reportElizabeth River
Linked waterselizabeth-river-va
How this report was linked to the waterthe water named in the report
Latitude36.935
Longitude-76.33
Location sourcegeocoded from an address or place name
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedAug 15, 2026, 4:50 PM EDT (2026-08-15T16:50:42-04:00)
EndedNot provided
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceAug 17, 2026, 3:47 PM EDT (2026-08-17T15:47:48-04:00)
PublishedNot provided
Source last updatedSep 1, 2026, 8:58 AM EDT (2026-09-01T08:58:34-04:00)
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 9:40 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:40:36Z)
Materialuntreated sewage
Volume, in gallons25
Volume as reported25 gallons
How volume was determinednot stated whether estimated or measured
AuthorityVirginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Tidewater Regional Office
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://portal.deq.virginia.gov/v2/prep/prepReport/324927

Original source data

{
  "report": {
    "id": "324927",
    "via": "api",
    "incident": "2026-08-15T16:50:42",
    "incident_end": null,
    "received": "2026-08-17T15:47:48",
    "closed": "2026-09-01T08:58:34",
    "modified": "2026-09-01T08:58:34",
    "date_unknown": false,
    "site_name": "Sewage Release - Naval Station Norfolk - Norfolk",
    "address": "9324 Virginia Ave.",
    "city": "Norfoilk",
    "zip": "23511",
    "county_city": "Norfolk City",
    "region": "Tidewater",
    "status_text": "Closed",
    "categories": [
      "Risk Tier 2",
      "Sanitary Sewer Overflow"
    ],
    "waterbody": "Elizabeth River",
    "other_waterbody": null,
    "original_waterbody": null,
    "water_threatened": "Y",
    "low": null,
    "high": null,
    "unit": null,
    "ssors": null,
    "nrc": [],
    "vdem": null,
    "epa": null,
    "facility_name": null,
    "facility_permitted": "Y",
    "responsible_company": null,
    "still_occurring": "N"
  },
  "text": {
    "incident_comment": "DEQ received a report stating, Sewage Release.\n\n5 Day Letter received. Spill updated to 25 gallons with majority on pier and trace into water.",
    "location_comment": "Naval Station Norfolk Pier 3",
    "closure_comment": "5 Day Letter received. No further action at this time."
  },
  "sewage": [
    {
      "duration_h": null,
      "component": "Pipe Failure",
      "component_id": 3,
      "volume_gal": 25,
      "volume_unknown": "N",
      "wet_weather": "N",
      "treated": "N",
      "precipitation_in": null,
      "causes": [
        "Blockage"
      ],
      "impacts": [
        "Discharge to State Waters"
      ],
      "corrective_action": "Area cleaned and sanitized. Trace entered waterway.",
      "steps_taken": null,
      "component_comment": null,
      "other_cause": null
    }
  ],
  "status_log": [
    {
      "at": "2026-08-17T15:47:49",
      "type": "Call Received"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-08-18T09:28:34",
      "type": "Assigned"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-08-18T09:28:34",
      "type": "Under Investigation"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-09-01T08:58:34",
      "type": "Closed Call/IR"
    }
  ],
  "created_in_prep": "2026-08-17T15:47:49",
  "event_type_basis": "DEQ category Sanitary Sewer Overflow",
  "permit": {
    "typed_permit": "VA0004421",
    "deq_vpdes_links": [
      "VA0004421"
    ],
    "ms4": null,
    "ms4_links": null,
    "basis": "DEQ's VPDES link on the report"
  },
  "discharger_match": {
    "by_permit": null,
    "by_name": null
  },
  "volume_basis": "sewage report discharge volume (gallons)",
  "_ended_at_basis": null,
  "_time_basis": "PReP API times are local wall-clock times with no zone, read as America/New_York. The export table stores local time + 5 h all year (decoded by subtracting 5 h); the EDMA point layer stores local time labelled as UTC (decoded by reading the UTC clock as local).",
  "water_placement": {
    "text": "Elizabeth River",
    "towns": [
      "Norfoilk",
      "Norfolk City"
    ],
    "notes": null,
    "echo_outfall": null
  },
  "point": {
    "lat": 36.934945,
    "lon": -76.329946,
    "layer": "DEQ EDMA layer 175 (PReP Reports, Daily)",
    "reference_point": "PG",
    "note": "DEQ's geocode of the report's site address (REFERENCE_POINT 'PG'), not an outfall point",
    "edma_incident": "2026-08-15T16:50:42-04:00",
    "edma_received": "2026-08-17T15:47:48-04:00"
  },
  "attribution": "DEQ is the data source. DEQ does not certify that this data represents a complete record. This data is provided to the citizens of the Commonwealth free of charge and for informational purposes only.",
  "api_url": "https://portal.deq.virginia.gov/prep/api/prepReports/324927?expand=prepStatusCode,prepUnitTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepComponentTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageCauses.prepCauseCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageImpacts.prepImpactTypeCode,prepReportReleaseSubtypes.prepReleaseSubtypeCode,prepReportPermitViews,prepOriginalReport,prepReportEvents.prepEventTypeCode,prepFipsCode.fipsRegion"
}

Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Tidewater Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 324927, reported Aug 17, 2026, 3:47 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.