DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Virginia / Reports /

Report not fully read reported — Hampton Roads Sanitation District (HRSD), Aug 25, 2026

Ended (as reported) · Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Tidewater Regional Office

Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Tidewater Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 325063, reported Aug 26, 2026, 10:12 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: Hampton Roads Sanitation District (HRSD) (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, VA0081302). Outlet: not stated. Location: 37.21530, -76.63595; location source: geocoded from an address or place name.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names no water. Not linked to a mapped water.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
not reported
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
Published
not given
Source last updated
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Report not fully read
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
“sewage”
Volume
5,870 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
Volume as reported
“5,870 gallons”

Advice from Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Tidewater Regional Office

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Source and versions

Source
Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related
Source record number
325063
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None
Note
Some details could not be read automatically. Check the original notice.

Record details

Record details
Record identifierva-deq-prep:325063
Source identifierva-deq-prep
Source record number325063
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeReport not fully read
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifierva-hrsd
Sewer operatorHampton Roads Sanitation District (HRSD)
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)VA0081302
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet nameNot provided
Water named in the reportNot provided
Linked watersNot provided
How this report was linked to the waternot linked to a mapped water
Latitude37.215
Longitude-76.636
Location sourcegeocoded from an address or place name
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedAug 25, 2026, 12:00 PM EDT (2026-08-25T12:00:51-04:00)
EndedNot provided
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceAug 26, 2026, 10:12 AM EDT (2026-08-26T10:12:16-04:00)
PublishedNot provided
Source last updatedSep 23, 2026, 12:00 PM EDT (2026-09-23T12:00:29-04:00)
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 9:40 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:40:36Z)
Materialsewage
Volume, in gallons5,870
Volume as reported5,870 gallons
How volume was determinednot stated whether estimated or measured
AuthorityVirginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Tidewater Regional Office
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://portal.deq.virginia.gov/v2/prep/prepReport/325063

Original source data

{
  "report": {
    "id": "325063",
    "via": "api",
    "incident": "2026-08-25T12:00:51",
    "incident_end": null,
    "received": "2026-08-26T10:12:16",
    "closed": "2026-09-23T12:00:29",
    "modified": "2026-09-23T12:00:29",
    "date_unknown": false,
    "site_name": "Solids Release - 300 Ron Springs Rd - Williamsburg",
    "address": "300 Ron Springs Road",
    "city": "Williamsburg",
    "zip": "23185",
    "county_city": "Williamsburg City",
    "region": "Tidewater",
    "status_text": "Closed",
    "categories": [
      "Risk Tier 2",
      "Unauthorized Discharge of Pollutant(s)"
    ],
    "waterbody": null,
    "other_waterbody": null,
    "original_waterbody": null,
    "water_threatened": "Y",
    "low": null,
    "high": null,
    "unit": null,
    "ssors": null,
    "nrc": [],
    "vdem": null,
    "epa": null,
    "facility_name": "HRSD Williamsburg STP",
    "facility_permitted": "Y",
    "responsible_company": null,
    "still_occurring": "N"
  },
  "text": {
    "incident_comment": "HRSD report the following to DEQ, \"While discharging the Solids Handling Sludge holding tank, the manhole drain became blocked, causing sludge to rise out of the manhole and onto the street, flowing to a nearby storm drain. Sludge traveled through the storm drains to outfall #11, filling a portion of the outfall ditch.\"",
    "location_comment": "HRSD Williamsburg STP",
    "closure_comment": "HRSD indicated they recovered all the material.  Five day letter received."
  },
  "sewage": [
    {
      "duration_h": null,
      "component": "Other",
      "component_id": 7,
      "volume_gal": 5870,
      "volume_unknown": null,
      "wet_weather": "N",
      "treated": null,
      "precipitation_in": null,
      "causes": [
        "Blockage"
      ],
      "impacts": [
        "Discharge to State Waters"
      ],
      "corrective_action": "Contactors scheduled to clean up release. 4370 gallons recovered at time of report.",
      "steps_taken": null,
      "component_comment": "Solids Holding Tank",
      "other_cause": null
    }
  ],
  "status_log": [
    {
      "at": "2026-08-26T10:12:17",
      "type": "Call Received"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-08-27T09:20:48",
      "type": "Assigned"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-08-27T09:20:48",
      "type": "Under Investigation"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-09-23T12:00:30",
      "type": "Closed Call/IR"
    }
  ],
  "created_in_prep": "2026-08-26T10:12:17",
  "event_type_basis": "DEQ category Risk Tier 2, Unauthorized Discharge of Pollutant(s) is not a sewer-overflow category",
  "permit": {
    "typed_permit": "VA0081302",
    "deq_vpdes_links": [
      "VA0081302"
    ],
    "ms4": null,
    "ms4_links": null,
    "basis": "DEQ's VPDES link on the report"
  },
  "discharger_match": {
    "by_permit": "va-hrsd",
    "by_name": [
      "va-hrsd"
    ],
    "result": "by permit"
  },
  "volume_basis": "sewage report discharge volume (gallons)",
  "_ended_at_basis": null,
  "_time_basis": "PReP API times are local wall-clock times with no zone, read as America/New_York. The export table stores local time + 5 h all year (decoded by subtracting 5 h); the EDMA point layer stores local time labelled as UTC (decoded by reading the UTC clock as local).",
  "water_placement": {
    "text": null,
    "towns": [
      "Williamsburg",
      "Williamsburg City"
    ],
    "notes": null,
    "echo_outfall": null
  },
  "point": {
    "lat": 37.215301,
    "lon": -76.635949,
    "layer": "DEQ EDMA layer 175 (PReP Reports, Daily)",
    "reference_point": "PG",
    "note": "DEQ's geocode of the report's site address (REFERENCE_POINT 'PG'), not an outfall point",
    "edma_incident": "2026-08-25T12:00:51-04:00",
    "edma_received": "2026-08-26T10:12:16-04:00"
  },
  "attribution": "DEQ is the data source. DEQ does not certify that this data represents a complete record. This data is provided to the citizens of the Commonwealth free of charge and for informational purposes only.",
  "api_url": "https://portal.deq.virginia.gov/prep/api/prepReports/325063?expand=prepStatusCode,prepUnitTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepComponentTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageCauses.prepCauseCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageImpacts.prepImpactTypeCode,prepReportReleaseSubtypes.prepReleaseSubtypeCode,prepReportPermitViews,prepOriginalReport,prepReportEvents.prepEventTypeCode,prepFipsCode.fipsRegion"
}

Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Tidewater Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 325063, reported Aug 26, 2026, 10:12 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.