DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Virginia / Reports /

Report not fully read reported — Western Virginia Water Authority (Roanoke Regional Water Pollution Control Plant and collection system), Sep 11, 2026

Ended (as reported) · Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Blue Ridge Regional Office

Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Blue Ridge Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 325285, reported Sep 11, 2026, 12:15 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: Western Virginia Water Authority (Roanoke Regional Water Pollution Control Plant and collection system) (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, VA0064599). Outlet: not stated. Location: 37.50927, -80.09811; location source: geocoded from an address or place name.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names no water. Not linked to a mapped water.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
not reported
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
Published
not given
Source last updated
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Report not fully read
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
“untreated sewage”
Volume
volume not reported (not stated whether estimated or measured)
Volume as reported
none

Advice from Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Blue Ridge Regional Office

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Source and versions

Source
Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related
Source record number
325285
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None
Note
Some details could not be read automatically. Check the original notice.

Record details

Record details
Record identifierva-deq-prep:325285
Source identifierva-deq-prep
Source record number325285
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeReport not fully read
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifierva-wvwa
Sewer operatorWestern Virginia Water Authority (Roanoke Regional Water Pollution Control Plant and collection system)
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)VA0064599
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet nameNot provided
Water named in the reportNot provided
Linked watersNot provided
How this report was linked to the waternot linked to a mapped water
Latitude37.509
Longitude-80.098
Location sourcegeocoded from an address or place name
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedSep 11, 2026, 12:15 PM EDT (2026-09-11T12:15:00-04:00)
EndedNot provided
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceSep 11, 2026, 12:15 PM EDT (2026-09-11T12:15:00-04:00)
PublishedNot provided
Source last updatedOct 1, 2026, 1:07 PM EDT (2026-10-01T13:07:13-04:00)
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 9:40 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:40:36Z)
Materialuntreated sewage
Volume, in gallonsNot provided
Volume as reportedNot provided
How volume was determinednot stated whether estimated or measured
AuthorityVirginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Blue Ridge Regional Office
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://portal.deq.virginia.gov/v2/prep/prepReport/325285

Original source data

{
  "report": {
    "id": "325285",
    "via": "api",
    "incident": "2026-09-11T12:15:00",
    "incident_end": null,
    "received": "2026-09-11T12:15:00",
    "closed": "2026-10-01T13:07:13",
    "modified": "2026-10-01T13:07:13",
    "date_unknown": false,
    "site_name": "Unknown substance in STP influent - WVWA Craig/New Castle WWTP - New Castle",
    "address": "370 Commerce Avenue",
    "city": "New Castle",
    "zip": "24127",
    "county_city": "Craig County",
    "region": "Blue Ridge",
    "status_text": "Closed",
    "categories": [
      "Risk Tier 1",
      "No Pollution Noted"
    ],
    "waterbody": null,
    "other_waterbody": null,
    "original_waterbody": null,
    "water_threatened": "N",
    "low": null,
    "high": null,
    "unit": null,
    "ssors": null,
    "nrc": [],
    "vdem": null,
    "epa": null,
    "facility_name": "WVWA Craig/New Castle WWTP",
    "facility_permitted": "Y",
    "responsible_company": null,
    "still_occurring": "N"
  },
  "text": {
    "incident_comment": "- WVWA reports unknown oily material appeared in treatment lagoons overnight\n- WVWA sampled, will test for algae\n- PREP suggested trying absorbent booms and pads\n- WVWA will follow up with PREP the following week\n\n- DEQ received confirmation from WVWA on 9-16-26 that the substance in the lagoon is algae - see email chain in ECM.\n\n- Update from WVWA - treatment of lagoon with copper sulfate has reduced the algae bloom to 25% of what was originally present and lagoon continues to improve.",
    "location_comment": "WVWA Craig/New Castle WWTP",
    "closure_comment": "Pond treatment by WVWA has reduced the algae bloom in the treatment plant lagoon - no further DEQ action necessary."
  },
  "sewage": [
    {
      "duration_h": null,
      "component": "Other",
      "component_id": 7,
      "volume_gal": null,
      "volume_unknown": "Y",
      "wet_weather": "N",
      "treated": "N",
      "precipitation_in": null,
      "causes": [
        "Other"
      ],
      "impacts": [
        "Algal Blooms"
      ],
      "corrective_action": null,
      "steps_taken": null,
      "component_comment": "Treatment plant lagoon",
      "other_cause": null
    }
  ],
  "status_log": [
    {
      "at": "2026-09-11T20:37:39",
      "type": "Call Received"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-09-11T20:38:23",
      "type": "Assigned"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-09-11T20:38:23",
      "type": "Under Investigation"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-09-16T00:00:00",
      "type": "Correspondence Received"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-10-01T00:00:00",
      "type": "Correspondence Received"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-10-01T13:07:13",
      "type": "Closed Call/IR"
    }
  ],
  "created_in_prep": "2026-09-11T20:37:39",
  "event_type_basis": "DEQ category Risk Tier 1, No Pollution Noted is not a sewer-overflow category",
  "permit": {
    "typed_permit": "VA0064599",
    "deq_vpdes_links": [
      "VA0064599"
    ],
    "ms4": null,
    "ms4_links": null,
    "basis": "DEQ's VPDES link on the report"
  },
  "discharger_match": {
    "by_permit": null,
    "by_name": [
      "va-wvwa"
    ],
    "result": "by operator name in the report"
  },
  "volume_basis": null,
  "_ended_at_basis": null,
  "_time_basis": "PReP API times are local wall-clock times with no zone, read as America/New_York. The export table stores local time + 5 h all year (decoded by subtracting 5 h); the EDMA point layer stores local time labelled as UTC (decoded by reading the UTC clock as local).",
  "water_placement": {
    "text": null,
    "towns": [
      "New Castle",
      "Craig County"
    ],
    "notes": null,
    "echo_outfall": null
  },
  "point": {
    "lat": 37.509272,
    "lon": -80.098114,
    "layer": "DEQ EDMA layer 175 (PReP Reports, Daily)",
    "reference_point": "PG",
    "note": "DEQ's geocode of the report's site address (REFERENCE_POINT 'PG'), not an outfall point",
    "edma_incident": "2026-09-11T12:15:00-04:00",
    "edma_received": "2026-09-11T12:15:00-04:00"
  },
  "attribution": "DEQ is the data source. DEQ does not certify that this data represents a complete record. This data is provided to the citizens of the Commonwealth free of charge and for informational purposes only.",
  "api_url": "https://portal.deq.virginia.gov/prep/api/prepReports/325285?expand=prepStatusCode,prepUnitTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepComponentTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageCauses.prepCauseCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageImpacts.prepImpactTypeCode,prepReportReleaseSubtypes.prepReleaseSubtypeCode,prepReportPermitViews,prepOriginalReport,prepReportEvents.prepEventTypeCode,prepFipsCode.fipsRegion"
}

Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Blue Ridge Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 325285, reported Sep 11, 2026, 12:15 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.