Treatment bypass reported — Henrico County Department of Public Utilities (Henrico Water Reclamation Facility and collection system), Sep 10, 2026
Ended (as reported) · Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Piedmont Regional Office
Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Piedmont Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 325291, reported Sep 10, 2026, 4:57 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Henrico County Department of Public Utilities (Henrico Water Reclamation Facility and collection system) (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, VA0063690). Outlet: not stated. Location: 37.41522, -77.32225; location source: geocoded from an address or place name.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “James River; We estimate ~2800 gallons was released with less than 1,000 gallons going to nearby stormwater drop inlet. The remaining 1,800 gallons went to soil and secondary containment that is directed to our return flow pump station, and subsequently the head of the plant.”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to James River, VA. Match basis: the water named in the report.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
No downstream estimate is available for this report.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- “untreated sewage”
- Volume
- 2,800 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
- Volume as reported
- “2,800 gallons”
Advice from Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Piedmont Regional Office
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Status history from this report
- Discharge or advisory reported James River: Discharge reported ongoing, Sep 10, 2026, 3:18 PM EDT to Sep 10, 2026, 3:24 PM EDT
- Caution James River: Within the caution period after the reported end, Sep 10, 2026, 3:24 PM EDT to Sep 13, 2026, 3:24 PM EDT
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using this report and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-03 02:43 UTC.
Source and versions
- Source
- Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related
- Source record number
- 325291
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | va-deq-prep:325291 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | va-deq-prep |
| Source record number | 325291 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Treatment bypass |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | va-henrico-dpu |
| Sewer operator | Henrico County Department of Public Utilities (Henrico Water Reclamation Facility and collection system) |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | VA0063690 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Not provided |
| Water named in the report | James River; We estimate ~2800 gallons was released with less than 1,000 gallons going to nearby stormwater drop inlet. The remaining 1,800 gallons went to soil and secondary containment that is directed to our return flow pump station, and subsequently the head of the plant. |
| Linked waters | james-river-va |
| How this report was linked to the water | the water named in the report |
| Latitude | 37.415 |
| Longitude | -77.322 |
| Location source | geocoded from an address or place name |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Sep 10, 2026, 3:18 PM EDT (2026-09-10T15:18:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Sep 10, 2026, 3:24 PM EDT (2026-09-10T15:24:00-04:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Sep 10, 2026, 4:57 PM EDT (2026-09-10T16:57:00-04:00) |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Sep 14, 2026, 7:47 AM EDT (2026-09-14T07:47:33-04:00) |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 9:40 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:40:36Z) |
| Material | untreated sewage |
| Volume, in gallons | 2,800 |
| Volume as reported | 2,800 gallons |
| How volume was determined | not stated whether estimated or measured |
| Authority | Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Piedmont Regional Office |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://portal.deq.virginia.gov/v2/prep/prepReport/325291 |
Original source data
{
"report": {
"id": "325291",
"via": "api",
"incident": "2026-09-10T15:18:00",
"incident_end": null,
"received": "2026-09-10T16:57:00",
"closed": "2026-09-14T07:47:33",
"modified": "2026-09-14T07:47:33",
"date_unknown": false,
"site_name": "UPD/UAD - Henrico County Water Reclamation Facility - Faulty Valve on 4-inch non-potable water line",
"address": "9101 WRVA Road",
"city": "Henrico",
"zip": "23231",
"county_city": "Henrico County",
"region": "Piedmont",
"status_text": "Closed",
"categories": [
"Unauthorized Discharge of Pollutant(s)"
],
"waterbody": "James River",
"other_waterbody": "We estimate ~2800 gallons was released with less than 1,000 gallons going to nearby stormwater drop inlet. The remaining 1,800 gallons went to soil and secondary containment that is directed to our return flow pump station, and subsequently the head of the plant.",
"original_waterbody": "James River",
"water_threatened": "Y",
"low": 0,
"high": 1000,
"unit": "Gallons",
"ssors": null,
"nrc": [],
"vdem": null,
"epa": null,
"facility_name": "Henrico County Water Reclamation Facility",
"facility_permitted": "Y",
"responsible_company": null,
"still_occurring": "N"
},
"text": {
"incident_comment": "All pertinent information contained in initial notification.",
"location_comment": "There was a recent joint repair on a 4” non-potable water line that was observed to be leaking at 15:20.",
"closure_comment": null
},
"sewage": [
{
"duration_h": 0.1,
"component": "Other",
"component_id": 7,
"volume_gal": 2800,
"volume_unknown": null,
"wet_weather": "N",
"treated": "N",
"precipitation_in": null,
"causes": [
"Other"
],
"impacts": [
"Sewage on Land Surface with Potential Human Exposure",
"Discharge to State Waters"
],
"corrective_action": "Operators immediately shut off the valve and deployed spill mats from nearby spill material kit to prevent further migration into stormwater inlet that leads to SWO #2.",
"steps_taken": null,
"component_comment": "Recently repaired 4-inch joint",
"other_cause": null
}
],
"status_log": [
{
"at": "2026-09-14T07:33:03",
"type": "Call Received"
},
{
"at": "2026-09-14T07:47:21",
"type": "Under Investigation"
},
{
"at": "2026-09-14T07:47:22",
"type": "Assigned"
},
{
"at": "2026-09-14T07:47:33",
"type": "Closed Call/IR"
}
],
"created_in_prep": "2026-09-14T07:33:03",
"event_type_basis": "treatment-plant discharge not filed as a sanitary sewer overflow (category: Unauthorized Discharge of Pollutant(s))",
"permit": {
"typed_permit": "VA0063690",
"deq_vpdes_links": [
"VA0063690"
],
"ms4": null,
"ms4_links": null,
"basis": "DEQ's VPDES link on the report"
},
"discharger_match": {
"by_permit": "va-henrico-dpu",
"by_name": [
"va-henrico-dpu"
],
"result": "by permit"
},
"volume_basis": "sewage report discharge volume (gallons)",
"_ended_at_basis": "incident time + duration 0.1 h (sewage report)",
"_time_basis": "PReP API times are local wall-clock times with no zone, read as America/New_York. The export table stores local time + 5 h all year (decoded by subtracting 5 h); the EDMA point layer stores local time labelled as UTC (decoded by reading the UTC clock as local).",
"water_placement": {
"text": "James River; We estimate ~2800 gallons was released with less than 1,000 gallons going to nearby stormwater drop inlet. The remaining 1,800 gallons went to soil and secondary containment that is directed to our return flow pump station, and subsequently the head of the plant.",
"towns": [
"Henrico",
"Henrico County"
],
"notes": null,
"echo_outfall": null
},
"point": {
"lat": 37.415215,
"lon": -77.322248,
"layer": "DEQ EDMA layer 175 (PReP Reports, Daily)",
"reference_point": "PG",
"note": "DEQ's geocode of the report's site address (REFERENCE_POINT 'PG'), not an outfall point",
"edma_incident": "2026-09-10T15:18:00-04:00",
"edma_received": "2026-09-10T16:57:00-04:00"
},
"attribution": "DEQ is the data source. DEQ does not certify that this data represents a complete record. This data is provided to the citizens of the Commonwealth free of charge and for informational purposes only.",
"api_url": "https://portal.deq.virginia.gov/prep/api/prepReports/325291?expand=prepStatusCode,prepUnitTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepComponentTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageCauses.prepCauseCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageImpacts.prepImpactTypeCode,prepReportReleaseSubtypes.prepReleaseSubtypeCode,prepReportPermitViews,prepOriginalReport,prepReportEvents.prepEventTypeCode,prepFipsCode.fipsRegion"
} Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Piedmont Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 325291, reported Sep 10, 2026, 4:57 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.