DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Virginia / Reports /

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported, Oct 6, 2026

Not stated by the source · Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Northern Regional Office

Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Northern Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 325667, reported Oct 7, 2026, 9:21 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: not named. Outlet: not stated. Location: 38.63247, -77.67994; location source: geocoded from an address or place name.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “Owl Run”. Not linked to a mapped water.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
not reported
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
Published
not given
Source last updated
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
Status in the record
Not stated by the source
Material
“sewage”
Volume
“10-90 Gallons to water (DEQ estimate)” (estimated)
Volume as reported
“10-90 Gallons to water (DEQ estimate)”

Advice from Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Northern Regional Office

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Source and versions

Source
Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related
Source record number
325667
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifierva-deq-prep:325667
Source identifierva-deq-prep
Source record number325667
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeSanitary sewer overflow (SSO)
Status in the reportNot stated by the source
Sewer operator identifierNot provided
Sewer operatorNot provided
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)Not provided
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet nameNot provided
Water named in the reportOwl Run
Linked watersNot provided
How this report was linked to the waternot linked to a mapped water
Latitude38.632
Longitude-77.68
Location sourcegeocoded from an address or place name
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedOct 6, 2026, 3:30 PM EDT (2026-10-06T15:30:57-04:00)
EndedNot provided
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceOct 7, 2026, 9:21 AM EDT (2026-10-07T09:21:56-04:00)
PublishedNot provided
Source last updatedOct 7, 2026, 12:05 PM EDT (2026-10-07T12:05:53-04:00)
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 9:40 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:40:36Z)
Materialsewage
Volume, in gallonsNot provided
Volume as reported10-90 Gallons to water (DEQ estimate)
How volume was determinedestimated
AuthorityVirginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Northern Regional Office
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://portal.deq.virginia.gov/v2/prep/prepReport/325667

Original source data

{
  "report": {
    "id": "325667",
    "via": "api",
    "incident": "2026-10-06T15:30:57",
    "incident_end": null,
    "received": "2026-10-07T09:21:56",
    "closed": null,
    "modified": "2026-10-07T12:05:53",
    "date_unknown": false,
    "site_name": "SSO - Catlett & Calverton WWTS - Catlett Rd",
    "address": "4236 Catlett Rd",
    "city": "Midland",
    "zip": "22728",
    "county_city": "Fauquier County",
    "region": "Northern",
    "status_text": "Under Investigation",
    "categories": [
      "Risk Tier 2",
      "Sanitary Sewer Overflow"
    ],
    "waterbody": "Owl Run",
    "other_waterbody": null,
    "original_waterbody": null,
    "water_threatened": "Y",
    "low": 10,
    "high": 90,
    "unit": "Gallons",
    "ssors": null,
    "nrc": [],
    "vdem": null,
    "epa": null,
    "facility_name": "Catlett Calverton Wastewater Treatment System",
    "facility_permitted": "Y",
    "responsible_company": "Inboden Environmental Services",
    "still_occurring": "N"
  },
  "text": {
    "incident_comment": "This incident is actively under investigation by the Department of Environmental Quality. See the 'Reported Description of Incident' for the original report.",
    "location_comment": "Catlett & Calverton Wastewater Treatment System",
    "closure_comment": null
  },
  "sewage": [],
  "status_log": [
    {
      "at": "2026-10-07T00:00:00",
      "type": "Notification Sent"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-10-07T09:21:57",
      "type": "Call Received"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-10-07T12:05:53",
      "type": "Assigned"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-10-07T12:05:53",
      "type": "Under Investigation"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-10-27T16:11:06",
      "type": "Program Participant Assigned"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-10-27T16:11:12",
      "type": "Program Participant Assigned"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-10-27T16:11:19",
      "type": "Program Participant Assigned"
    }
  ],
  "created_in_prep": "2026-10-07T09:21:57",
  "event_type_basis": "DEQ category Sanitary Sewer Overflow",
  "permit": {
    "typed_permit": null,
    "deq_vpdes_links": null,
    "ms4": null,
    "ms4_links": null,
    "basis": "none"
  },
  "discharger_match": {
    "by_permit": null,
    "by_name": null
  },
  "volume_basis": "DEQ estimate of the quantity reaching water",
  "_ended_at_basis": null,
  "_time_basis": "PReP API times are local wall-clock times with no zone, read as America/New_York. The export table stores local time + 5 h all year (decoded by subtracting 5 h); the EDMA point layer stores local time labelled as UTC (decoded by reading the UTC clock as local).",
  "water_placement": {
    "text": "Owl Run",
    "towns": [
      "Midland",
      "Fauquier County"
    ],
    "notes": null,
    "echo_outfall": null
  },
  "point": {
    "lat": 38.632467,
    "lon": -77.679941,
    "layer": "DEQ EDMA layer 175 (PReP Reports, Daily)",
    "reference_point": "FC",
    "note": "DEQ's geocode of the report's site address (REFERENCE_POINT 'PG'), not an outfall point",
    "edma_incident": "2026-10-06T15:30:57-04:00",
    "edma_received": "2026-10-07T09:21:56-04:00"
  },
  "attribution": "DEQ is the data source. DEQ does not certify that this data represents a complete record. This data is provided to the citizens of the Commonwealth free of charge and for informational purposes only.",
  "api_url": "https://portal.deq.virginia.gov/prep/api/prepReports/325667?expand=prepStatusCode,prepUnitTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepComponentTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageCauses.prepCauseCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageImpacts.prepImpactTypeCode,prepReportReleaseSubtypes.prepReleaseSubtypeCode,prepReportPermitViews,prepOriginalReport,prepReportEvents.prepEventTypeCode,prepFipsCode.fipsRegion"
}

Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Northern Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 325667, reported Oct 7, 2026, 9:21 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.