Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported, Oct 17, 2026
Ended (as reported) · Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Piedmont Regional Office
Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Piedmont Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 325850, reported Oct 18, 2026, 6:33 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: not named (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, VA0086681). Outlet: not stated. Location: 37.33477, -77.98929; location source: geocoded from an address or place name.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names no water. Not linked to a mapped water.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- “untreated sewage”
- Volume
- 2,000 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
- Volume as reported
- “2,000 gallons”
Advice from Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Piedmont Regional Office
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related
- Source record number
- 325850
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | va-deq-prep:325850 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | va-deq-prep |
| Source record number | 325850 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | Not provided |
| Sewer operator | Not provided |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | VA0086681 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Not provided |
| Water named in the report | Not provided |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | 37.335 |
| Longitude | -77.989 |
| Location source | geocoded from an address or place name |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Oct 17, 2026, 5:00 PM EDT (2026-10-17T17:00:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Oct 17, 2026, 6:00 PM EDT (2026-10-17T18:00:00-04:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Oct 18, 2026, 6:33 AM EDT (2026-10-18T06:33:00-04:00) |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Oct 21, 2026, 12:35 PM EDT (2026-10-21T12:35:08-04:00) |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 9:40 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:40:36Z) |
| Material | untreated sewage |
| Volume, in gallons | 2,000 |
| Volume as reported | 2,000 gallons |
| How volume was determined | not stated whether estimated or measured |
| Authority | Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Piedmont Regional Office |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://portal.deq.virginia.gov/v2/prep/prepReport/325850 |
Original source data
{
"report": {
"id": "325850",
"via": "api",
"incident": "2026-10-17T17:00:00",
"incident_end": null,
"received": "2026-10-18T06:33:00",
"closed": "2026-10-21T12:35:08",
"modified": "2026-10-21T12:35:08",
"date_unknown": false,
"site_name": "SSO - Amelia Conveyance - Manhole #103 at Otterburn Road & Rte 360",
"address": "Otterburn Road & Rte 360",
"city": "Amelia Court House",
"zip": "23002",
"county_city": "Amelia County",
"region": "Piedmont",
"status_text": "Closed",
"categories": [
"Sanitary Sewer Overflow"
],
"waterbody": null,
"other_waterbody": null,
"original_waterbody": null,
"water_threatened": "N",
"low": null,
"high": null,
"unit": null,
"ssors": null,
"nrc": [],
"vdem": null,
"epa": null,
"facility_name": "Amelia Courthouse Sanitary District WWTP- Nibbs Cr",
"facility_permitted": "Y",
"responsible_company": null,
"still_occurring": "N"
},
"text": {
"incident_comment": "To whom it may concern at DEQ:\nThis letter is a follow-up to the email sent on October 18, 2021, concerning the manhole overflow from Manhole #103 in Amelia County on October, 17th.\n\nAs previously reported, on October 17, 2026, at approximately 1700 hours, the Amelia County Department of Public works was notified of a possible sewer water overflow. The overflow was located at Manhole #103 on Otterburn Road, just South of Business rt 360 on the side of the road. Public Works responded and cleared the obstruction in the sewer line, allowing the flow to return to normal within one hour.\n\nIt is estimated that approximately 2000 gallons of grey water came out of the manhole onto the shoulder of the road. No solids were released out of the manhole, and no stream or body of water was in the vicinity of the overflow.\n\nOn October 19, 2026, the Visa Sewer company, which was in Amelia cleaning a different section of sewer line, camera and cleaned the section of sewer line at Manhole #103 which caused the overflow. \n\nNo further action is required at this time. Thank you for your concern in this matter. If you have any additional questions, please call me at the below listed number. \n\nWendell Miracle\nOperator in Charge\nAmelia County Wastewater Plant\n10105 Pridesville Rd \nAmelia County Virginia 23002 \n[phone removed] Office\n[phone removed] Cell",
"location_comment": "The overflow was located at Manhole #103 on Otterburn Road, just South of Business rt 360 on the side of the road.",
"closure_comment": null
},
"sewage": [
{
"duration_h": 1,
"component": "Pipe",
"component_id": 10,
"volume_gal": 2000,
"volume_unknown": null,
"wet_weather": "N",
"treated": "N",
"precipitation_in": null,
"causes": [
"Blockage"
],
"impacts": [
"Sewage on Land Surface with Potential Human Exposure"
],
"corrective_action": "Removed blockage.",
"steps_taken": null,
"component_comment": null,
"other_cause": null
}
],
"status_log": [
{
"at": "2026-10-19T08:35:14",
"type": "Call Received"
},
{
"at": "2026-10-19T08:45:07",
"type": "Under Investigation"
},
{
"at": "2026-10-19T08:45:07",
"type": "Assigned"
},
{
"at": "2026-10-21T12:35:08",
"type": "Closed Call/IR"
}
],
"created_in_prep": "2026-10-19T08:35:14",
"event_type_basis": "DEQ category Sanitary Sewer Overflow",
"permit": {
"typed_permit": "VA0086681",
"deq_vpdes_links": [
"VA0086681"
],
"ms4": null,
"ms4_links": null,
"basis": "DEQ's VPDES link on the report"
},
"discharger_match": {
"by_permit": null,
"by_name": null
},
"volume_basis": "sewage report discharge volume (gallons)",
"_ended_at_basis": "incident time + duration 1 h (sewage report)",
"_time_basis": "PReP API times are local wall-clock times with no zone, read as America/New_York. The export table stores local time + 5 h all year (decoded by subtracting 5 h); the EDMA point layer stores local time labelled as UTC (decoded by reading the UTC clock as local).",
"water_placement": {
"text": null,
"towns": [
"Amelia Court House",
"Amelia County"
],
"notes": null,
"echo_outfall": null
},
"point": {
"lat": 37.334773,
"lon": -77.989295,
"layer": "DEQ EDMA layer 175 (PReP Reports, Daily)",
"reference_point": "PG",
"note": "DEQ's geocode of the report's site address (REFERENCE_POINT 'PG'), not an outfall point",
"edma_incident": "2026-10-17T17:00:00-04:00",
"edma_received": "2026-10-18T06:33:00-04:00"
},
"attribution": "DEQ is the data source. DEQ does not certify that this data represents a complete record. This data is provided to the citizens of the Commonwealth free of charge and for informational purposes only.",
"api_url": "https://portal.deq.virginia.gov/prep/api/prepReports/325850?expand=prepStatusCode,prepUnitTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepComponentTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageCauses.prepCauseCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageImpacts.prepImpactTypeCode,prepReportReleaseSubtypes.prepReleaseSubtypeCode,prepReportPermitViews,prepOriginalReport,prepReportEvents.prepEventTypeCode,prepFipsCode.fipsRegion"
} Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Piedmont Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 325850, reported Oct 18, 2026, 6:33 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.