DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Virginia / Reports /

Treatment bypass reported — Town of Front Royal WWTP, Oct 11, 2026

Ended (as reported) · Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Valley Regional Office

Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Valley Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 325907, reported Oct 12, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: Town of Front Royal WWTP (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, VA0062812). Outlet: not stated. Location: 38.93197, -78.18530; location source: geocoded from an address or place name.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “South Fork Shenandoah River”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to South Fork Shenandoah River, VA. Match basis: the water named in the report.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

No downstream estimate is available for this report.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
Published
not given
Source last updated
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
“sewage”
Volume
33,146 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
Volume as reported
“33,146 gallons”

Advice from Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Valley Regional Office

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Status history from this report

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using this report and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-03 02:43 UTC.

Source and versions

Source
Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related
Source record number
325907
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifierva-deq-prep:325907
Source identifierva-deq-prep
Source record number325907
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeTreatment bypass
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifierva-front-royal
Sewer operatorTown of Front Royal WWTP
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)VA0062812
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet nameNot provided
Water named in the reportSouth Fork Shenandoah River
Linked waterssouth-fork-shenandoah-river-va
How this report was linked to the waterthe water named in the report
Latitude38.932
Longitude-78.185
Location sourcegeocoded from an address or place name
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedOct 11, 2026, 10:24 AM EDT (2026-10-11T10:24:00-04:00)
EndedOct 12, 2026, 7:54 AM EDT (2026-10-12T07:54:00-04:00)
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceOct 12, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT (2026-10-12T00:00:00-04:00)
PublishedNot provided
Source last updatedOct 21, 2026, 2:24 PM EDT (2026-10-21T14:24:23-04:00)
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 9:40 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:40:36Z)
Materialsewage
Volume, in gallons33,146
Volume as reported33,146 gallons
How volume was determinednot stated whether estimated or measured
AuthorityVirginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Valley Regional Office
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://portal.deq.virginia.gov/v2/prep/prepReport/325907

Original source data

{
  "report": {
    "id": "325907",
    "via": "api",
    "incident": "2026-10-11T10:24:00",
    "incident_end": null,
    "received": "2026-10-12T00:00:00",
    "closed": "2026-10-21T14:24:23",
    "modified": "2026-10-21T14:24:23",
    "date_unknown": false,
    "site_name": "Bypass-Town of Front Royal-Front Royal WWTP-Manassas Ave",
    "address": "1100 Manassas Ave",
    "city": "Front Royal",
    "zip": null,
    "county_city": "Warren County",
    "region": "Valley",
    "status_text": "Closed",
    "categories": [
      "Unauthorized Discharge of Pollutant(s)"
    ],
    "waterbody": "South Fork Shenandoah River",
    "other_waterbody": null,
    "original_waterbody": "South Fork Shenandoah River",
    "water_threatened": "Y",
    "low": 33146,
    "high": 33146,
    "unit": "Gallons",
    "ssors": null,
    "nrc": [],
    "vdem": null,
    "epa": null,
    "facility_name": "Front Royal WWTP",
    "facility_permitted": "Y",
    "responsible_company": "Town of Front Royal",
    "still_occurring": "N"
  },
  "text": {
    "incident_comment": "Bypass at South Fork of the Shenandoah River due to a combination of heavy rainfall I&I and 1 of the influent pumps mechanical failure. Approx 33,146 gal discharged and it did reach the South Fork of the Shenandoah River.",
    "location_comment": "1100 Manassas Ave\nSouth Fork of the Shenandoah River",
    "closure_comment": "See VA0062812"
  },
  "sewage": [
    {
      "duration_h": 21.5,
      "component": null,
      "component_id": null,
      "volume_gal": 33146,
      "volume_unknown": null,
      "wet_weather": "Y",
      "treated": null,
      "precipitation_in": 3.4,
      "causes": [
        "High Levels of Inflow and/or Infiltration"
      ],
      "impacts": [
        "Discharge to State Waters"
      ],
      "corrective_action": "The town has a contract with an engineering firm to reduce I&I and one of the influent pumps are at manufacturer for warranty repair.",
      "steps_taken": null,
      "component_comment": null,
      "other_cause": null
    }
  ],
  "status_log": [
    {
      "at": "2026-10-11T00:00:00",
      "type": "5-Day Letter"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-10-21T14:19:00",
      "type": "Call Received"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-10-21T14:19:10",
      "type": "Assigned"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-10-21T14:19:10",
      "type": "Under Investigation"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-10-21T14:24:23",
      "type": "Closed Call/IR"
    }
  ],
  "created_in_prep": "2026-10-21T14:19:00",
  "event_type_basis": "bypass structure or site name (structure: none)",
  "permit": {
    "typed_permit": "VA0062812",
    "deq_vpdes_links": [
      "VA0062812"
    ],
    "ms4": null,
    "ms4_links": null,
    "basis": "DEQ's VPDES link on the report"
  },
  "discharger_match": {
    "by_permit": "va-front-royal",
    "by_name": [
      "va-front-royal"
    ],
    "result": "by permit"
  },
  "volume_basis": "sewage report discharge volume (gallons)",
  "_ended_at_basis": "incident time + duration 21.5 h (sewage report)",
  "_time_basis": "PReP API times are local wall-clock times with no zone, read as America/New_York. The export table stores local time + 5 h all year (decoded by subtracting 5 h); the EDMA point layer stores local time labelled as UTC (decoded by reading the UTC clock as local).",
  "water_placement": {
    "text": "South Fork Shenandoah River",
    "towns": [
      "Front Royal",
      "Warren County"
    ],
    "notes": null,
    "echo_outfall": null
  },
  "point": {
    "lat": 38.931967,
    "lon": -78.185305,
    "layer": "DEQ EDMA layer 175 (PReP Reports, Daily)",
    "reference_point": "PG",
    "note": "DEQ's geocode of the report's site address (REFERENCE_POINT 'PG'), not an outfall point",
    "edma_incident": "2026-10-11T10:24:00-04:00",
    "edma_received": "2026-10-12T00:00:00-04:00"
  },
  "attribution": "DEQ is the data source. DEQ does not certify that this data represents a complete record. This data is provided to the citizens of the Commonwealth free of charge and for informational purposes only.",
  "api_url": "https://portal.deq.virginia.gov/prep/api/prepReports/325907?expand=prepStatusCode,prepUnitTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepComponentTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageCauses.prepCauseCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageImpacts.prepImpactTypeCode,prepReportReleaseSubtypes.prepReleaseSubtypeCode,prepReportPermitViews,prepOriginalReport,prepReportEvents.prepEventTypeCode,prepFipsCode.fipsRegion"
}

Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Valley Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 325907, reported Oct 12, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.