Combined sewer overflow (CSO) reported — City of Richmond Department of Public Utilities (Richmond WWTP and combined sewer system), Jul 18, 2026
Ended (as reported) · City of Richmond Department of Public Utilities (monthly CSO outfall report)
Source: City of Richmond Department of Public Utilities (monthly CSO outfall report) via City of Richmond monthly CSO outfall reports (per-outfall overflow events, XLSX), record CSO_35-20260718T1600, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:39 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: City of Richmond Department of Public Utilities (Richmond WWTP and combined sewer system) (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, VA0063177). Outlet: 035 “CSO 35”. Location: 37.52908, -77.42128; location source: from the state's or EPA's outfall layer.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “Richmond Dock Canal”. Not linked to a mapped water.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- not given
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- not given
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- “combined sewage and stormwater”
- Volume
- 840,000 gallons (measured or verified)
- Volume as reported
- “0.84 MG (observed overflow volume)”
Advice from City of Richmond Department of Public Utilities (monthly CSO outfall report)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- City of Richmond monthly CSO outfall reports (per-outfall overflow events, XLSX)
- Source record number
- CSO_35-20260718T1600
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | va-richmond-cso:CSO_35-20260718T1600 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | va-richmond-cso |
| Source record number | CSO_35-20260718T1600 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Combined sewer overflow (CSO) |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | va-richmond-dpu |
| Sewer operator | City of Richmond Department of Public Utilities (Richmond WWTP and combined sewer system) |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | VA0063177 |
| Outlet number | 035 |
| Outlet name | CSO 35 |
| Water named in the report | Richmond Dock Canal |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | 37.529 |
| Longitude | -77.421 |
| Location source | from the state's or EPA's outfall layer |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Jul 18, 2026, 4:00 PM EDT (2026-07-18T16:00:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Jul 28, 2026, 10:20 PM EDT (2026-07-28T22:20:00-04:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Not provided |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Not provided |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 9:39 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:39:17Z) |
| Material | combined sewage and stormwater |
| Volume, in gallons | 840,000 |
| Volume as reported | 0.84 MG (observed overflow volume) |
| How volume was determined | measured or verified |
| Authority | City of Richmond Department of Public Utilities (monthly CSO outfall report) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://rva.gov/sites/default/files/2026-08/47_CSOReports2026_Jul2026_CSO_Report_Public_rtswmm%20%281%29.xlsx |
Original source data
{
"month": "2026-07",
"outfall_sheet": "CSO_35-Events",
"row": {
"label": "2026Jul18",
"start": "46221.66666666666",
"end": "46231.93055555555",
"Rainfall, in": "5.05",
"Observed Overflow Volume, mg": "0.84",
"overflow_duration_hours": "10"
},
"rain_in": 5.05,
"overflow_duration_hours": 10,
"summary_row": {
"Sensor Type": "Flow",
"% of Report with Good Data": "100",
"Number of Observed Activations": "2",
"Observed Overflow Volume, MG": "1.1"
},
"workbook_title": "Jul2026 Overflow Summary; 287.0 MG Overflow Observed",
"workbook_notes": [
"Note: Activations are defined by CSO volumes > 0.01 MG and an interevent time of 72 hours",
"Note: Any observed negative flows could be backflow from James River",
"Note: Any observed negative flows could be due to high James River levels and flow eddies within structure"
],
"echo_outfall": {
"outfall": "035",
"receiving_water_echo": "Richmond Dock Canal",
"water_slug": null,
"match": "none",
"distance_m": null
},
"_time_basis": "Excel serial dates with no zone stated; read as America/New_York wall-clock time (inferred: Richmond's map uses America/New_York).",
"activation_note": "Workbook note: activations are defined by CSO volumes > 0.01 MG and an interevent time of 72 hours, so the end can be days after the overflow hours (overflow_duration_hours)."
} Source: City of Richmond Department of Public Utilities (monthly CSO outfall report) via City of Richmond monthly CSO outfall reports (per-outfall overflow events, XLSX), record CSO_35-20260718T1600, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:39 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.