DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Virginia / Reports /

Combined sewer overflow (CSO) reported — City of Richmond Department of Public Utilities (Richmond WWTP and combined sewer system), Jul 19, 2026

Ended (as reported) · City of Richmond Department of Public Utilities (monthly CSO outfall report)

Source: City of Richmond Department of Public Utilities (monthly CSO outfall report) via City of Richmond monthly CSO outfall reports (per-outfall overflow events, XLSX), record CSO_39-20260719T1850, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:39 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: City of Richmond Department of Public Utilities (Richmond WWTP and combined sewer system) (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, VA0063177). Outlet: 039 “CSO 39”. Location: 37.52347, -77.40439; location source: from the state's or EPA's outfall layer.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “Gillies Creek”. Not linked to a mapped water.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
not given
Published
not given
Source last updated
not given
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
“combined sewage and stormwater”
Volume
550,000 gallons (measured or verified)
Volume as reported
“0.55 MG (observed overflow volume)”

Advice from City of Richmond Department of Public Utilities (monthly CSO outfall report)

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Source and versions

Source
City of Richmond monthly CSO outfall reports (per-outfall overflow events, XLSX)
Source record number
CSO_39-20260719T1850
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifierva-richmond-cso:CSO_39-20260719T1850
Source identifierva-richmond-cso
Source record numberCSO_39-20260719T1850
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeCombined sewer overflow (CSO)
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifierva-richmond-dpu
Sewer operatorCity of Richmond Department of Public Utilities (Richmond WWTP and combined sewer system)
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)VA0063177
Outlet number039
Outlet nameCSO 39
Water named in the reportGillies Creek
Linked watersNot provided
How this report was linked to the waternot linked to a mapped water
Latitude37.523
Longitude-77.404
Location sourcefrom the state's or EPA's outfall layer
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedJul 19, 2026, 6:50 PM EDT (2026-07-19T18:50:00-04:00)
EndedJul 22, 2026, 5:55 AM EDT (2026-07-22T05:55:00-04:00)
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceNot provided
PublishedNot provided
Source last updatedNot provided
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 9:39 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:39:17Z)
Materialcombined sewage and stormwater
Volume, in gallons550,000
Volume as reported0.55 MG (observed overflow volume)
How volume was determinedmeasured or verified
AuthorityCity of Richmond Department of Public Utilities (monthly CSO outfall report)
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://rva.gov/sites/default/files/2026-08/47_CSOReports2026_Jul2026_CSO_Report_Public_rtswmm%20%281%29.xlsx

Original source data

{
  "month": "2026-07",
  "outfall_sheet": "CSO_39-Events",
  "row": {
    "label": "2026Jul19",
    "start": "46222.78472222222",
    "end": "46225.24652777778",
    "Rainfall, in": "3.3",
    "Observed Overflow Volume, mg": "0.55",
    "overflow_duration_hours": "1.6"
  },
  "rain_in": 3.3,
  "overflow_duration_hours": 1.6,
  "summary_row": {
    "Sensor Type": "Flow",
    "% of Report with Good Data": "100",
    "Number of Observed Activations": "3",
    "Observed Overflow Volume, MG": "1.7"
  },
  "workbook_title": "Jul2026 Overflow Summary; 287.0 MG Overflow Observed",
  "workbook_notes": [
    "Note: Activations are defined by CSO volumes > 0.01 MG and an interevent time of 72 hours",
    "Note: Any observed negative flows could be backflow from James River",
    "Note: Any observed negative flows could be due to high James River levels and flow eddies within structure"
  ],
  "echo_outfall": {
    "outfall": "039",
    "receiving_water_echo": "Gillies Creek",
    "water_slug": null,
    "match": "none",
    "distance_m": null
  },
  "_time_basis": "Excel serial dates with no zone stated; read as America/New_York wall-clock time (inferred: Richmond's map uses America/New_York).",
  "activation_note": "Workbook note: activations are defined by CSO volumes > 0.01 MG and an interevent time of 72 hours, so the end can be days after the overflow hours (overflow_duration_hours)."
}

Source: City of Richmond Department of Public Utilities (monthly CSO outfall report) via City of Richmond monthly CSO outfall reports (per-outfall overflow events, XLSX), record CSO_39-20260719T1850, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:39 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.