Washington / Reports /
Treatment plant bypass reported — Orting STP, Sep 27, 2026
Ended (as reported) · Washington State Department of Ecology (sewage spill list, RCW 90.48.636)
Source: Washington State Department of Ecology (sewage spill list, RCW 90.48.636) via Washington Ecology Sewage Spills list (RCW 90.48.636 public website), record 435e00c0-03ff-4ded-807b-bb816379fb86, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-06 06:01 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 6, 2026, 1:13 AM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Orting STP (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, WA0020303). Outlet: “902 Rocky Rd NE”. Location: not given in the report or in the outlet records.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names no water. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Carbon River, WA. Match basis: the operator's listed receiving water; the report itself does not name the water.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
No downstream estimate is available for this report.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- not given
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- not given
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- “Partial Treatment - Disinfectio”
- Volume
- 17,350 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
- Volume as reported
- “17,350 gallons”
Advice from Washington State Department of Ecology (sewage spill list, RCW 90.48.636)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Status history from this report
- Discharge or advisory reported Carbon River: Discharge reported ongoing, Sep 27, 2026, 11:47 AM EDT to Sep 27, 2026, 1:30 PM EDT
- Caution Carbon River: Within the caution period after the reported end, Sep 27, 2026, 1:30 PM EDT to Sep 30, 2026, 1:30 PM EDT
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using this report and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-06 06:13 UTC.
Source and versions
- Source
- Washington Ecology Sewage Spills list (RCW 90.48.636 public website)
- Source record number
- 435e00c0-03ff-4ded-807b-bb816379fb86
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | wa-ecology-sewage-spills:435e00c0-03ff-4ded-807b-bb816379fb86 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | wa-ecology-sewage-spills |
| Source record number | 435e00c0-03ff-4ded-807b-bb816379fb86 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Treatment plant bypass |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | wa-wa0020303 |
| Sewer operator | Orting STP |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | WA0020303 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | 902 Rocky Rd NE |
| Water named in the report | Not provided |
| Linked waters | carbon-river-wa |
| How this report was linked to the water | the operator's listed receiving water; the report itself does not name the water |
| Latitude | Not provided |
| Longitude | Not provided |
| Location source | Not provided |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Sep 27, 2026, 11:47 AM EDT (2026-09-27T08:47:00-07:00) |
| Ended | Sep 27, 2026, 1:30 PM EDT (2026-09-27T10:30:00-07:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Not provided |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Not provided |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 6, 2026, 1:01 AM EST (2026-11-06T06:01:59Z) |
| Material | Partial Treatment - Disinfectio |
| Volume, in gallons | 17,350 |
| Volume as reported | 17,350 gallons |
| How volume was determined | not stated whether estimated or measured |
| Authority | Washington State Department of Ecology (sewage spill list, RCW 90.48.636) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://gis.ecology.wa.gov/hosting/rest/services/Hosted/survey123_48de962d0dea40eb9485805510a40b84_results/FeatureServer/0/query?where=globalid%3D%27%7B435E00C0-03FF-4DED-807B-BB816379FB86%7D%27&outFields=objectid,globalid,ecology_region,start_date_and_time,permitee,location,county,initial_estimated_amount,level_of_treatment,potentially_impacted_area,end_event_timedate,final_event_duration_hours,final_total_event_volume,link_to_5_day_report,event_type,event_type_other,erts_number,was_the_spill_continuous&f=json |
Original source data
{
"row": {
"objectid": 88,
"globalid": "{435E00C0-03FF-4DED-807B-BB816379FB86}",
"ecology_region": "Southwest",
"start_date_and_time": 1790524020000,
"permitee": "Orting STP",
"location": "902 Rocky Rd NE",
"county": "Pierce",
"initial_estimated_amount": "17,350 gallons",
"level_of_treatment": "Partial Treatment - Disinfectio",
"potentially_impacted_area": "Unknown/Not Reported",
"end_event_timedate": 1790530200000,
"final_event_duration_hours": "104 minutes",
"final_total_event_volume": "17,350 gallons",
"link_to_5_day_report": null,
"event_type": null,
"event_type_other": null,
"erts_number": "750513",
"was_the_spill_continuous": "Continuous"
},
"potentially_impacted_area": "Unknown/Not Reported",
"reached_water": null,
"report_url": null,
"erts_number": "750513",
"county": "Pierce",
"duration_text": "104 minutes",
"continuous": "Continuous"
} Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.