North Carolina / Waters /
Cape Fear River
River in North Carolina, past Council, Duart, Elizabethtown, Erwin, Fayetteville, Kure Beach, Leland, Lillington, Moncure, Riegelwood, Tar Heel and Wilmington
Current status
No current status is assigned to this water outline. Check the water page for reports and any estimated downstream stretches. Why this status, and its source
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch. Larger round markers with a label mark beach and other official advisories nearby.
Check Brunswick County's notices · Bookmark this water page and check it before each trip · Report a missing notice or error
About this status
No current status shown: no report we track sets a status on this water now; how statuses work. No status does not mean the water is safe. Follow posted signs and local health advice.
Sources checked: a public source (last successful check 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC); a public source (last successful check 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC); NC DEQ DWR Fish Kill and Algal Bloom Incidents (North_Carolina_Fish_Kills_and_Algal_Blooms_Public_Reports) (last successful check 2026-11-05 01:08 UTC); NC DWR Sanitary Sewer Overflows September 2022 through December 2025 (ArcGIS) (last successful check 2026-11-04 06:57 UTC); NC DEQ DWR "SSOs and Bypasses" ArcGIS layer (last successful check 2026-11-05 01:08 UTC); NC DEQ Fish Kills and Algal Blooms public reports (Fish_Kill_Algal_Bloom_Public_View) (last successful check 2026-11-04 06:57 UTC). Status by DirtyWaterWatch, updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC. · Updated
The last 90 days
No discharge, advisory or caution periods are shown for this water in this time span. Check downstream stretches and source coverage.
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.
Reported discharges over time
- Discharges affecting the Cape Fear River in North Carolina, last 12 months22 affecting this stretch: 2 reported on the Cape Fear River; none arriving from upstreamDecember 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once. Arriving discharges are estimated from modeled downstream reaches.
- Days with a discharge affecting the Cape Fear River in North Carolina, last 12 months3Reported on the Cape Fear River in North Carolina: 3 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0 (counted apart; together they need not equal the total)December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
- Hours with a discharge or advisory status on the Cape Fear River in North Carolina, last 12 months18Reported on the Cape Fear River in North Carolina: 18 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
- 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status on the Cape Fear River in North Carolina0.0%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.
- Records behind the last-90-days strip for the Cape Fear River in North Carolina0last 90 daysEvery distinct record the strip lists for its red, yellow and unresolved hours, notices and unresolved reports included; counted as the strip counts them.
Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater. Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
Reported discharges per month
43 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.
- Combined sewer overflow
- Sanitary sewer overflow
- Treatment bypass, blended or other
- No tracked source for this period
- Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source covers January 2022 to April 2022.
Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Combined sewer overflow | Sanitary sewer overflow | Treatment bypass, blended or other | Total | Counted from | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| February 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| March 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| April 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| May 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| June 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| July 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| August 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| September 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| October 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| December 2022 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| January 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2023 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 4 | Source records | |
| August 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| December 2023 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 2 | Source records | |
| January 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2024 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| April 2024 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| May 2024 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| June 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2024 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 6 | Source records | |
| August 2024 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 8 | Source records | |
| September 2024 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 8 | Source records | |
| October 2024 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 3 | Source records | |
| November 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| December 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| January 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2025 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| April 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2025 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 5 | Source records | |
| September 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| December 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| January 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2026 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| March 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2026 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| July 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month
Hours when this water had a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.
- Discharge or advisory reported
- No tracked source for this period
- Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source covers January 2022 to April 2022. 41 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here.
Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Hours with a discharge or advisory status | Hours from post-discharge periods | Hours in the month | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | No tracked source for this period |
| February 2022 | 0 | 0 | 672 | No tracked source for this period |
| March 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | No tracked source for this period |
| April 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | No tracked source for this period |
| May 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| June 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| July 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| September 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| October 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| December 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2023 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| December 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2024 | 0 | 0 | 696 | |
| March 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| December 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2025 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| December 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2026 | 17 | 17 | 672 | |
| March 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2026 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2026 | 1 | 1 | 720 | |
| July 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2026 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2026 | 0 | 0 | 94 |
Days with a reported discharge per month
A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.
- No tracked source for this period
- Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source covers January 2022 to April 2022.
Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Days with a reported discharge | Coverage |
|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| February 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| March 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| April 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| May 2022 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| June 2022 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| July 2022 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2022 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| September 2022 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| October 2022 | 0 | |
| November 2022 | 0 | |
| December 2022 | 1 | |
| January 2023 | 0 | |
| February 2023 | 0 | |
| March 2023 | 0 | |
| April 2023 | 0 | |
| May 2023 | 0 | |
| June 2023 | 0 | |
| July 2023 | 3 | |
| August 2023 | 0 | |
| September 2023 | 0 | |
| October 2023 | 0 | |
| November 2023 | 0 | |
| December 2023 | 1 | |
| January 2024 | 0 | |
| February 2024 | 0 | |
| March 2024 | 1 | |
| April 2024 | 1 | |
| May 2024 | 1 | |
| June 2024 | 0 | |
| July 2024 | 4 | |
| August 2024 | 4 | |
| September 2024 | 4 | |
| October 2024 | 2 | |
| November 2024 | 0 | |
| December 2024 | 0 | |
| January 2025 | 0 | |
| February 2025 | 0 | |
| March 2025 | 1 | |
| April 2025 | 0 | |
| May 2025 | 0 | |
| June 2025 | 0 | |
| July 2025 | 0 | |
| August 2025 | 2 | |
| September 2025 | 0 | |
| October 2025 | 0 | |
| November 2025 | 0 | |
| December 2025 | 0 | |
| January 2026 | 0 | |
| February 2026 | 2 | |
| March 2026 | 0 | |
| April 2026 | 0 | |
| May 2026 | 0 | |
| June 2026 | 1 | |
| July 2026 | 0 | |
| August 2026 | 0 | |
| September 2026 | 0 | |
| October 2026 | 0 | |
| November 2026 | 0 |
Reported volume per year
Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 43 reports that gave a volume as a number.
- Incomplete source coverage
Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Reported volume, gallons | Reports with a volume | Reports without a volume | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | 800 | 1 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2023 | 33,000 | 6 | 0 | |
| 2024 | 771,295 | 28 | 0 | |
| 2025 | 99,000 | 6 | 0 | |
| 2026 | 9,525 | 2 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year
Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.
- Discharge or advisory reported
- Incomplete source coverage
41 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here.
Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Hours with a discharge or advisory status | Share of the year | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | 0 | 0.0% | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2023 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2024 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2025 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2026 | 18 | 0.2% | Incomplete source coverage |
Reported discharges by calendar month, all years
Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.
Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.
Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Reported discharges | Years of records |
|---|---|---|
| January | 0 | 4 |
| February | 1 | 4 |
| March | 2 | 4 |
| April | 1 | 4 |
| May | 1 | 4 |
| June | 1 | 4 |
| July | 10 | 4 |
| August | 13 | 4 |
| September | 8 | 5 |
| October | 3 | 5 |
| November | 0 | 5 |
| December | 3 | 4 |
Reported discharges by wastewater outlet
Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 26, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.
Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Wastewater outlet | Reported discharges |
|---|---|
| SLS 132 | 2 |
| manhole | 2 |
| SLS 135 | 2 |
| PS. 133 | 1 |
| PS 135 | 1 |
| PS 132 | 1 |
| PS. 26 | 1 |
| s tenth street | 1 |
| 1114 Warren Road Erwin | 1 |
| 600 Iris Bryant Road | 1 |
| Other outlets (16) | 16 |
| Outlet not stated | 14 |
How these charts are counted
We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.
- U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records: records from May 3, 2022 to the latest update (limited records)
- nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025: records from September 1, 2022 to February 15, 2026
- nc-dwr-sso-2026: records from January 2, 2026 to the latest update
Reports linked to Cape Fear River
43 sewage reports · 4 algal bloom advisories
Cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) can make water unfit for contact; the issuing authority decides when its advisory ends.
| When | Report | Status |
|---|---|---|
| NC DEQ Division of Water Resources (fish kill and algal bloom reports) · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | reported | |
| NC DEQ Division of Water Resources (fish kill and algal bloom reports) · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | reported | |
| NC DEQ Division of Water Resources (fish kill and algal bloom reports) · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | reported | |
| to 1:45 PM | Harnett County Collection System · Force main near SLS 10B · SSO · 9,500 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Feb 13, 4:30 AM | Fayetteville PWC · 6113 Long Creek Court, Fayetteville · SSO · 25 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| Harnett County Collection System · Ps. 133 · SSO · 11,500 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Harnett County Collection System · SSO · 30,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Harnett County Collection System · Ps 135 · SSO · 51,000 gallons in all map | ended | |
| Harnett County Collection System · Ps 135 · SSO · 24,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Harnett County Collection System · Ps 132 · SSO · 27,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Harnett County Collection System · Ps. 26 · SSO · 1,500 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Harnett County Collection System · s tenth street · SSO · 5,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Harnett County Collection System · SSO · 19,440 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Harnett County Collection System · SSO · 28,800 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Harnett County Collection System · SSO · 2,700 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Harnett County Collection System · 1114 Warren Road Erwin · SSO · 10,080 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Harnett County Collection System · SSO · 9,600 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Harnett County Collection System · 600 Iris Bryant Road · SSO · 8,400 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Harnett County Collection System · SLS 132-600 iris bryant road · SSO · 55,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Harnett County Collection System · SLS 133-1114 warren road · SSO · 17,400 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Harnett County Collection System · SLS 25- bunnlevel erwin road · SSO · 16,200 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Harnett County Collection System · 90 moore st-SLS 135 · SSO · 45,000 gallons in all map | ended | |
| Harnett County Collection System · 90 moore st-SLS 135 · SSO · 22,500 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Harnett County Collection System · 105 West D st · SSO · 22,500 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Harnett County Collection System · Sls 132 · SSO · 144,900 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Harnett County Collection System · manhole · SSO · 187,725 gallons in all map | ended | |
| Harnett County Collection System · manhole · SSO · 86,400 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Harnett County Collection System · Sls 135 · SSO · 101,325 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
Sources: NC DEQ DWR Fish Kill and Algal Bloom Incidents (North_Carolina_Fish_Kills_and_Algal_Blooms_Public_Reports), retrieved 2026-11-05 01:08 UTC; NC DEQ DWR "SSOs and Bypasses" ArcGIS layer, retrieved 2026-11-05 01:08 UTC; NC DWR Sanitary Sewer Overflows September 2022 through December 2025 (ArcGIS), retrieved 2026-11-04 06:57 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.
Showing the latest 25 records of 47 records.See them all with filters.
All reports in North Carolina by year: 2026 (5 here) · 2025 (6 here) · 2024 (28 here) · 2023 (7 here) · 2022 (1 here)
Wastewater outlets on this water
No wastewater outlet in our records is linked to this water.
Sewer operators listed for this water: Brunswick County, Cape Fear Public Utility Authority, Fayetteville Public Works Commission, Harnett County, Pender County, Town of Carolina Beach, Town of Elizabethtown, Town of Kure Beach, Town of Lillington.
Boat launches
- Avents Ferry Bridge, Moncure · Boat ramp
- Dram Tree Park, Wilmington · Boat ramp
- Elwells Ferry, Council · Boat ramp
- Fayetteville · Boat ramp
- Lillington · Boat ramp
- Lock and Dam #1, Riegelwood · Boat ramp
- Lock and Dam #2, Elizabethtown · Boat ramp
- Tar Heel · Boat ramp
- Tory Hole, Elizabethtown · Boat ramp
- William O. Huske Lock and Dam, Fayetteville · Boat ramp
Source: OpenBoatLaunch launch records (public agency data and OpenStreetMap, Open Database License). · Cape Fear River on OpenBoatLaunch
Nearby waters
- South River, NC No current status shown about 17 km away
- Browns Creek, NC No current status shown about 18 km away
- Plum Branch, NC No current status shown about 19 km away
- Colly Creek, NC No current status shown about 22 km away
- Dollar Branch, NC No current status shown about 31 km away
Sources covering this water
- a public source · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC
- a public source · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC
- NC DEQ DWR Fish Kill and Algal Bloom Incidents (North_Carolina_Fish_Kills_and_Algal_Blooms_Public_Reports) · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-05 01:08 UTC
- NC DWR Sanitary Sewer Overflows September 2022 through December 2025 (ArcGIS) · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-04 06:57 UTC
- NC DEQ DWR "SSOs and Bypasses" ArcGIS layer · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-05 01:08 UTC
- NC DEQ Fish Kills and Algal Blooms public reports (Fish_Kill_Algal_Bloom_Public_View) · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-04 06:57 UTC
47 records linked to this water: 43 sewage reports, 4 algal bloom advisories. Updated .