Village of Royalton
Sewer operator · Illinois · Royalton
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
Ringed dots mark treatment plant outfalls. Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.
- Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)
- IL0023337
- Wastewater outlets
- 1 treatment plant outfall listed by EPA or state agencies; no combined sewer outfall is listed · List
- Waters listed as receiving wastewater
- BIG MUDDY CREEK
- Tracked waters
- Big Muddy River, IL
- Discharge records counted
- 5 records · latest
- Total reported volume in these records
- 18,787,500 gallons across the 3 records that give a volume (2 without one)
These totals reflect the records we track. Missing volumes and gaps in reporting limit comparisons between operators.
Sources: EPA ECHO and the operator and state sources linked below. Counts use the discharge records on this page. Updated 2026-11-06 09:03 UTC.
Public notices and alerts
We do not list an alert service for this operator yet. Check its website.
Source: Village of Royalton's public notice and alert pages and the state's notification records.
Report a missing notice or error
Wastewater outlets
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
1 treatment plant outfall listed by EPA or state agencies; no combined sewer outfall is listed.
Treatment plant outfalls
1 outfall
- Outfall 001 · receiving water in the permit: BIG MUDDY CREEK · Big Muddy River, IL · status not published
Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) permit records (ICIS-NPDES permitted features): where a treatment plant’s permitted discharge leaves. No national source says whether a plant outfall is open or closed.
Reports and advisories
Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
| When | Report | Status |
|---|---|---|
| to Mar 17, 2:30 PM CDT | Big Muddy River · Bypass · 6.62 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jun 28 ’25, 3:30 PM CDT | Big Muddy River · Bypass · 12.07 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to May 27 ’25, 3:00 PM CDT | Big Muddy River · Bypass · 97,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to May 13 ’25 | Big Muddy River · Bypass · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Apr 12 ’25 | Big Muddy River · Bypass · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
Sources: EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators), retrieved 2026-11-06 08:38 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.
All reports in Illinois by year: 2026 (1 from Village of Royalton) · 2025 (4 from Village of Royalton)
Other sewer operators on these waters
- Big Muddy River, IL: City of Carbondale, City of Grand Tower, City of Hurst, City of Murphysboro, City of Zeigler, Village of Desoto
The last 90 days
No discharge, advisory or caution periods are shown for the waters this sewer operator's reports were placed on in this time span. Check downstream stretches and source coverage.
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-06 09:03 UTC.
Reported discharges over time
Historical charts are not available here. See the reports and sources on this page.