DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

North Carolina / Sewer operators /

City of Durham

Sewer utility · North Carolina · Durham, Chapel Hill, Bahama

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Ringed dots mark treatment plant outfalls. Small hollow diamonds mark places named in its overflow reports (provisional). Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.

Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)
NC0023841, WQCS00005, NC0047597, NCG551131
Wastewater outlets
4 treatment plant outfalls listed by EPA or state agencies; 78 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations) · List
Waters listed as receiving wastewater
Ellerbe Creek; New Hope Creek; Flat River
Tracked waters
Ellerbe Creek, NC, New Hope Creek, NC, Third Fork Creek, NC, Little Lick Creek, NC, Eno River, NC, Northeast Creek, NC
Discharge records counted
79 records · latest
Total reported volume in these records
7,699,168 gallons across the 78 records that give a volume (1 without one)

These totals reflect the records we track. Missing volumes and gaps in reporting limit comparisons between operators.

Sources: EPA ECHO and the operator and state sources linked below. Counts use the discharge records on this page. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.

Public notices and alerts

We do not list an alert service for this operator yet. Check its website.

Its public-notice channels

Source: City of Durham's public notice and alert pages and the state's notification records; DirtyWaterWatch register of public-notice channels and its page monitor.

Report a missing notice or error

Wastewater outlets

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

4 treatment plant outfalls listed by EPA or state agencies; 78 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations).

Treatment plant outfalls

4 outfalls

Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) permit records (ICIS-NPDES permitted features): where a treatment plant’s permitted discharge leaves. No national source says whether a plant outfall is open or closed.

Places named in overflow reports (provisional)

78 places

Provisional location from overflow reports. Where the operator's own reports put an overflow: a manhole, pump station or plant. Not an outfall listed in a permit.

  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Mar 24, 2023 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Oct 16, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Sep 11, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Aug 16, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Aug 14, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Jul 29, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Jul 1, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Jun 22, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Jun 21, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Jun 1, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest May 26, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest May 15, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet

Showing 12 of 78.

Source: the operator's own overflow reports to the state. DirtyWaterWatch groups reports within 50 metres into one place and finds the water below it with U.S. Geological Survey river maps (NLDI, NHDPlus). Not a permitted outfall; provisional until an official outfall record exists.

Reports and advisories

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.

Reports linked to City of Durham, newest first
WhenReportStatus
to 11:20 AMThird Fork Creek · 2400-2410 Francis Street, City Of Durham · SSO · 700 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 8:50 AM“Goose Creek” · 1204 Franklin St, Durham, North Carolina, 27701 · SSO · 925 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 5:29 PM“Sandy Creek” · 2716 Campus Walk Avenue, Durham, NC · SSO · 248 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Aug 15, 12:45 PMEllerbe Creek · 509 Mallard Avenue, Durham · SSO · 2,250 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 3:05 PM“Sandy Creek” · 812 Underwood Avenue, Unit 3, Durham · SSO · 700 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 10:30 PMEllerbe Creek · 1405 North Miami Boulevard, Durham · SSO · 865 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 9:03 AMEllerbe Creek · 2817 Ashe Street, Durham · SSO · 900 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Jun 22, 12:15 AM“Sandy Creek” · 1508 Chapel Hill Road, Unit B, Durham · SSO · 2,925 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 5:35 PM“Unnamed tributary to Third Fork” · 228 Monticello Avenue, Durham · SSO · 400 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 7:40 PM“Mud Creek” · 500 White Pine Drive, Durham · SSO · 615 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 5:58 PM“Sandy Creek” · 1616 Pinecrest Road, Durham · SSO · 138 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 7:55 PMEllerbe Creek · 1827 Milan Street, Durham · SSO · 3,630 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 1:45 PMLittle Lick Creek · 12 Knob Court, Durham · SSO · 445 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 9:51 AMThird Fork Creek · 3300 Fayetteville Street, Durham · SSO · 900 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 12:45 PMEllerbe Creek · 800 Taylor Street, Durham · SSO · 655 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 9:40 PM“Warren Creek” · 2301 Croasdaile Farm Parkway, Durham, Nc, 27705 · SSO · 975 gallons report · notice · mapended
Water not mapped · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to 7:35 AM“Sandy Creek” · 1501 Campus Drive, Durham · SSO · 2,050 gallons report · notice · mapended
Water not mapped · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
Little Lick Creek · SSO · 1,600 gallons report · notice · mapended
Water not mapped · SSO · 52,313 gallons report · notice · mapended
Eno River · SSO · 120 gallons report · notice · mapended
Eno River · Eno Lift Station · SSO · 6.8 million gallons report · notice · mapended
“Little Creek” · SSO · 32 gallons report · notice · mapended
“Sandy Creek” · SSO · 82,650 gallons report · notice · mapended

Sources: NC DEQ DWR "SSOs and Bypasses" ArcGIS layer, retrieved 2026-11-05 01:08 UTC; NC DWR Sanitary Sewer Overflows September 2022 through December 2025 (ArcGIS), retrieved 2026-11-04 06:57 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

Download these reports as CSV

Showing the latest 25 records of 80 records.See them all with filters.

All reports in North Carolina by year: 2026 (19 from City of Durham) · 2025 (15 from City of Durham) · 2024 (17 from City of Durham) · 2023 (23 from City of Durham) · 2022 (6 from City of Durham)

Other sewer operators on these waters

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: discharge or advisory reported. Amber: caution. Hatched amber: end not confirmed. Plum: algal bloom advisory. Red or amber with a light line inside: beach advisory or caution. Dotted: monthly report (days with discharge, dates not given). Grey: no current status on the water outline. Purple hatching: source update overdue.
  • Caution: to
    1 report: Third Fork Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Third Fork Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: Ellerbe Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Ellerbe Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.

Reported discharges over time

  • Discharges reported by City of Durham, last 12 months18December 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
  • Days with a discharge reported by City of Durham, last 12 months19December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
  • Hours with a discharge or advisory status from City of Durham's reports, last 12 months58December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
  • 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status (City of Durham)0.9%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.

Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater.

Reported discharges per month

79 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage

No tracked source covers January 2022 to August 2022.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month

Hours when a water had a discharge or advisory status from this sewer operator's reports, under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage

No tracked source covers January 2022 to August 2022. 62 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Days with a reported discharge per month

A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.

  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage

No tracked source covers January 2022 to August 2022.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported volume per year

Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 78 reports that gave a volume as a number (1 did not).

  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited recordsLimited records

1 of 79 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year

Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited recordsLimited records

62 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Share of the May to October season with a discharge or advisory status

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Season with incomplete source coverage

Seasons with incomplete source coverage: 2022. The share is of the hours a source covered. 62 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by calendar month, all years

Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.

Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by wastewater outlet

Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 30, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table
How these charts are counted

We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.

  • nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025: records from September 1, 2022 to February 15, 2026
  • nc-dwr-sso-2026: records from January 2, 2026 to the latest update