DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

North Carolina / Sewer operators /

City of Hickory

Sewer utility · North Carolina · Hickory, Catawba

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Ringed dots mark treatment plant outfalls. Small hollow diamonds mark places named in its overflow reports (provisional). Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.

Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)
NC0020401, WQCS00020, NC0025542, NC0040797
Wastewater outlets
4 treatment plant outfalls listed by EPA or state agencies; 74 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations) · List
Waters listed as receiving wastewater
CATAWBA RIVER (Lake Hickory below elevation 935); Lyle Creek; Henry Fork
Tracked waters
Catawba River, NC, Henry Fork, NC, Lyle Creek, NC, Lake Hickory, NC, Frye Creek, NC, Clark Creek, NC, Cripple Creek, NC, Horseford Creek, NC, Lake Norman, NC, Longview Creek, NC, Miller Branch, NC, Rock Creek, NC, Geitner Branch, NC, Long Shoal Creek, NC, Snow Creek, NC, Barger Branch, NC
Discharge records counted
90 records · latest
Total reported volume in these records
203,536 gallons across the 88 records that give a volume (2 without one)

These totals reflect the records we track. Missing volumes and gaps in reporting limit comparisons between operators.

Sources: EPA ECHO and the operator and state sources linked below. Counts use the discharge records on this page. Updated 2026-11-05 06:27 UTC.

Public notices and alerts

We do not list an alert service for this operator yet. Check its website.

Its public-notice channels

Source: City of Hickory's public notice and alert pages and the state's notification records; DirtyWaterWatch register of public-notice channels and its page monitor.

Report a missing notice or error

Wastewater outlets

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

4 treatment plant outfalls listed by EPA or state agencies; 74 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations).

Treatment plant outfalls

4 outfalls

Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) permit records (ICIS-NPDES permitted features): where a treatment plant’s permitted discharge leaves. No national source says whether a plant outfall is open or closed.

Places named in overflow reports (provisional)

74 places · 3 not on the map (reports say the sewage reached no water)

Provisional location from overflow reports. Where the operator's own reports put an overflow: a manhole, pump station or plant. Not an outfall listed in a permit.

  • Reported place · 3 overflow reports, latest Sep 29, 2026 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 3 overflow reports, latest Jul 23, 2026 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 3 overflow reports, latest Mar 26, 2026 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 3 overflow reports, latest Oct 8, 2024 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 3 overflow reports, latest Sep 27, 2024 · confidence high · no water record yet · not on the map: its reports say the sewage did not reach a water
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Aug 18, 2026 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Feb 18, 2026 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Nov 13, 2025 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Mar 8, 2025 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Aug 12, 2024 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Oct 11, 2023 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Oct 14, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet

Showing 12 of 74.

Source: the operator's own overflow reports to the state. DirtyWaterWatch groups reports within 50 metres into one place and finds the water below it with U.S. Geological Survey river maps (NLDI, NHDPlus). Not a permitted outfall; provisional until an official outfall record exists.

Reports and advisories

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.

Reports linked to City of Hickory, newest first
WhenReportStatus
to 2:30 PMLake Hickory · 321 31st Avenue, Hickory · SSO · 120 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 12:30 AMCatawba River, Lake Hickory · 535 43rd Avenue Court, Hickory · SSO · 60 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 10:20 AMFrye Creek · 908 Old Lenior Rd NW · SSO · 670 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 11:42 AMHenry Fork · 2287 1st St SE, Hickory, North Carolina, 28602 · SSO · 5,550 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 6:35 PMClark Creek · Sam's Club · SSO · 500 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 10:40 AMCripple Creek · 818 2nd Street Pl NE, Hickory, North Carolina, 28601 · SSO · 920 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 2:00 AMCatawba River, Lake Hickory · 658-698 21st Northwest Avenue, Hickory · SSO · 200 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 3:09 PMHenry Fork · 2287 1st Street, Hickory · SSO · 11,305 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 11:40 AMLake Hickory · 179 Wildlife access road · SSO · 6,080 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 6:55 PMWater not mapped · 1735 29th Avenue Drive, Hickory · SSO · 2,333 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 6:05 PMLyle Creek · 2048 Willow Ridge Street, Conover · SSO · 2,120 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 8:07 PMLake Hickory · 4250 2nd Northeast Street, Hickory, Nc, Hickory · SSO · 872 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 4:50 PMHorseford Creek · 1420 11th Street Drive, Unit 15, Hickory · SSO · 150 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 12:37 PMCatawba River, Lake Hickory · 715 21st Avenue Drive, Hickory · SSO · 334 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 1:03 PMLyle Creek · 516 32nd street ne · SSO · 762 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 10:50 PMLake Norman · 1445 Mollys Backbone Road, Catawba · SSO · 1,800 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 8:30 PMFrye Creek · 1016 Old Lenoir Road, Hickory · SSO · 4,500 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 1:45 PMFrye Creek · 908 Old Lenoir Road, Hickory · SSO · 1,890 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Mar 23, 3:30 AMLongview Creek · 789 15th Street, Hickory · SSO · 1,940 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 3:40 PMCatawba River, Lake Hickory · 2200 6th Street, Hickory · SSO · 70 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 11:55 AM“Falling Creek” · 915 7th street NE Hickory, NC · SSO · 45 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 2:30 PMClark Creek · 2686 Camelot Drive, Newton, Nc, 28658 · SSO · 318 gallons report · notice · mapended
Water not mapped · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to 6:00 PMMiller Branch · 2760 Highway 70 Southeast, Hickory · SSO · 150 gallons report · notice · mapended
Lyle Creek · 104 6th Ave NE · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended

Sources: NC DEQ DWR "SSOs and Bypasses" ArcGIS layer, retrieved 2026-11-05 01:08 UTC; NC DWR Sanitary Sewer Overflows September 2022 through December 2025 (ArcGIS), retrieved 2026-11-04 06:57 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

Download these reports as CSV

Showing the latest 25 records of 91 records.See them all with filters.

All reports in North Carolina by year: 2026 (24 from City of Hickory) · 2025 (13 from City of Hickory) · 2024 (29 from City of Hickory) · 2023 (16 from City of Hickory) · 2022 (9 from City of Hickory)

Other sewer operators on these waters

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: discharge or advisory reported. Amber: caution. Hatched amber: end not confirmed. Plum: algal bloom advisory. Red or amber with a light line inside: beach advisory or caution. Dotted: monthly report (days with discharge, dates not given). Grey: no current status on the water outline. Purple hatching: source update overdue.
  • Caution: to
    2 reports: Catawba River 1, Lake Hickory 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Lake Hickory 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: Catawba River 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Catawba River 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: Frye Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Frye Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: Henry Fork 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Henry Fork 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: Clark Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Clark Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

4 earlier periods appear as you scroll.

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 06:27 UTC.

Reported discharges over time

  • Discharges reported by City of Hickory, last 12 months23December 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
  • Days with a discharge reported by City of Hickory, last 12 months23December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
  • Hours with a discharge or advisory status from City of Hickory's reports, last 12 months61December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
  • 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status (City of Hickory)0.7%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.

Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater.

Reported discharges per month

90 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage

No tracked source covers January 2022 to August 2022.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month

Hours when a water had a discharge or advisory status from this sewer operator's reports, under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage

No tracked source covers January 2022 to August 2022. 67 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Days with a reported discharge per month

A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.

  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage

No tracked source covers January 2022 to August 2022.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Reported volume per year

Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 88 reports that gave a volume as a number (2 did not).

  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited recordsLimited records

2 of 90 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year

Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited recordsLimited records

67 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Share of the May to October season with a discharge or advisory status

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Season with incomplete source coverage

Seasons with incomplete source coverage: 2022. The share is of the hours a source covered. 67 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by calendar month, all years

Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.

Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by wastewater outlet

Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 28, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table
How these charts are counted

We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.

  • nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025: records from September 1, 2022 to February 15, 2026
  • nc-dwr-sso-2026: records from January 2, 2026 to the latest update