DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

North Carolina / Sewer operators /

City of Kings Mountain

Sewer utility · North Carolina · Kings Mountain, Grover

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Ringed dots mark treatment plant outfalls. Small hollow diamonds mark places named in its overflow reports (provisional).

Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)
NC0020737, WQCS00036, NC0090131
Wastewater outlets
2 treatment plant outfalls listed by EPA or state agencies; 16 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations) · List
Waters listed as receiving wastewater
Buffalo Creek; Dixon Branch
Tracked waters
Buffalo Creek, NC, Beason Creek, NC, McGill Creek, NC, Crowders Creek, NC, Potts Creek, NC, Abernethy Creek, NC
Discharge records counted
18 records · latest
Total reported volume in these records
183,420 gallons across the 16 records that give a volume (2 without one)

These totals reflect the records we track. Missing volumes and gaps in reporting limit comparisons between operators.

Sources: EPA ECHO and the operator and state sources linked below. Counts use the discharge records on this page. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.

Public notices and alerts

We do not list an alert service for this operator yet. Check its website.

Its public-notice channels

Source: City of Kings Mountain's public notice and alert pages and the state's notification records; DirtyWaterWatch register of public-notice channels and its page monitor.

Report a missing notice or error

Wastewater outlets

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2 treatment plant outfalls listed by EPA or state agencies; 16 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations).

Treatment plant outfalls

2 outfalls · 1 with no published location
  • Outfall 001 · receiving water in the permit: Buffalo Creek · Buffalo Creek, NC · status not published
  • Outfall 001 · receiving water in the permit: Dixon Branch · no water record yet · status not published · location not published

Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) permit records (ICIS-NPDES permitted features): where a treatment plant’s permitted discharge leaves. No national source says whether a plant outfall is open or closed.

Places named in overflow reports (provisional)

16 places · 2 not on the map (reports say the sewage reached no water)

Provisional location from overflow reports. Where the operator's own reports put an overflow: a manhole, pump station or plant. Not an outfall listed in a permit.

  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Apr 15, 2026 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Jan 25, 2023 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Sep 3, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Jul 26, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest May 2, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Jan 6, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Dec 10, 2025 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Dec 10, 2025 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Apr 29, 2025 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Mar 15, 2025 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Sep 27, 2024 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Sep 27, 2024 · confidence medium · no water record yet · not on the map: its reports say the sewage did not reach a water

Showing 12 of 16.

Source: the operator's own overflow reports to the state. DirtyWaterWatch groups reports within 50 metres into one place and finds the water below it with U.S. Geological Survey river maps (NLDI, NHDPlus). Not a permitted outfall; provisional until an official outfall record exists.

Reports and advisories

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.

Reports linked to City of Kings Mountain, newest first
WhenReportStatus
to 8:55 PMBeason Creek · 801-899 Williamsburg Ct, Kings Mountain, North Carolina, 28086 · SSO · 2,750 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Jul 27, 10:00 AMMcGill Creek · 509 East King Street, Kings Mountain · SSO · 1,500 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 4:30 PMBeason Creek · 24 Crocker Road, Kings Mountain, Nc · SSO · 500 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Apr 16, 11:45 AMCrowders Creek · 715-723 York Road, Shelby, Nc · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
Beason Creek · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to 12:20 PMBeason Creek · 813 Landing Street, Kings Mountain · SSO · 1,600 gallons report · notice · mapended
Water not mapped · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
Water not mapped · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
Potts Creek · SSO · 550 gallons report · notice · mapended
Potts Creek · Stoney Point Rd & Tiara Dr, Kings Mountain, NC, 28086, USA · SSO · 113,120 gallons report · notice · mapended
Crowders Creek · SSO · 1,800 gallons report · notice · mapended
Beason Creek · SSO · 950 gallons report · notice · mapended
Water not mapped · 1146 York Rd. Kings Mountain · SSO · 750 gallons report · notice · mapended
Abernethy Creek · SSO · 800 gallons report · notice · mapended
Water not mapped · SSO · 600 gallons report · notice · mapended
McGill Creek · SSO · 28,800 gallons report · notice · mapended
Beason Creek · SSO · 9,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
Beason Creek · SSO · 19,500 gallons report · notice · mapended
“Kings Creek” · 134 Tin Mine Road kings Mountain NC 28086 · SSO · 200 gallons report · notice · mapended

Sources: NC DEQ DWR "SSOs and Bypasses" ArcGIS layer, retrieved 2026-11-05 01:08 UTC; NC DWR Sanitary Sewer Overflows September 2022 through December 2025 (ArcGIS), retrieved 2026-11-04 06:57 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

Download these reports as CSV

All reports in North Carolina by year: 2026 (6 from City of Kings Mountain) · 2025 (4 from City of Kings Mountain) · 2024 (6 from City of Kings Mountain) · 2023 (2 from City of Kings Mountain) · 2022 (1 from City of Kings Mountain)

Other sewer operators on these waters

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: discharge or advisory reported. Amber: caution. Hatched amber: end not confirmed. Plum: algal bloom advisory. Red or amber with a light line inside: beach advisory or caution. Dotted: monthly report (days with discharge, dates not given). Grey: no current status on the water outline. Purple hatching: source update overdue.
  • Caution: to
    1 report: Beason Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Beason Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.

Reported discharges over time

  • Discharges reported by City of Kings Mountain, last 12 months7December 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
  • Days with a discharge reported by City of Kings Mountain, last 12 months8December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
  • Hours with a discharge or advisory status from City of Kings Mountain's reports, last 12 months47December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
  • 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status (City of Kings Mountain)0.5%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.

Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater.

Reported discharges per month

18 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage

No tracked source covers January 2022 to August 2022.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month

Hours when a water had a discharge or advisory status from this sewer operator's reports, under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage

No tracked source covers January 2022 to August 2022. 13 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Days with a reported discharge per month

A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.

  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage

No tracked source covers January 2022 to August 2022.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported volume per year

Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 16 reports that gave a volume as a number (2 did not).

  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited recordsLimited records

2 of 18 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year

Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited recordsLimited records

13 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Share of the May to October season with a discharge or advisory status

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Season with incomplete source coverage

Seasons with incomplete source coverage: 2022. The share is of the hours a source covered. 13 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by calendar month, all years

Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.

Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by wastewater outlet

Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 8 of 8, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table
How these charts are counted

We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.

  • nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025: records from September 1, 2022 to February 15, 2026
  • nc-dwr-sso-2026: records from January 2, 2026 to the latest update