DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

North Carolina / Sewer operators /

City of Salisbury

Sewer utility · North Carolina · Salisbury, East Spencer

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Ringed dots mark treatment plant outfalls. Small hollow diamonds mark places named in its overflow reports (provisional). Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.

Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)
NC0023884, WQCS00019, NCG110120
Wastewater outlets
7 treatment plant outfalls listed by EPA or state agencies; 25 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations) · List
Waters listed as receiving wastewater
YADKIN RIVER (including upper portion of High Ro; Town Creek
Tracked waters
Town Creek, NC, Town Creek, NC, Yadkin River, NC, Second Creek, NC, Grants Creek, NC, Crane Creek, NC, Church Creek, NC, Cold Water Creek, NC
Discharge records counted
29 records · latest
Total reported volume in these records
473,290 gallons across the 28 records that give a volume (1 without one)

These totals reflect the records we track. Missing volumes and gaps in reporting limit comparisons between operators.

Sources: EPA ECHO and the operator and state sources linked below. Counts use the discharge records on this page. Updated 2026-11-05 06:27 UTC.

Public notices and alerts

We do not list an alert service for this operator yet. Check its website.

Its public-notice channels

Source: City of Salisbury's public notice and alert pages and the state's notification records; DirtyWaterWatch register of public-notice channels and its page monitor.

Report a missing notice or error

Wastewater outlets

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

7 treatment plant outfalls listed by EPA or state agencies; 25 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations).

Treatment plant outfalls

7 outfalls

Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) permit records (ICIS-NPDES permitted features): where a treatment plant’s permitted discharge leaves. No national source says whether a plant outfall is open or closed.

Places named in overflow reports (provisional)

25 places

Provisional location from overflow reports. Where the operator's own reports put an overflow: a manhole, pump station or plant. Not an outfall listed in a permit.

  • Reported place · 3 overflow reports, latest Jun 5, 2025 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Sep 11, 2024 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Aug 8, 2024 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Oct 3, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Aug 9, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest May 29, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Mar 12, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Mar 3, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Jan 24, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Jun 5, 2025 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Jan 9, 2025 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Nov 30, 2024 · confidence medium · no water record yet

Showing 12 of 25.

Source: the operator's own overflow reports to the state. DirtyWaterWatch groups reports within 50 metres into one place and finds the water below it with U.S. Geological Survey river maps (NLDI, NHDPlus). Not a permitted outfall; provisional until an official outfall record exists.

Reports and advisories

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.

Reports linked to City of Salisbury, newest first
WhenReportStatus
to 1:53 PMSecond Creek · 403 Briarcliff Rd, Rockwell, North Carolina, 28138 · SSO · 2,024 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 11:41 PMSecond Creek · 445 Gold Hill Avenue, Building Lift Station # 45, Rockwell · SSO · 2,050 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 2:05 PMGrants Creek · 305 South Mccoy Road, Salisbury · SSO · 1,125 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 5:15 PMTown Creek · 209 Grant Street, East Spencer · SSO · 350 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 11:30 AMGrants Creek · 411 Bethel Drive, Salisbury · SSO · 150 gallons report · notice · mapended
Water not mapped · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to 2:04 PMSecond Creek · 406 Briarcliff Road, Rockwell · SSO · 200 gallons report · notice · mapended
Second Creek · SSO · 8,800 gallons report · notice · mapended
Second Creek · SSO · 2,300 gallons report · notice · mapended
Town Creek · Correll street East Spencer NC 28144 · SSO · 100 gallons report · notice · mapended
Grants Creek · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
Crane Creek · SSO · 3,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
Grants Creek · SSO · 375 gallons report · notice · mapended
Grants Creek · SSO · 14,400 gallons report · notice · mapended
Grants Creek · SSO · 201,600 gallons report · notice · mapended
Second Creek · 105 Kluttz Road Rockwell 28138 · SSO · 149,400 gallons report · notice · mapended
Church Creek · SSO · 2,250 gallons report · notice · mapended
Town Creek · 2828 Stokes Ferry Rd Salisbury 28146 · SSO · 550 gallons report · notice · mapended
Second Creek · SSO · 1,500 gallons report · notice · mapended
Second Creek · SSO · 42,075 gallons report · notice · mapended
“Second Creek” · 1299 Childress Circle Rockwell 28138 · SSO · 9,738 gallons report · notice · mapended
Second Creek · 445 Gold Hill Ave Rockwell 28138 · SSO · 5,500 gallons report · notice · mapended
Cold Water Creek · 89 1st Ave China Grove 28083 · SSO · 3,750 gallons report · notice · mapended
“Second Creek” · 6701 Statesville Blvd, Salisbury · SSO · 7,200 gallons report · notice · mapended
“Second Creek (North Second Creek)” · SSO · 2,000 gallons report · notice · mapended

Sources: NC DEQ DWR "SSOs and Bypasses" ArcGIS layer, retrieved 2026-11-05 01:08 UTC; NC DWR Sanitary Sewer Overflows September 2022 through December 2025 (ArcGIS), retrieved 2026-11-04 06:57 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

Download these reports as CSV

Showing the latest 25 records of 30 records.See them all with filters.

All reports in North Carolina by year: 2026 (7 from City of Salisbury) · 2025 (3 from City of Salisbury) · 2024 (18 from City of Salisbury) · 2023 (2 from City of Salisbury)

Other sewer operators on these waters

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: discharge or advisory reported. Amber: caution. Hatched amber: end not confirmed. Plum: algal bloom advisory. Red or amber with a light line inside: beach advisory or caution. Dotted: monthly report (days with discharge, dates not given). Grey: no current status on the water outline. Purple hatching: source update overdue.
  • Caution: to
    1 report: Second Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Second Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: Second Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Second Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 06:27 UTC.

Reported discharges over time

  • Discharges reported by City of Salisbury, last 12 months6December 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
  • Days with a discharge reported by City of Salisbury, last 12 months6December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
  • Hours with a discharge or advisory status from City of Salisbury's reports, last 12 months8December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
  • 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status (City of Salisbury)0.1%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.

Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater.

Reported discharges per month

29 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage

No tracked source covers January 2022 to August 2022.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month

Hours when a water had a discharge or advisory status from this sewer operator's reports, under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage

No tracked source covers January 2022 to August 2022. 23 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Days with a reported discharge per month

A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.

  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage

No tracked source covers January 2022 to August 2022.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Reported volume per year

Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 28 reports that gave a volume as a number (1 did not).

  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited recordsLimited records

1 of 29 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year

Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited recordsLimited records

23 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Share of the May to October season with a discharge or advisory status

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Season with incomplete source coverage

Seasons with incomplete source coverage: 2022. The share is of the hours a source covered. 23 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by calendar month, all years

Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.

Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by wastewater outlet

Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 17, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table
How these charts are counted

We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.

  • nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025: records from September 1, 2022 to February 15, 2026
  • nc-dwr-sso-2026: records from January 2, 2026 to the latest update