DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

North Carolina / Sewer operators /

Union County

Sewer utility · North Carolina · Indian Trail, Monroe, Waxhaw, Unionville

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Ringed dots mark treatment plant outfalls. Small hollow diamonds mark places named in its overflow reports (provisional).

Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)
NC0069523, WQCS00054, NC0069841, NC0085359, NC0085812, NC0089893
Wastewater outlets
5 treatment plant outfalls listed by EPA or state agencies; 35 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations) · List
Waters listed as receiving wastewater
Clear Creek; North Fork Crooked Creek; Twelvemile Creek; Crooked Creek; Richardson Creek
Tracked waters
North Fork Crooked Creek, NC, Richardson Creek, NC, Twelvemile Creek, NC, South Fork Crooked Creek, NC, Goose Creek, NC, Price Mill Creek, NC, West Fork Twelvemile Creek, NC, East Fork Twelvemile Creek, NC, Rone Branch, NC
Discharge records counted
54 records · latest
Total reported volume in these records
950,385 gallons across the 52 records that give a volume (2 without one)

These totals reflect the records we track. Missing volumes and gaps in reporting limit comparisons between operators.

Sources: EPA ECHO and the operator and state sources linked below. Counts use the discharge records on this page. Updated 2026-11-05 06:27 UTC.

Public notices and alerts

We do not list an alert service for this operator yet. Check its website.

Its public-notice channels

Source: Union County's public notice and alert pages and the state's notification records; DirtyWaterWatch register of public-notice channels and its page monitor.

Report a missing notice or error

Wastewater outlets

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

5 treatment plant outfalls listed by EPA or state agencies; 35 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations).

Treatment plant outfalls

5 outfalls · 1 with no published location
  • Outfall 001 · receiving water in the permit: Clear Creek · no water record yet · status not published
  • Outfall 001 · receiving water in the permit: North Fork Crooked Creek · North Fork Crooked Creek, NC · status not published
  • Outfall 001 · receiving water in the permit: Twelvemile Creek · Twelvemile Creek, NC · status not published · location not published
  • Outfall 001 · receiving water in the permit: Crooked Creek · no water record yet · status not published
  • Outfall 001 · receiving water in the permit: Richardson Creek · Richardson Creek, NC · status not published

Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) permit records (ICIS-NPDES permitted features): where a treatment plant’s permitted discharge leaves. No national source says whether a plant outfall is open or closed.

Places named in overflow reports (provisional)

35 places · 1 not on the map (reports say the sewage reached no water)

Provisional location from overflow reports. Where the operator's own reports put an overflow: a manhole, pump station or plant. Not an outfall listed in a permit.

  • Reported place · 12 overflow reports, latest Aug 21, 2026 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Jul 25, 2026 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Apr 3, 2025 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Mar 16, 2025 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Mar 5, 2024 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest May 24, 2023 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest May 23, 2023 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Feb 13, 2023 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Jan 31, 2023 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Aug 13, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Apr 7, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Mar 10, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet

Showing 12 of 35.

Source: the operator's own overflow reports to the state. DirtyWaterWatch groups reports within 50 metres into one place and finds the water below it with U.S. Geological Survey river maps (NLDI, NHDPlus). Not a permitted outfall; provisional until an official outfall record exists.

Reports and advisories

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.

Reports linked to Union County, newest first
WhenReportStatus
to 9:15 PMSouth Fork Crooked Creek · 4015 Sardis Church Rd, Monroe, North Carolina, 28110 · SSO · 1,300 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 8:00 AM“Lacey Branch” · 4717 Magnolia Ridge Drive, Waxhaw · SSO · 200 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 5:05 PMSouth Fork Crooked Creek · 4004 Sardis Church Road, Unit C, Monroe · SSO · 23,990 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Jul 24, 12:00 PMSouth Fork Crooked Creek · 4015 Sardis Church Road, Indian Trail · SSO · 234,300 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 5:00 AMSouth Fork Crooked Creek · 4015 Sardis Church Road, Indian Trail · SSO · 2,100 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 5:50 PMSouth Fork Crooked Creek · 4004 Sardis Church Road, Unit C, Monroe · SSO · 36,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 5:00 PMTwelvemile Creek · 1104 Bentley Park Drive, Waxhaw · SSO · 5,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Mar 11, 1:00 AMGoose Creek · 6600 Stoney Ridge Drive, Indian Trail · SSO · 1,100 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 9:30 PMSouth Fork Crooked Creek · 4015 Sardis Church Road, Indian Trail, Nc, 28079 · SSO · 13,050 gallons report · notice · mapended
Water not mapped · Beside 1403 Cheyenne Avenue, Marvin, NC 28173 · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
Water not mapped · 1008 Terrapin St. Indian Trail, NC 28079 · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
South Fork Crooked Creek · 4015 Sardis Church Rd. Monroe, NC 28110 · SSO · 19,265 gallons report · notice · mapended
South Fork Crooked Creek · 4015 Sardis Church Rd. Monroe, NC 28110 · SSO · 46,430 gallons report · notice · mapended
South Fork Crooked Creek · SSO · 300 gallons report · notice · mapended
South Fork Crooked Creek · SSO · 600 gallons report · notice · mapended
Goose Creek · SSO · 8,250 gallons report · notice · mapended
“Salem Creek” · 1403 HWY 205, Marshville · SSO · 13,780 gallons report · notice · mapended
South Fork Crooked Creek · SSO · 19,950 gallons report · notice · mapended
“Small Branch” · SSO · 800 gallons report · notice · mapended
South Fork Crooked Creek · 4015 Sardis Church Rd, Monroe NC 28110 · SSO · 18,050 gallons report · notice · mapended
South Fork Crooked Creek · SSO · 59,425 gallons report · notice · mapended
North Fork Crooked Creek · SSO · 750 gallons report · notice · mapended
South Fork Crooked Creek · SSO · 55,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
Price Mill Creek · SSO · 1,575 gallons report · notice · mapended
South Fork Crooked Creek · SSO · 705 gallons report · notice · mapended

Sources: NC DEQ DWR "SSOs and Bypasses" ArcGIS layer, retrieved 2026-11-05 01:08 UTC; NC DWR Sanitary Sewer Overflows September 2022 through December 2025 (ArcGIS), retrieved 2026-11-04 06:57 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

Download these reports as CSV

Showing the latest 25 records of 54 records.See them all with filters.

All reports in North Carolina by year: 2026 (9 from Union County) · 2025 (13 from Union County) · 2024 (14 from Union County) · 2023 (17 from Union County) · 2022 (1 from Union County)

Other sewer operators on these waters

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: discharge or advisory reported. Amber: caution. Hatched amber: end not confirmed. Plum: algal bloom advisory. Red or amber with a light line inside: beach advisory or caution. Dotted: monthly report (days with discharge, dates not given). Grey: no current status on the water outline. Purple hatching: source update overdue.
  • Caution: to
    1 report: South Fork Crooked Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: South Fork Crooked Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 06:27 UTC.

Reported discharges over time

  • Discharges reported by Union County, last 12 months10December 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
  • Days with a discharge reported by Union County, last 12 months12December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
  • Hours with a discharge or advisory status from Union County's reports, last 12 months52December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
  • 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status (Union County)1.0%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.

Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater.

Reported discharges per month

54 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage

No tracked source covers January 2022 to August 2022.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month

Hours when a water had a discharge or advisory status from this sewer operator's reports, under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage

No tracked source covers January 2022 to August 2022. 45 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Days with a reported discharge per month

A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.

  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage

No tracked source covers January 2022 to August 2022.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Reported volume per year

Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 52 reports that gave a volume as a number (2 did not).

  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited recordsLimited records

2 of 54 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year

Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited recordsLimited records

45 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Share of the May to October season with a discharge or advisory status

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Season with incomplete source coverage

Seasons with incomplete source coverage: 2022. The share is of the hours a source covered. 45 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by calendar month, all years

Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.

Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by wastewater outlet

Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 18, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table
How these charts are counted

We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.

  • nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025: records from September 1, 2022 to February 15, 2026
  • nc-dwr-sso-2026: records from January 2, 2026 to the latest update