DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

North Carolina / Sewer operators /

City of Monroe

Sewer utility · North Carolina · Monroe

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Ringed dots mark treatment plant outfalls. Small hollow diamonds mark places named in its overflow reports (provisional).

Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)
NC0024333, WQCS00026
Wastewater outlets
2 treatment plant outfalls listed by EPA or state agencies; 23 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations) · List
Waters listed as receiving wastewater
Richardson Creek
Tracked waters
Richardson Creek, NC, Bearskin Creek, NC, Joes Branch, NC, Dry Fork, NC, Lick Branch, NC
Discharge records counted
24 records · latest
Total reported volume in these records
62,057 gallons across the 23 records that give a volume (1 without one)

These totals reflect the records we track. Missing volumes and gaps in reporting limit comparisons between operators.

Sources: EPA ECHO and the operator and state sources linked below. Counts use the discharge records on this page. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.

Public notices and alerts

We do not list an alert service for this operator yet. Check its website.

Its public-notice channels

Source: City of Monroe's public notice and alert pages and the state's notification records; DirtyWaterWatch register of public-notice channels and its page monitor.

Report a missing notice or error

Wastewater outlets

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2 treatment plant outfalls listed by EPA or state agencies; 23 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations).

Treatment plant outfalls

2 outfalls · 2 with no published location
  • Outfall 001 · receiving water in the permit: Richardson Creek · Richardson Creek, NC · status not published · location not published
  • Outfall 001P · receiving water in the permit: Richardson Creek · Richardson Creek, NC · status not published · location not published

Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) permit records (ICIS-NPDES permitted features): where a treatment plant’s permitted discharge leaves. No national source says whether a plant outfall is open or closed.

Places named in overflow reports (provisional)

23 places · 1 not on the map (reports say the sewage reached no water)

Provisional location from overflow reports. Where the operator's own reports put an overflow: a manhole, pump station or plant. Not an outfall listed in a permit.

  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Feb 21, 2024 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest May 30, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Mar 31, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet · not on the map: its reports say the sewage did not reach a water
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Jan 2, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Dec 16, 2025 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Aug 19, 2025 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Aug 14, 2025 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Jul 2, 2025 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Apr 28, 2025 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Mar 14, 2025 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Mar 29, 2024 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Mar 27, 2024 · confidence medium · no water record yet

Showing 12 of 23.

Source: the operator's own overflow reports to the state. DirtyWaterWatch groups reports within 50 metres into one place and finds the water below it with U.S. Geological Survey river maps (NLDI, NHDPlus). Not a permitted outfall; provisional until an official outfall record exists.

Reports and advisories

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.

Reports linked to City of Monroe, newest first
WhenReportStatus
to 5:50 PM“Crooked Creek” · 4004 Sardis Church Road, Unit C, Monroe · SSO · 36,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 1:14 PMWater not mapped · 210 Heath Nash Street, Monroe · SSO · 189 gallons report · notice · mapended
Richardson Creek · SSO occured in a brand new subdivision at approximately 2124 Appalachian Way, Monroe, NC. · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to 8:20 AM“Unnamed tributary to Stewarts Creek” · 407 Scout Lane, Monroe · SSO · 100 gallons report · notice · mapended
Richardson Creek · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
Bearskin Creek · 322 East Windsor Street, Monroe NC · SSO · 268 gallons report · notice · mapended
Richardson Creek · SSO · 1,545 gallons report · notice · mapended
Joes Branch · SSO · 3,500 gallons report · notice · mapended
Bearskin Creek · near 621 Old Hwy 74, Monroe · SSO · 750 gallons report · notice · mapended
Dry Fork · SSO · 975 gallons report · notice · mapended
Bearskin Creek · SSO · 560 gallons report · notice · mapended
Richardson Creek · 1916 Wolf Pond Road 28112 · SSO · 900 gallons report · notice · mapended
Richardson Creek · 1208 Rosa Drive Monroe 28112 · SSO · 5,700 gallons report · notice · mapended
Richardson Creek · SSO · 1,500 gallons report · notice · mapended
Richardson Creek · Manhole · SSO · 720 gallons report · notice · mapended
Lick Branch · 2406 West Roosevelt Blvd · SSO · 480 gallons report · notice · mapended
“Stewarts Creek” · SSO · 1,800 gallons report · notice · mapended
Richardson Creek · SSO · 680 gallons report · notice · mapended
Richardson Creek · E Highway 74 by driving range at Monroe Country Club · SSO · 320 gallons report · notice · mapended
Lick Branch · SSO · 660 gallons report · notice · mapended
Richardson Creek · SSO · 4,240 gallons report · notice · mapended
Richardson Creek · SSO · 200 gallons report · notice · mapended
“Bearskin Creek” · SSO · 150 gallons report · notice · mapended
Bearskin Creek · SSO · 520 gallons report · notice · mapended
Richardson Creek · SSO · 300 gallons report · notice · mapended

Sources: NC DEQ DWR "SSOs and Bypasses" ArcGIS layer, retrieved 2026-11-05 01:08 UTC; NC DWR Sanitary Sewer Overflows September 2022 through December 2025 (ArcGIS), retrieved 2026-11-04 06:57 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

Download these reports as CSV

All reports in North Carolina by year: 2026 (4 from City of Monroe) · 2025 (6 from City of Monroe) · 2024 (5 from City of Monroe) · 2023 (7 from City of Monroe) · 2022 (3 from City of Monroe)

Other sewer operators on these waters

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: discharge or advisory reported. Amber: caution. Hatched amber: end not confirmed. Plum: algal bloom advisory. Red or amber with a light line inside: beach advisory or caution. Dotted: monthly report (days with discharge, dates not given). Grey: no current status on the water outline. Purple hatching: source update overdue.

No discharge, advisory or caution periods are shown for the waters this sewer operator's reports were placed on in this time span. Check downstream stretches and source coverage.

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.

Reported discharges over time

  • Discharges reported by City of Monroe, last 12 months4December 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
  • Days with a discharge reported by City of Monroe, last 12 months4December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
  • Hours with a discharge or advisory status from City of Monroe's reports, last 12 months10December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
  • 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status (City of Monroe)0.2%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.

Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater.

Reported discharges per month

24 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage

No tracked source covers January 2022 to August 2022.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month

Hours when a water had a discharge or advisory status from this sewer operator's reports, under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage

No tracked source covers January 2022 to August 2022. 21 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Days with a reported discharge per month

A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.

  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage

No tracked source covers January 2022 to August 2022.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported volume per year

Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 23 reports that gave a volume as a number (1 did not).

  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited recordsLimited records

1 of 24 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year

Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited recordsLimited records

21 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Share of the May to October season with a discharge or advisory status

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Season with incomplete source coverage

Seasons with incomplete source coverage: 2022. The share is of the hours a source covered. 21 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by calendar month, all years

Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.

Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by wastewater outlet

Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 10, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table
How these charts are counted

We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.

  • nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025: records from September 1, 2022 to February 15, 2026
  • nc-dwr-sso-2026: records from January 2, 2026 to the latest update