City of Lynchburg Water Resources (Lynchburg Regional Wastewater Treatment Plant)
Sewer utility with combined sewers · Virginia · Lynchburg
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
No outlet locations are in our records for this operator. Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.
- Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)
- VA0024970
- Wastewater outlets
- None with locations in our records (the state's records list 17)
- Waters listed as receiving wastewater
- James River; Blackwater Creek; Fishing Creek; Trib to Fishing Creek; Meeting House Branch
- Tracked waters
- James River, VA
- Discharge records counted
- 33 records · latest
- Total reported volume in these records
- 87,214 gallons across the 23 records that give a volume (10 without one)
These totals reflect the records we track. Missing volumes and gaps in reporting limit comparisons between operators.
Sources: EPA ECHO and the operator and state sources linked below. Counts use the discharge records on this page. Updated 2026-11-03 02:43 UTC.
Public notices and alerts
Pages where City of Lynchburg Water Resources (Lynchburg Regional Wastewater Treatment Plant) or the state publishes its notices (check them for an alert sign-up):
Source: City of Lynchburg Water Resources (Lynchburg Regional Wastewater Treatment Plant)'s public notice and alert pages and the state's notification records.
Report a missing notice or error
Wastewater outlets
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
Reports and advisories
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system.
| When | Report | Status |
|---|---|---|
| to Oct 8, 1:48 PM | “Ivy Creek” · SSO · 8,050 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 2:30 PM | “Ivy Creek; UT to Ivy Creek.” · SSO · 120 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Aug 3, 7:15 PM | “Fishing Creek; UT” · SSO · 45,150 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 4:31 PM | “Tomahawk Creek; UT” · SSO · 210 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Mar 24, 12:01 PM | “Blackwater Creek; UT” · SSO · 11,074 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 10:41 AM | “Ivy Creek; UT” · SSO · 53 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Feb 27, 10:00 AM | James River · SSO · 1,455 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 3:03 PM | “Blackwater Creek” · SSO · 1,485 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 10:15 AM | “Blackwater Creek” · SSO · 180 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 4:15 PM | “Tomahawk Creek” · SSO · 315 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 4:06 PM | “Fishing Creek” · SSO · 70 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 2:30 PM | James River · SSO · 210 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 11:30 AM | “Ivy Creek; UT” · SSO · 342 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 7:00 PM | “Blackwater Creek” · SSO · 630 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 2:30 PM | “Fishing Creek” · SSO · 60 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| James River · CSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended | |
| James River · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended | |
| “Fishing Creek” · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended | |
| to 10:44 AM | “Blackwater Creek; UT” · SSO · 455 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 4:51 PM | Water not mapped · SSO · 535 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| James River · SSO · volume in each report map | ended | |
| James River · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended | |
| James River · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended | |
| James River · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended | |
| James River · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended | |
| James River · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
Sources: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.
Showing the latest 25 records of 33 records.See them all with filters.
All reports in Virginia by year: 2026 (9 from City of Lynchburg Water Resources (Lynchburg Regional Wastewater Treatment Plant)) · 2025 (24 from City of Lynchburg Water Resources (Lynchburg Regional Wastewater Treatment Plant))
Other sewer operators on these waters
- James River, VA: Chesterfield County Utilities (Falling Creek and Proctors Creek WWTPs), City of Hopewell - Hopewell Water Renewal, City of Newport News Public Works, Wastewater Division, City of Richmond Department of Public Utilities (Richmond WWTP and combined sewer system), Hampton Roads Sanitation District (HRSD), Henrico County Department of Public Utilities (Henrico Water Reclamation Facility and collection system), Western Virginia Water Authority (Roanoke Regional Water Pollution Control Plant and collection system)
The last 90 days
No discharge, advisory or caution periods are shown for the waters this sewer operator's reports were placed on in this time span. Check downstream stretches and source coverage.
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-03 02:43 UTC.
Reported discharges over time
Historical charts are not available here. See the reports and sources on this page.