City of Hopewell - Hopewell Water Renewal
Sewer utility · Virginia · Hopewell, Prince George
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
No outlet locations are in our records for this operator. Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.
- Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)
- VA0066630
- Wastewater outlets
- None with locations in our records
- Waters listed as receiving wastewater
- Gravelly Run; Cattail Creek; Bailey Creek / Bailey Bay; Cabin Creek; Bear Creek; James River
- Tracked waters
- James River, VA, Appomattox River, VA
- Discharge records counted
- 57 records · latest
- Total reported volume in these records
- 5,907,528 gallons across the 50 records that give a volume (7 without one)
These totals reflect the records we track. Missing volumes and gaps in reporting limit comparisons between operators.
Sources: EPA ECHO and the operator and state sources linked below. Counts use the discharge records on this page. Updated 2026-11-03 02:43 UTC.
Public notices and alerts
We do not list an alert service for this operator yet. Check its website.
Source: City of Hopewell - Hopewell Water Renewal's public notice and alert pages and the state's notification records.
Report a missing notice or error
Wastewater outlets
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
Reports and advisories
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
| When | Report | Status |
|---|---|---|
| James River · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · map | to Nov 10, 9:07 AM | |
| “Cattail Creek” · SSO · 900 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Appomattox River · SSO · 500 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Water not mapped · SSO · 300 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Water not mapped · SSO · 1 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Water not mapped · SSO · 1 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| to 12:52 PM | “Cabin Creek” · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| Water not mapped · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended | |
| Water not mapped · SSO · 1 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Water not mapped · SSO · 1 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Water not mapped · SSO · 1 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Water not mapped · SSO · 1 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Water not mapped · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended | |
| James River · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended | |
| Water not mapped · SSO · 1 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Water not mapped · SSO · 1 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Water not mapped · SSO · 1 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| to Jul 23, 11:15 AM | “Bailey Bay, Hopewell: The advisory area for Bailey Bay extends from City Point in the City of Hopewell to Jordan Point in Prince George County.” · SSO · 1.5 million gallons report · notice | lifted |
| to Jul 21, 12:00 PM | “Cattail Creek” · SSO · 1.5 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| Water not mapped · Bypass · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended | |
| James River · Bypass · 7,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| to 10:03 AM | Water not mapped · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| “Bear Creek” · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| “Poythress Run” · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| to 9:40 PM | James River · SSO · 50,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
Sources: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC; Virginia Department of Health recreational water and swimming advisories (newsroom search RSS), retrieved 2026-11-03 02:42 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.
Showing the latest 25 records of 58 records.See them all with filters.
All reports in Virginia by year: 2026 (38 from City of Hopewell - Hopewell Water Renewal) · 2025 (20 from City of Hopewell - Hopewell Water Renewal)
Other sewer operators on these waters
- James River, VA: Chesterfield County Utilities (Falling Creek and Proctors Creek WWTPs), City of Lynchburg Water Resources (Lynchburg Regional Wastewater Treatment Plant), City of Newport News Public Works, Wastewater Division, City of Richmond Department of Public Utilities (Richmond WWTP and combined sewer system), Hampton Roads Sanitation District (HRSD), Henrico County Department of Public Utilities (Henrico Water Reclamation Facility and collection system), Western Virginia Water Authority (Roanoke Regional Water Pollution Control Plant and collection system)
- Appomattox River, VA: Chesterfield County Utilities (Falling Creek and Proctors Creek WWTPs)
The last 90 days
- End not confirmed: to 2 reports: Appomattox River 1, James River 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Caution: to 2 reports: Appomattox River 1, James River 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- End not confirmed: to 1 report: James River 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Caution: to 1 report: James River 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-03 02:43 UTC.
Reported discharges over time
Historical charts are not available here. See the reports and sources on this page.