Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — City of Hopewell - Hopewell Water Renewal, Jul 14, 2026
Ended (as reported) · Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Piedmont Regional Office
Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Piedmont Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 324390, reported Jul 14, 2026, 12:15 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: City of Hopewell - Hopewell Water Renewal (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, VA0066630). Outlet: not stated. Location: 37.29074, -77.28633; location source: geocoded from an address or place name.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “Cattail Creek”. Not linked to a mapped water.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- “untreated sewage”
- Volume
- 1.5 million gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
- Volume as reported
- “1,500,000 gallons”
Advice from Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Piedmont Regional Office
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related
- Source record number
- 324390
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | va-deq-prep:324390 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | va-deq-prep |
| Source record number | 324390 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | va-hopewell-water-renewal |
| Sewer operator | City of Hopewell - Hopewell Water Renewal |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | VA0066630 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Not provided |
| Water named in the report | Cattail Creek |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | 37.291 |
| Longitude | -77.286 |
| Location source | geocoded from an address or place name |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Jul 14, 2026, 6:00 AM EDT (2026-07-14T06:00:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Jul 21, 2026, 12:00 PM EDT (2026-07-21T12:00:00-04:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Jul 14, 2026, 12:15 PM EDT (2026-07-14T12:15:00-04:00) |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Jul 24, 2026, 4:41 PM EDT (2026-07-24T16:41:53-04:00) |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 9:40 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:40:36Z) |
| Material | untreated sewage |
| Volume, in gallons | 1,500,000 |
| Volume as reported | 1,500,000 gallons |
| How volume was determined | not stated whether estimated or measured |
| Authority | Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Piedmont Regional Office |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://portal.deq.virginia.gov/v2/prep/prepReport/324390 |
Original source data
{
"report": {
"id": "324390",
"via": "api",
"incident": "2026-07-14T06:00:00",
"incident_end": null,
"received": "2026-07-14T12:15:00",
"closed": "2026-07-24T16:41:53",
"modified": "2026-07-24T16:41:53",
"date_unknown": false,
"site_name": "SSO - Hopewell Conveyance - First Street Pump Station",
"address": "1401 South First Avenue",
"city": "Hopewell",
"zip": "23860",
"county_city": "Hopewell City",
"region": "Piedmont",
"status_text": "Closed",
"categories": [
"Sanitary Sewer Overflow"
],
"waterbody": "Cattail Creek",
"other_waterbody": null,
"original_waterbody": "Cattail Creek",
"water_threatened": "Y",
"low": null,
"high": null,
"unit": null,
"ssors": null,
"nrc": [],
"vdem": null,
"epa": null,
"facility_name": "Hopewell Water Renewal",
"facility_permitted": "Y",
"responsible_company": null,
"still_occurring": "N"
},
"text": {
"incident_comment": "On July 14, 2026, the City of Hopewell reported a domestic sanitary sewer overflow at the First Street Pump Station. The incident was caused by a 2–3 inch hole in an underground force main, resulting in a discharge into a swampy area of Cattail Creek. On July 16, 2026, VDH issued a recreational advisory that included the James River from City Point to Jordan Point. The force main was repaired on July 21, 2026 and the discharge ceased. VDH lifted the advisory on July 23, 2026. The total volume released is estimated to be approximately 1.5 million gallons. Response efforts were coordinated among VDH (OEHS and the Crater Health District), DEQ, and the City of Hopewell.",
"location_comment": "First Street Pump Station",
"closure_comment": "Case managed by VPDES. Discharge ceased on 7/21/26"
},
"sewage": [
{
"duration_h": 174,
"component": "Pump Station Failure",
"component_id": 4,
"volume_gal": 1500000,
"volume_unknown": null,
"wet_weather": "N",
"treated": "N",
"precipitation_in": null,
"causes": [
"Pump Station"
],
"impacts": [
"Discharge to State Waters"
],
"corrective_action": "Repaired pump station",
"steps_taken": null,
"component_comment": null,
"other_cause": null
}
],
"status_log": [
{
"at": "2026-07-14T12:37:47",
"type": "Call Received"
},
{
"at": "2026-07-14T12:37:55",
"type": "Under Investigation"
},
{
"at": "2026-07-14T12:37:55",
"type": "Assigned"
},
{
"at": "2026-07-24T16:41:53",
"type": "Closed Call/IR"
}
],
"created_in_prep": "2026-07-14T12:37:47",
"event_type_basis": "DEQ category Sanitary Sewer Overflow",
"permit": {
"typed_permit": "VA0066630",
"deq_vpdes_links": [
"VA0066630"
],
"ms4": null,
"ms4_links": null,
"basis": "DEQ's VPDES link on the report"
},
"discharger_match": {
"by_permit": "va-hopewell-water-renewal",
"by_name": [
"va-hopewell-water-renewal"
],
"result": "by permit"
},
"volume_basis": "sewage report discharge volume (gallons)",
"_ended_at_basis": "incident time + duration 174 h (sewage report)",
"_time_basis": "PReP API times are local wall-clock times with no zone, read as America/New_York. The export table stores local time + 5 h all year (decoded by subtracting 5 h); the EDMA point layer stores local time labelled as UTC (decoded by reading the UTC clock as local).",
"water_placement": {
"text": "Cattail Creek",
"towns": [
"Hopewell",
"Hopewell City"
],
"notes": null,
"echo_outfall": null
},
"point": {
"lat": 37.290738,
"lon": -77.286327,
"layer": "DEQ EDMA layer 175 (PReP Reports, Daily)",
"reference_point": "PG",
"note": "DEQ's geocode of the report's site address (REFERENCE_POINT 'PG'), not an outfall point",
"edma_incident": "2026-07-14T06:00:00-04:00",
"edma_received": "2026-07-14T12:15:00-04:00"
},
"attribution": "DEQ is the data source. DEQ does not certify that this data represents a complete record. This data is provided to the citizens of the Commonwealth free of charge and for informational purposes only.",
"api_url": "https://portal.deq.virginia.gov/prep/api/prepReports/324390?expand=prepStatusCode,prepUnitTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepComponentTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageCauses.prepCauseCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageImpacts.prepImpactTypeCode,prepReportReleaseSubtypes.prepReleaseSubtypeCode,prepReportPermitViews,prepOriginalReport,prepReportEvents.prepEventTypeCode,prepFipsCode.fipsRegion"
} Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Piedmont Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 324390, reported Jul 14, 2026, 12:15 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.