DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Virginia / Sewer operators /

City of Portsmouth (collection system and pump stations)

Sewer utility · Virginia · Portsmouth

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

No outlet locations are in our records for this operator. Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.

Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)
not recorded
Wastewater outlets
None with locations in our records
Waters listed as receiving wastewater
Elizabeth River; Hull Creek; Eastern Branch Elizabeth River
Tracked waters
Elizabeth River, VA, Western Branch Elizabeth River, VA
Discharge records counted
7 records · latest
Total reported volume in these records
1,600 gallons across the 2 records that give a volume (5 without one)

These totals reflect the records we track. Missing volumes and gaps in reporting limit comparisons between operators.

Sources: EPA ECHO and the operator and state sources linked below. Counts use the discharge records on this page. Updated 2026-11-03 02:43 UTC.

Public notices and alerts

We do not list an alert service for this operator yet. Check its website.

Source: City of Portsmouth (collection system and pump stations)'s public notice and alert pages and the state's notification records.

Report a missing notice or error

Wastewater outlets

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

Reports and advisories

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.

Reports linked to City of Portsmouth (collection system and pump stations), newest first
WhenReportStatus
to 3:00 PMWater not mapped · SSO · 1,500 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 6:30 PMElizabeth River · SSO · 100 gallons report · notice · mapended
Water not mapped · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
Water not mapped · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
Elizabeth River · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
Western Branch Elizabeth River · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
Western Branch Elizabeth River · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended

Sources: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

Download these reports as CSV

All reports in Virginia by year: 2026 (3 from City of Portsmouth (collection system and pump stations)) · 2025 (4 from City of Portsmouth (collection system and pump stations))

Other sewer operators on these waters

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: discharge or advisory reported. Amber: caution. Hatched amber: end not confirmed. Grey: no current status on the water outline. Purple hatching: source update overdue.

No discharge, advisory or caution periods are shown for the waters this sewer operator's reports were placed on in this time span. Check downstream stretches and source coverage.

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-03 02:43 UTC.

Reported discharges over time

Historical charts are not available here. See the reports and sources on this page.