City of Norfolk Department of Utilities (collection system)
Sewer utility · Virginia · Norfolk
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
No outlet locations are in our records for this operator. Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.
- Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)
- not recorded
- Wastewater outlets
- None with locations in our records
- Waters listed as receiving wastewater
- Elizabeth River; Lafayette River; Mason Creek; Oastes Creek
- Tracked waters
- Elizabeth River, VA, Lafayette River, VA, Eastern Branch of Elizabeth River, VA, Lake Whitehurst, VA
- Discharge records counted
- 12 records · latest
- Total reported volume in these records
- 5,600 gallons across the 4 records that give a volume (8 without one)
These totals reflect the records we track. Missing volumes and gaps in reporting limit comparisons between operators.
Sources: EPA ECHO and the operator and state sources linked below. Counts use the discharge records on this page. Updated 2026-11-03 02:43 UTC.
Public notices and alerts
We do not list an alert service for this operator yet. Check its website.
Source: City of Norfolk Department of Utilities (collection system)'s public notice and alert pages and the state's notification records.
Report a missing notice or error
Wastewater outlets
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
Reports and advisories
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
| When | Report | Status |
|---|---|---|
| “Oastes Creek” · SSO · volume not reported report · notice | reported | |
| “Mason Creek” · SSO · 300 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| to 6:03 PM | “Mason Creek” · SSO (earlier version) · 300 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| Eastern Branch of Elizabeth River · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended | |
| Water not mapped · Report · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended | |
| Water not mapped · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended | |
| Water not mapped · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended | |
| Water not mapped · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended | |
| to 3:58 PM | “Crab Creek” · SSO · 1,500 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 1:00 PM | Water not mapped · SSO · 200 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| Water not mapped · Report · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended | |
| Eastern Branch of Elizabeth River · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended | |
| Lake Whitehurst · SSO · 3,600 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
Sources: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.
All reports in Virginia by year: 2026 (6 from City of Norfolk Department of Utilities (collection system)) · 2025 (7 from City of Norfolk Department of Utilities (collection system))
Other sewer operators on these waters
- Elizabeth River, VA: City of Portsmouth (collection system and pump stations), Hampton Roads Sanitation District (HRSD)
The last 90 days
- End not confirmed: to 1 report: Eastern Branch of Elizabeth River 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Caution: to 1 report: Eastern Branch of Elizabeth River 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-03 02:43 UTC.
Reported discharges over time
Historical charts are not available here. See the reports and sources on this page.