DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Virginia / Sewer operators /

WOLF CREEK WATER RECLAMATION FACILITY

Sewer operator · Virginia · Abingdon

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Ringed dots mark treatment plant outfalls. Small hollow diamonds mark places named in its overflow reports (provisional).

Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)
VA0026531
Wastewater outlets
1 treatment plant outfall listed by EPA or state agencies; 16 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations) · List
Waters listed as receiving wastewater
Wolf Creek
Tracked waters
Fifteenmile Creek, VA, Town Creek, VA
Discharge records counted
19 records · latest
Total reported volume in these records
13,629 gallons across the 17 records that give a volume (2 without one)

These totals reflect the records we track. Missing volumes and gaps in reporting limit comparisons between operators.

Sources: EPA ECHO and the operator and state sources linked below. Counts use the discharge records on this page. Updated 2026-11-05 06:27 UTC.

Public notices and alerts

We do not list an alert service for this operator yet. Check its website.

Source: WOLF CREEK WATER RECLAMATION FACILITY's public notice and alert pages and the state's notification records.

Report a missing notice or error

Wastewater outlets

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

1 treatment plant outfall listed by EPA or state agencies; 16 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations).

Treatment plant outfalls

1 outfall
  • Outfall 001 · receiving water in the permit: Wolf Creek · no water record yet · status not published

Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) permit records (ICIS-NPDES permitted features): where a treatment plant’s permitted discharge leaves. No national source says whether a plant outfall is open or closed.

Places named in overflow reports (provisional)

16 places · 9 not on the map (reports say the sewage reached no water)

Provisional location from overflow reports. Where the operator's own reports put an overflow: a manhole, pump station or plant. Not an outfall listed in a permit.

  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Jul 22, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Jun 17, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet · not on the map: its reports say the sewage did not reach a water
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Aug 17, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Jul 13, 2026 · confidence medium · Town Creek, VA · not on the map: its reports say the sewage did not reach a water
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Apr 7, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet · not on the map: its reports say the sewage did not reach a water
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Feb 25, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet · not on the map: its reports say the sewage did not reach a water
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Feb 2, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet · not on the map: its reports say the sewage did not reach a water
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Dec 5, 2025 · confidence medium · no water record yet · not on the map: its reports say the sewage did not reach a water
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Nov 5, 2025 · confidence medium · no water record yet · not on the map: its reports say the sewage did not reach a water
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Sep 29, 2025 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Jul 2, 2025 · confidence medium · Fifteenmile Creek, VA
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Jun 10, 2025 · confidence medium · Town Creek, VA · not on the map: its reports say the sewage did not reach a water

Showing 12 of 16.

Source: the operator's own overflow reports to the state. DirtyWaterWatch groups reports within 50 metres into one place and finds the water below it with U.S. Geological Survey river maps (NLDI, NHDPlus). Not a permitted outfall; provisional until an official outfall record exists.

Reports and advisories

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.

Reports linked to WOLF CREEK WATER RECLAMATION FACILITY, newest first
WhenReportStatus
to 6:28 PMFifteenmile Creek · SSO · 2,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 2:00 PMTown Creek · SSO · 400 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 6:00 PMWater not mapped · SSO · 4 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 10:59 PMWater not mapped · SSO · 15 gallons report · notice · mapended
Water not mapped · SSO · 30 gallons report · notice · mapended
Water not mapped · SSO · 5 gallons report · notice · mapended
Water not mapped · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to 5:19 PMWater not mapped · SSO · 10 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 4:45 PMWater not mapped · SSO · 20 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 9:26 AMWater not mapped · SSO · 40 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 8:39 PMWater not mapped · SSO · 50 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 1:49 PM“Wolf Creek” · SSO · 50 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 9:57 AMTown Creek · Bypass · 250 gallons report · notice · mapended
Fifteenmile Creek · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
Water not mapped · SSO · 300 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 5:40 PMWater not mapped · SSO · 150 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 12:23 PMTown Creek · Bypass · 500 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 1:37 PMTown Creek · SSO · 1,090 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 1:42 PMTown Creek · SSO · 8,715 gallons report · notice · mapended

Sources: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:46 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

Download these reports as CSV

All reports in Virginia by year: 2026 (9 from WOLF CREEK WATER RECLAMATION FACILITY) · 2025 (10 from WOLF CREEK WATER RECLAMATION FACILITY)

Other sewer operators on these waters

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: discharge or advisory reported. Amber: caution. Hatched amber: end not confirmed. Plum: algal bloom advisory. Red or amber with a light line inside: beach advisory or caution. Dotted: monthly report (days with discharge, dates not given). Grey: no current status on the water outline. Purple hatching: source update overdue.
  • Caution: to
    1 report: Fifteenmile Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Fifteenmile Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 06:27 UTC.

Reported discharges over time

Historical charts are not available here. See the reports and sources on this page.