California / Reports /
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — San Diego City Metropolitan Wastewater Dept (Public Utilities), Sep 1, 2026
Ended (as reported) · California State Water Resources Control Board (CIWQS Sanitary Sewer System Database)
Source: California State Water Resources Control Board (CIWQS Sanitary Sewer System Database) via State Water Board CIWQS Sanitary Sewer System spill data: Cat1-2-3-Spills.txt (nightly flat file), record 907957, reported Oct 19, 2026, 12:00 AM PDT, retrieved 2026-11-05 15:08 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 6, 2026, 1:03 AM PST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: San Diego City Metropolitan Wastewater Dept (Public Utilities) (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, 9SSO10658). Outlet: “NOT# 40201431819 [house number removed] LLOYD ST.”. Location: 32.79338, -117.20520; location source: given in the source record.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names no water. No receiving water: the report says the discharge did not reach a water. The report is kept here but is not placed on a water and colours none on the map.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- “untreated sewage”
- Volume
- 96 gallons (estimated)
- Volume as reported
- “96 gallons spilled (estimated total leaving the sewer system); 93 gallons recovered”
Advice from California State Water Resources Control Board (CIWQS Sanitary Sewer System Database)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- State Water Board CIWQS Sanitary Sewer System spill data: Cat1-2-3-Spills.txt (nightly flat file)
- Source record number
- 907957
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | ca-swrcb-ciwqs-spills-flatfile:907957 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | ca-swrcb-ciwqs-spills-flatfile |
| Source record number | 907957 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | ca-san-diego-pud |
| Sewer operator | San Diego City Metropolitan Wastewater Dept (Public Utilities) |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | 9SSO10658 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | NOT# 40201431819 [house number removed] LLOYD ST. |
| Water named in the report | Not provided |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | 32.793 |
| Longitude | -117.205 |
| Location source | given in the source record |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Sep 1, 2026, 7:21 AM PDT (2026-09-01T07:21:00-07:00) |
| Ended | Sep 1, 2026, 7:53 AM PDT (2026-09-01T07:53:00-07:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Oct 19, 2026, 12:00 AM PDT (2026-10-19) |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Oct 19, 2026, 12:00 AM PDT (2026-10-19) |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 5, 2026, 7:08 AM PST (2026-11-05T15:08:28Z) |
| Material | untreated sewage |
| Volume, in gallons | 96 |
| Volume as reported | 96 gallons spilled (estimated total leaving the sewer system); 93 gallons recovered |
| How volume was determined | estimated |
| Authority | California State Water Resources Control Board (CIWQS Sanitary Sewer System Database) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://www.waterboards.ca.gov/water_issues/programs/sso/docs/data_files/Cat1-2-3-Spills.txt |
Original source data
{
"region": "9",
"wdid": "9SSO10658",
"enrollee_status": "Active",
"system_name": "San Diego City CS (Wastewater Collection System)",
"agency_name": "San Diego City Metropolitan Wastewater Dept (Public Utilities)",
"spill_event_id": "907957",
"version": "1.1",
"spill_status": "Certified",
"draft_submitted_on": null,
"first_certified_on": "19-OCT-26",
"final_certified_on": "19-OCT-26",
"spill_type": "Monthly Category 3 Spill",
"location_name": "NOT# 40201431819 [house number removed] LLOYD ST.",
"enrollee_notified_at": "09/01/2026 07:22",
"crew_arrival_at": "09/01/2026 07:41",
"start_at": "09/01/2026 07:21",
"caloes_notified_at": null,
"caloes_control_number": null,
"technical_report_on": null,
"lat": "32.79338",
"lon": "-117.2052",
"appearance_points": "Inside Building or Structure; Lateral Clean Out (Private); Manhole",
"volume_total_gal": "96",
"reached_drainage_system": "Y",
"volume_recovered_from_drainage_gal": "47",
"volume_left_in_drainage_gal": null,
"volume_to_surface_water_gal": null,
"volume_recovered_gal": "93",
"destinations": "Building or Structure; Drainage Conveyance System that discharges to surface water; Paved Surface; Street/Curb and Gutter (2 3)",
"destination_points_given": "Y",
"end_at": "09/01/2026 07:53",
"causes": "Other (specify below)",
"failure_location": "Gravity Mainline",
"storm_event": "N",
"response_completed_at": "09/01/2026 16:04",
"receiving_water": null,
"receiving_water_type": null,
"public_access_impact": null,
"closing_entity": null,
"days_closed_or_restricted": null,
"within_1000_ft_of_intake": null,
"samples_collected": null,
"spill_category": "3",
"reached_water": false,
"destination_points": [
{
"lat": 32.793,
"lon": -117.205
},
{
"lat": 32.791,
"lon": -117.206
}
]
} Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.