DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

California / Reports /

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation, Sep 6, 2026

Not stated by the source · California State Water Resources Control Board (CIWQS Sanitary Sewer System Database)

Source: California State Water Resources Control Board (CIWQS Sanitary Sewer System Database) via State Water Board CIWQS Sanitary Sewer System spill data: Cat1-2-3-Spills.txt (nightly flat file), record 908245, reported Sep 25, 2026, 12:00 AM PDT, retrieved 2026-11-05 15:08 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 6, 2026, 1:03 AM PST. Check its dates and the status rules.

Published end not used: This report gives an end of Sep 6, 2026, 7:47 AM PDT, before the discharge began. An end that lies before the start, or more than 31 days after the site last read the report, is not used as the end: the status follows the rules for a report with no confirmed end, and the published end stays in the record as given. This rule on the methods page

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, 5SSO11195). Outlet: “North Kern State Prison”. Location: 35.78131, -119.30962; location source: given in the source record.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names no water. Not linked to a mapped water. The report names no water and the operator lists 3 receiving waters (our list of sewer operators).

3. Estimated downstream stretch

We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
(as published; not used as the end, see the current status above)
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
Published
not given
Source last updated
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
Status in the record
Not stated by the source
Material
“untreated sewage”
Volume
200 gallons (estimated)
Volume as reported
“200 gallons spilled (estimated total leaving the sewer system); 100 gallons reached surface water; 100 gallons recovered”

Advice from California State Water Resources Control Board (CIWQS Sanitary Sewer System Database)

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Source and versions

Source
State Water Board CIWQS Sanitary Sewer System spill data: Cat1-2-3-Spills.txt (nightly flat file)
Source record number
908245
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None
Note
Some details could not be read automatically. Check the original notice.

Record details

Record details
Record identifierca-swrcb-ciwqs-spills-flatfile:908245
Source identifierca-swrcb-ciwqs-spills-flatfile
Source record number908245
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeSanitary sewer overflow (SSO)
Status in the reportNot stated by the source
Sewer operator identifierca-california-department-of-corrections-and-rehabilitation
Sewer operatorCalifornia Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)5SSO11195
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet nameNorth Kern State Prison
Water named in the reportNot provided
Linked watersNot provided
How this report was linked to the waternot linked to a mapped water
Latitude35.781
Longitude-119.31
Location sourcegiven in the source record
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedSep 6, 2026, 6:00 PM PDT (2026-09-06T18:00:00-07:00)
EndedSep 6, 2026, 7:47 AM PDT (2026-09-06T07:47:00-07:00)
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceSep 25, 2026, 12:00 AM PDT (2026-09-25)
PublishedNot provided
Source last updatedSep 25, 2026, 12:00 AM PDT (2026-09-25)
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 5, 2026, 7:08 AM PST (2026-11-05T15:08:28Z)
Materialuntreated sewage
Volume, in gallons200
Volume as reported200 gallons spilled (estimated total leaving the sewer system); 100 gallons reached surface water; 100 gallons recovered
How volume was determinedestimated
AuthorityCalifornia State Water Resources Control Board (CIWQS Sanitary Sewer System Database)
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://www.waterboards.ca.gov/water_issues/programs/sso/docs/data_files/Cat1-2-3-Spills.txt

Original source data

{
  "region": "5F",
  "wdid": "5SSO11195",
  "enrollee_status": "Active",
  "system_name": "North Kern State Prison CS",
  "agency_name": "California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation",
  "spill_event_id": "908245",
  "version": "1.1",
  "spill_status": "Certified",
  "draft_submitted_on": null,
  "first_certified_on": "25-SEP-26",
  "final_certified_on": "25-SEP-26",
  "spill_type": "Category 1 Spill",
  "location_name": "North Kern State Prison",
  "enrollee_notified_at": "09/06/2026 19:46",
  "crew_arrival_at": "09/06/2026 20:07",
  "start_at": "09/06/2026 18:00",
  "caloes_notified_at": null,
  "caloes_control_number": null,
  "technical_report_on": null,
  "lat": "35.781311",
  "lon": "-119.30962",
  "appearance_points": "Manhole",
  "volume_total_gal": "200",
  "reached_drainage_system": "N",
  "volume_recovered_from_drainage_gal": "100",
  "volume_left_in_drainage_gal": null,
  "volume_to_surface_water_gal": "100",
  "volume_recovered_gal": "100",
  "destinations": "Paved Surface; Street/Curb and Gutter (2 3); Unpaved Surface",
  "destination_points_given": "Y",
  "end_at": "09/06/2026 07:47",
  "causes": "Pump Station Failure - Mechanical",
  "failure_location": "Pump Station - Mechanical",
  "storm_event": "N",
  "response_completed_at": "09/25/2026 11:38",
  "receiving_water": "N/A",
  "receiving_water_type": "Other (specify below)",
  "public_access_impact": "Other (specify below)",
  "closing_entity": "N/A",
  "days_closed_or_restricted": "0",
  "within_1000_ft_of_intake": "N",
  "samples_collected": "N",
  "spill_category": "1",
  "reached_water": true,
  "destination_points": [
    {
      "lat": 35.781,
      "lon": -119.313
    }
  ]
}

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.